Short/long term investments/retirement policies etc advise

Re: Short/long term investments/retirement policies etc advise

Postby desifemlove » March 16th, 2017, 1:24 pm

I'm not a financial advisor but most Caribbean financial services bodies tend to be good investments. As it's still largely state-owned, and won't do anything really risky without union cuss. So it should be pretty stable for the most part.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 16th, 2017, 1:26 pm

The FCB apo is interesting..anyone thoughts on it?

Postby DVSTT » March 16th, 2017, 5:43 pm

My thing with FCB is that, to my meagre mind, the public allocation of the stock doesn't seem to have that big a demand from investors now, so I think the price may just drop when they flood the market with additional shares for the company, especially as it's being offered within $2 of the current stock value.

@francis1979,
thank you for the advice, I'll keep my eye out for anything.

Postby desifemlove » March 18th, 2017, 6:52 am

DVSTT wrote:Is there land that sells reasonably locally? Seems everything is upwards of 300K with approvals in an ok neighbourhood.

On a side note, anyone have a timetable for TTSE stock dividend payouts ?

Depends on the plot size. If its an OK neighbourhood prices will be higher.

Postby desifemlove » March 18th, 2017, 6:54 am

DVSTT wrote:My thing with FCB is that, to my meagre mind, the public allocation of the stock doesn't seem to have that big a demand from investors now, so I think the price may just drop when they flood the market with additional shares for the company, especially as it's being offered within $2 of the current stock value.

@francis1979,
thank you for the advice, I'll keep my eye out for anything.

I'm interested to see how the government uses the revenue.

Postby rspann » March 18th, 2017, 9:39 am

desifemlove wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Is there land that sells reasonably locally? Seems everything is upwards of 300K with approvals in an ok neighbourhood.

On a side note, anyone have a timetable for TTSE stock dividend payouts ?

Depends on the plot size. If its an OK neighbourhood prices will be higher.

Duuhhh!

Postby desifemlove » March 18th, 2017, 9:59 am

yes, and? haha..i answered his question, what more yuh want? check a doc you need yuh mind examined.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 8th, 2017, 6:42 pm

Anybody here ever bought stock in foreign companies like Tesla,Apple,Google etc?

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2017, 6:52 pm

Buy bitcoin

Postby adnj » May 8th, 2017, 7:25 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Anybody here ever bought stock in foreign companies like Tesla,Apple,Google etc?

If you have a broker, you can easily buy NASDAQ, S&P, FTSE, and DOW stocks. You can also get an investment account with RBC or Scotia (maybe others) that offer a few mutual funds and index funds. You can also try to set up an online account through TD Ameritrade and bank through Belize, the Bahamas or Grand Cayman.

If you don't have property buying cash, it is very easy to buy into a fund and put in say $500 every payday. The types of funds go from very conservative to very aggressive (and risky). Some of the top performing funds have annualized yields of 40% to 70%. But you need to understand the fund and how it is managed.

Postby DVSTT » July 3rd, 2017, 6:44 pm

SIJL being delisted. What are the odds of them increasing the standing offer of $38.00JMD per share?

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » September 13th, 2017, 11:56 pm

Bump to keep thread alive

snatman

Re: Short/long term investments/retirement policies etc advi

Postby snatman » October 27th, 2017, 4:39 pm

Xplode wrote:
snatman wrote:look at JMMB shares.

good one to buy and hold on to.

4% dividends and great growth prospects

From reading the financial report Bourse JMMB is one of the worst company to buy shares .
heard from a good source the CIF ( Clico Investment Fund ) will be making a change for the good :D :D

Started buying up JMMB when it was under 40c a couple years ago. Its now within touching distance of $2.
Pretty darn good return methinks!

Currently heavy into Sagicor. Could easily double in a couple years.

Postby Redman » October 27th, 2017, 4:48 pm

I agree with SFC...I love the sector
Load up on GHL

snatman

Postby snatman » October 27th, 2017, 7:15 pm

All things being equal, I'd prefer SFC all the way.

BUT

All things are not being equal!

Not with the spectre of an NCBJ buyout of GHL.

So with that the case, GHL could be a great speculative buy

Redman wrote:I agree with SFC...I love the sector
Load up on GHL

Postby Redman » October 28th, 2017, 6:41 am

SFC is a very conservative entity...by culture...
Frustratingly conservative....a legacy of the mutual society.

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » October 28th, 2017, 10:15 pm

Kicking myself for not buying JMMB at a sub $1.00 price.

snatman

Postby snatman » October 30th, 2017, 10:15 am

Ibis Electronics wrote:Kicking myself for not buying JMMB at a sub $1.00 price.

yup, for the past couple years i'd been telling anyone who would listen to buy up JMMB. Even here I mentioned it a few times.

Folk were hesitant with it being a Jamaican company and for the most part, did not take my advice. Ironically Jamaica's economy is on the upswing.

I started buying when it was under 40c. I'll probably sell before earnings come out though. I believe its a bit overvalued right now.

I'm putting all spare $$ into SFC currently.

snatman

Postby snatman » December 8th, 2017, 9:33 am

eh, I called it! Gimme my due props
:D
snatman wrote:All things being equal, I'd prefer SFC all the way.

BUT

All things are not being equal!

Not with the spectre of an NCBJ buyout of GHL.

So with that the case, GHL could be a great speculative buy

Redman wrote:I agree with SFC...I love the sector
Load up on GHL

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » December 17th, 2017, 11:11 pm

Anyone selling their GHL for the 2.35 usd?

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » December 21st, 2017, 7:40 pm

Works credit union is offering 5% for fixed deposits
However it is not insure with deposit insurance

Can feedback on this credit union with respect to stability

Postby desifemlove » December 25th, 2017, 6:40 pm

JMMB highly rated and secure. Guardian has it as their main fund for this reason.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » February 9th, 2018, 1:12 pm

2NRs, I'm looking to start investing in the TTSE, but small amounts at first. Can anyone recommend a stockbroker that is patient and not condescending? I'm not looking to waste anyone's time, but I'm not a big shot yet. :lol: Trying to get there by investing among other things, hence the need for someone who isn't a snob. Can you all assist or advise accordingly? Much appreciated.

Postby bluefete » February 9th, 2018, 1:53 pm

Caribbean Stockbrokers Ltd. 2nd Floor - 67 Independence Sq. 624-8178

Republic Securities - 2nd Floor - Promenade Centre, 72 Independence Sq.

JMMB Securities - 169 Tragarete Rd - 224-5662

Do not forget to ask them what their fees are.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » February 9th, 2018, 8:21 pm

bluefete wrote:Caribbean Stockbrokers Ltd. 2nd Floor - 67 Independence Sq. 624-8178

Republic Securities - 2nd Floor - Promenade Centre, 72 Independence Sq.

JMMB Securities - 169 Tragarete Rd - 224-5662

Do not forget to ask them what their fees are.

Thanks bluefete, but do you have any personal experiences with any of them?

Postby DVSTT » May 3rd, 2018, 6:54 pm

Anyone knows what going on with WITCO ?
They at a 5 year low, wondering if to buy...

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » May 20th, 2018, 8:39 am

Anyone has experience with treasury bills - good or bad

Postby Redman » May 20th, 2018, 8:47 am

Real return is always negative.

Rockram

Re: good investments?

Postby Rockram » February 18th, 2019, 7:12 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
Clico Investment Fund is a good buy, u get all the RBL dividends now and in 8 yrs time u get 1 RBL share for every 4 units of CIF. It's a cheap way to acquire RBL shares for the long term.

Was not aware of this! That's a pretty good deal, good investment for your children to grow into!

>>>Acutally it's closer to 5 CIF Units to 1 RBL share + any cash from liquidation of 25 year GORT bonds which is part of the CIF Assets.....still a very good buy, especially with current RFHL prospects.

CIF currently trading at 20.20 which is a significant discount to NAV 24.89

snatman

Re: good investments?

Postby snatman » February 19th, 2019, 11:46 am

Along those lines, CALYP is trading at a huge discount to is NAV. The wind-up date is Nov 2025. Currently paying over 4% at the current price
Rockram wrote:Country_Bookie wrote:
Clico Investment Fund is a good buy, u get all the RBL dividends now and in 8 yrs time u get 1 RBL share for every 4 units of CIF. It's a cheap way to acquire RBL shares for the long term.

Was not aware of this! That's a pretty good deal, good investment for your children to grow into!

>>>Acutally it's closer to 5 CIF Units to 1 RBL share + any cash from liquidation of 25 year GORT bonds which is part of the CIF Assets.....still a very good buy, especially with current RFHL prospects.

CIF currently trading at 20.20 which is a significant discount to NAV 24.89