San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Monkey Man

Re: San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Postby Monkey Man » September 13th, 2017, 1:22 pm

GOAT wrote:Its faster to stay on the main road, only time I take that new highway to grant road is when the main road has very slow trucks infront of me.

Sometimes I drive as fast as I can thru the highway and Grant Road and when I hit back the main road is because I bounce up back the truck them.

You does only think u getting there faster because the road is clear and u driving fast but in reality it is longer.

yea when you geee fyaahhs through grant rd and the new highway u is burn more gas and reach out the same time CONSIDERING things normal on the main rd

GOAT

Postby GOAT » September 20th, 2017, 2:15 pm

I agree with d Monkey yes. Grant Trace is a sh1th0le.
Pass thru Sobo and Neranther (how ever u spell it) to come home on Friday, when I reach out Neranther to go onto Grant Trace it had massive flooding. A few more inches and cars would've stalled and afaik it barely rained.

Anyways anyone who pass on the main road today around 8am, knows why there were so much traffic in La Brea?
A 10 mins drive took about 55 mins but I didnt see anything out of the ordinary and when I reach the roundabout it was clear. So whatever happened that caused all that traffic cleared up by the time I pass which was mins to 9.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 20th, 2017, 2:27 pm

there was an unusual amount of workers and a police xtrail by the round about at around 8.

cant say what occurred before....

Trinislacker

Postby Trinislacker » September 20th, 2017, 3:56 pm

La Brea protesting against CGCL.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » September 20th, 2017, 9:30 pm

Trinislacker wrote:La Brea protesting against CGCL.

Yeah heard that from someone for tru

Postby The_Honourable » September 20th, 2017, 9:50 pm

La Brea behaving bad again. Ent Oliverre talk to dem about running away investors? :idea:

Postby nervewrecker » September 20th, 2017, 9:55 pm

They protest for road, get road, road like the bocas already. Cant pave la brea road just so. Mellow allyuh self or move.
Nicole office always closed.
Grant trace does flood bad now. Anywhere have indian have drain clogged. Like is a south indian thing..

Postby The_Honourable » September 25th, 2017, 1:51 pm

Nidco reviews highway extension deals

Inflated $400M land claim

The National Infrastructure Development Company’s (Nidco) legal department is now reviewing a $400 million settlement claim from six owners who have surrendered properties for construction of the billion dollar Solomon Hochoy Highway extension to Point Fortin.

While Nidco chairman Herbert George agrees the owners have to be paid for the properties, he says his board has issues with the settlement figures “sky-rocketing.” In one claim, George said an owner requested $60 million for disturbance while his land is valued at $23 million.

“In recent times, we have been confronted with some very large settlements for properties along that highway. We have since queried it and referred it to our legal department,” George told the T&T Guardian in a telephone interview

George did not give the precise location of the six properties engaging their attention along the highway route, which starts from Golconda and ends at Dunlop Roundabout in Point Fortin.

He explained that once the state acquires an owner’s land a valuation is done, which the state would have in their possession.

However, he said “the acquisition of a property by the Government is such that once you serve the notice you could enter the property and start your work although the settlement is not finalised.” Once negotiations are finalised and agreed upon, George said the state would pay the owner for disturbance, cost of the property plus interest accrued. But this practice has created the existing problem.

“There is one property in particular. It was about five acres of land that we had to purchase. The cost of the property was about $23 million. The settlement that was sent to us to pay was of course the cost of the property $23 million. And those other things came up to a total of $83 million. That to us was a huge challenge,” George told the T&T Guardian.

“We are saying we are acquiring and we have to pay, but does it have to be so much? When you add the cost of the land to what was offered for disturbance...in that case disturbance was in the vicinity of $60 million, it was more than the cost of the land.”

George said the figure disturbed Nidco to the point where they referred it to their attorneys.

“We realised we had a problem and had to be guided because you see that has legal implications.”

Describing the settlement as “huge,” George said when they examined the figures of the six properties “it was eighty something million dollars…ninety something million dollars…sixty million. When you look at those six properties it was in the order of $400 million. It was just excessive. Those are some of the things we have been looking at in the interest of the taxpayer.”

George said Nidco’s board is now reviewing the matter.

“The board is confronted with request for payment. This board is not constrained to do something because the last board attempted to do it or say we should do it. We have to look at it and determine in our own mind and judgement that that is the reasonable thing to do.”

Work on the highway, which comprises 47 kilometres of four-lane dual carriageway, began in 2013 and was projected to cost $7.5 billion under the former People’s Partnership government.

Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-09- ... land-claim

Postby Redman » September 25th, 2017, 6:47 pm

So the unc board signs off on the inflated value...And leaves.?

ElSoc

Postby ElSoc » October 1st, 2017, 9:09 am

How far along would you guys say the highway is? Is there work still being done on it daily?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » October 10th, 2017, 6:42 am

ElSoc wrote:How far along would you guys say the highway is? Is there work still being done on it daily?

Will update you supposed to go to work point from next month

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 10th, 2017, 7:02 am

this highway would never be completed under this gov't because it is yellow...

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » October 10th, 2017, 8:15 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:this highway would never be completed under this gov't because it is yellow...

Wanted to say that but what you go do they need for the east side of tnt

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 10th, 2017, 8:26 am

ay thank the lordy that it reached so far. because you woudda only see hiways going up in the east and north

ElSoc

Postby ElSoc » October 10th, 2017, 10:11 am

urbandilema wrote: Will update you supposed to go to work point from next month

Ok great hope all goes well.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » October 10th, 2017, 11:38 am

ElSoc wrote:
urbandilema wrote: Will update you supposed to go to work point from next month

Ok great hope all goes well.

Thanks man

GOAT

Postby GOAT » October 10th, 2017, 1:00 pm

Highway ent reach far, i aint gonna reach far anytime soon.
From by Massy to St Mary's junction (d roundabout) that should be complete by March or May next year according to the signs the post up.

Even if they link up they to meet the next piece of the highway then u still ended up by the same grant trace.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » October 12th, 2017, 5:21 pm

GOAT wrote:Highway ent reach far, i aint gonna reach far anytime soon.
From by Massy to St Mary's junction (d roundabout) that should be complete by March or May next year according to the signs the post up.

Even if they link up they to meet the next piece of the highway then u still ended up by the same grant trace.

Yeah same thing I Was nw gonna say..but that traffic to come back sando was annoying yes. ..took a hr from home to point...which wasn't bad

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » October 23rd, 2017, 4:46 am

Postby Redman » October 23rd, 2017, 9:47 am

pushing innocent till proven guilty to the distasteful limits

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » October 23rd, 2017, 10:11 am

Yeah true...hmm I'm getting accustomed to this drive to point but the drive to go back north is killing me especially the creek. .creek flooded this weekend and saw what people was going tru

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 23rd, 2017, 6:30 pm

urbandilema wrote:Yeah true...hmm I'm getting accustomed to this drive to point but the drive to go back north is killing me especially the creek. .creek flooded this weekend and saw what people was going tru

Was it flooded today?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » October 23rd, 2017, 6:34 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
urbandilema wrote:Yeah true...hmm I'm getting accustomed to this drive to point but the drive to go back north is killing me especially the creek. .creek flooded this weekend and saw what people was going tru

Was it flooded today?

Sunday morning I was heading down and the creek and I heard dow flood today so passed Tru the sobo but that rd eh easy..plus accident as u reach on top of oropouche..

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 23rd, 2017, 6:35 pm

Was it flooded today?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » October 23rd, 2017, 6:36 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

Was it flooded today?

Nope creek was clear only at dow side

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 23rd, 2017, 6:43 pm

urbandilema wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

Was it flooded today?

Nope creek was clear only at dow side

How was the traffic there?

Thanks for the info.

TriP

Postby TriP » October 30th, 2017, 7:47 pm

Aripero Village on lock down - bad roads

2.png

TriP

Postby TriP » October 30th, 2017, 7:49 pm

7pm - 30-10-17

715pm - 30-10-17

TriP

Postby TriP » October 30th, 2017, 7:52 pm

Aripero Village on lock down - bad roads

750pm - 30-10-17 - man wrongful arrest

from early this morning

earlier today

Postby The_Honourable » October 31st, 2017, 10:51 am

Nicole Olivierre should be selling corn curls in a corner shop somewhere, she is one of the most useless MPs i've ever seen.