Hyperion

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Hyperion » July 13th, 2017, 7:43 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
Hyperion wrote:
proton17 wrote:How d banking scene right now fellas?

Proton what's up. I made a tide on Saturday, we held some grouper and reds.

Apparently the net men killing kingfish up North these days. We flagged down a Sea Lots net boat for bait, they offloaded some giant herring as well as 2 kingfish on us. They held 600 lbs.

Went for bait in Town market, kingfish right now is $12 a lb., the only reason i didn't buy was because it was net fish, they get soft fast.

Town market had King fish for 12 a lb? From wah I hear that's down Mayaro side.... I went market and kings is 19.99 a lb....

Yes boy $12 a lb, but as I said it was net fish looking a little on the soft side.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » July 13th, 2017, 7:44 pm

proton17 wrote:U hold man, dats gd Hyperion. Yea wanna go sometime soon to a la vive for carite and kings, apparently dey giving up themselves on the north....lol

Better make it soon before them fish head down Vene side lol

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 13th, 2017, 10:20 pm

Mixed reports...alot of my friends catching one day an d next it dead but u gonna atleast come back with something...

Postby dougla_boy » July 14th, 2017, 4:06 pm

So it is settled.... Penn Warfare is what ah go get.... walked in Mankey to see wah he have, he say all his warfare finish, but he said that is the ideal reel for meh, he said the Rival is real tooz....So yeah, go order it this week....And once ah catch go post pics....

Postby gastly369 » July 14th, 2017, 9:53 pm

Electric reel recommendation?

Nothing over the top but nothing to shabby also

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 15th, 2017, 1:02 am

The banax kaigen 1000’s are great, little more expensive than the daiwa tanacom 1000’s but works better and there is always the option of an lp marine but those are really expensive...we have all three and have tested them thoroughly...

Postby meccalli » July 15th, 2017, 9:00 am

A cheaper alternative but alot better than the blingy ready made deep drop reels is a 6/0 senator with a standalone motor that's much stronger than you'll find in any of those barring the pitman commercial reel.
http://www.fishwinch.com/
http://elec-tra-mate.com/

proton17

Postby proton17 » July 18th, 2017, 7:34 am

Wat happen, nobody fish dis weekend.

Went north Sunday for carite kingfish, around saut d'eau and inside Cyril bay, slow troll and a la vive. A small carite and small kingfish, cut off a few times, a load a small bonito, dey like pest... lol

They hardly bite, had like a million boat around us in the bay, ppl drive up down trolling....

The majority of fish between la fillette and Paria, so I heard.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 18th, 2017, 10:46 am

What is the scientific name of bonito ( those caught by fisherman in tnt ) ?

Postby meccalli » July 18th, 2017, 10:50 am

Frigate Tuna, Auxis thazard

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 18th, 2017, 10:53 am

meccalli wrote:Frigate Tuna, Auxis thazard

Thanks.
What tuna types do we have in our waters ?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 18th, 2017, 11:27 am

Well most ppl really preparing for tarpon thunder on the 29th an 30th...

Postby meccalli » July 18th, 2017, 1:47 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Well most ppl really preparing for tarpon thunder on the 29th an 30th...

Yup, mankee got in some hogy trailers for the tournament guys, hopefully they like em as much here as they do in florida and costa rica.
Curtms wrote:
meccalli wrote:Frigate Tuna, Auxis thazard

Thanks.
What tuna types do we have in our waters ?

Pretty much, the lot of em. Albacore, Skipjack, Blackfin, Bullet, Frigate, Little tunny Yellowfin, Bigeye, and Atlantic Bluefin.

Postby joker » July 18th, 2017, 4:08 pm

Less than 2hrsImageImage

proton17

Postby proton17 » July 18th, 2017, 7:04 pm

Nice catch, where u went, gulf or north...

Postby joker » July 18th, 2017, 11:24 pm

By the rigs ..north

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » July 22nd, 2017, 9:26 pm

Any one been trolling near 5 islands or in the gulf this past week ? Any luck? Fish biting ?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 23rd, 2017, 7:01 pm

Failure in the gulf today

Got soaked from head to toe.
Got sea sick (doesnt usually happen)
Barely catch anything

EOI: ROD AND REEL FOR SALE.

proton17

Postby proton17 » July 24th, 2017, 7:07 am

I was near the 9 ship rigs, fish bite slow, one one. New moon had the current hard. No big salmon or ancho but I think the ancho were around though...
image2.jpg
image1.jpg

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » July 25th, 2017, 10:08 am

Goodday fellas.
Looking to go up by the lighthouse in toco to fish a bit. A noob in the sport.
Any advise on bait, where on the rock to go, best timing or tide.. anything at all.
Thanks in advance

Postby joker » July 25th, 2017, 11:52 am

Be careful on the rocks ... and monitor the waves ... if you are too close to the edge you might be in danger if the waves are big

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » July 25th, 2017, 7:52 pm

Thanks man, we'll stay as far back as possible. Any advice on catching?

Postby dougla_boy » July 26th, 2017, 1:39 pm

u would need

a long rod
a good reel with a good amount of line
a gaff.... see fellas had with a loooooonngggg stick and others with rope
and a lot of hooks, of various sizes....
and bait
and well a few people... up there kinda lonely..... meem wah hear men take yuh in d back dey......

another option is to find other places to throw a line.....depending on where u live or could reach as far as....

if u look thru the thread, u would see a few places mentioned also

Postby desifemlove » July 26th, 2017, 2:58 pm

http://www.tripstodiscover.com/15-of-th ... thusiasts/

Would any of the angling experts agree with this?

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » July 26th, 2017, 8:48 pm

dougla_boy wrote:u would need

a long rod
and bait
and well a few people... up there kinda lonely..... meem wah hear men take yuh in d back dey......

another option is to find other places to throw a line.....depending on where u live or could reach as far as....

Thanks man. Is a lil beach house trip in toco na, me and a couzin wanted to try a thing by the lighthouse during the day, probly early morning, we'll be using casters though.
What type of bait? And best time or tide to look out for?

Postby dougla_boy » July 27th, 2017, 7:21 am

Got my Penn Warfare yesterday hoping to go out my this weekend into next week and test that sheit out....

stark_007

Postby stark_007 » July 27th, 2017, 7:57 am

So guys I hear a talk you have to pay to go in shark river now? Anyone can verify this ? :shock:

Postby dougla_boy » July 27th, 2017, 8:02 am

Jeremy09 wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:u would need

a long rod
and bait

Thanks man. Is a lil beach house trip in toco na, me and a couzin wanted to try a thing by the lighthouse during the day, probly early morning, we'll be using casters though.
What type of bait? And best time or tide to look out for?

for the tide, u could check the app called Global Tide.... and meem think nuttin wrong with using a castor..... just have decent line and a good amount on it.....

Postby joker » July 27th, 2017, 10:19 am

stark_007 wrote:So guys I hear a talk you have to pay to go in shark river now? Anyone can verify this ? :shock:
That is on the left ... apparently the owner of the land placed a security/watchman ..
There to collect money..

stark_007

Postby stark_007 » July 27th, 2017, 10:37 am

joker wrote:
stark_007 wrote:So guys I hear a talk you have to pay to go in shark river now? Anyone can verify this ? :shock:
That is on the left ... apparently the owner of the land placed a security/watchman ..
There to collect money..

But like "they" said on the right you can't park on the road either cause they placed cones so you have to pay to park. But, thanks for the information so I'll know what to expect. :D