Re: 95.1 sends home jean ambrose

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2017, 7:31 am

She had a good voice and program, the Dana girl kinda replaced her selections
She is in U.K. Now

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » November 10th, 2017, 9:00 am

Daryl de Silva. When 95 used to play metal on Friday nights. I never used to sleep on Friday's just so I could hear the new Testament or Megadeth

triniangie

Postby triniangie » November 10th, 2017, 10:29 am

The_Honourable wrote:
I now remember on the morning zoo... THHHHHEEEE ORRRRAACCCCLLLLEEEE...

anybody ever knew who that oracle guy was with the stale jokes?

wow - i forgot about him

alternative/rock jus died over the years, really sad :cry: #PopRockDays

but - what happened to Jean Ambrose? anybody know the reason

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 10th, 2017, 11:20 am

95.1 was my radio station of choice because of their lean to more rock and alternative music. I dont like the urban nonsense they've been pushing over the last couple months.

However they are still the best at late nights (post mid nite) with "The Overnight Mix". Very limited urban and r&b music, and no ads except for the occasional station id. When they start interfering with that, then they are truly off my list.

My favorite program and announcer from my younger days was Jacqui Hilley on Friday nights. She used to have the Top Gun anthem as her program's intro and farewell

Postby Rovin » November 10th, 2017, 7:51 pm

^^^^ u know d ting with d top gun anthem .... :)

Postby skylinechild » November 10th, 2017, 7:59 pm

^^^^ old age is confirmed.... :lol:

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 10th, 2017, 9:00 pm

Animal Pak wrote:Daryl de Silva. When 95 used to play metal on Friday nights. I never used to sleep on Friday's just so I could hear the new Testament or Megadeth

Jean, Darryl and Adam. Bess times.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 15th, 2017, 9:11 am

Val is no longer doing the morning show on 94.7 it seems.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » November 15th, 2017, 9:26 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Val is no longer doing the morning show on 94.7 it seems.

He was kinda annoying anyway

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 15th, 2017, 9:37 am

Nah I enjoyed the music and talk on that show.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 15th, 2017, 10:04 am

I'm enjoying Mike Ross.......he hardly talks so its mostly music.

ACT DA FOOL

Postby ACT DA FOOL » November 15th, 2017, 10:35 am

bora_dog

Postby bora_dog » November 15th, 2017, 11:49 am

sure i know the voice but i dont know the face if someone could post a pic of jean ambrose

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2017, 12:09 pm

skylinechild wrote:^^^^ old age is confirmed.... :lol:

Ole gringo riot ..

They think it is Jean & Dinah :D

Postby K74T » November 15th, 2017, 1:14 pm

bora_dog wrote:sure i know the voice but i dont know the face if someone could post a pic of jean ambrose

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2017, 1:20 pm

That photo was watered down :o

Postby Dizzy28 » November 15th, 2017, 2:52 pm

Didn't Jean have a restaurant in Valpark's food court at a point in time? Down on Caesar's side down there.

Postby timelapse » November 15th, 2017, 5:48 pm

Esher Roopnarine

Postby nervewrecker » November 15th, 2017, 6:08 pm

Wah really going on jed? I like val

Probably one of my favs from 95.1 is Emmett Hennessy. Still listen to him on 103.5 :D

Postby skylinechild » November 15th, 2017, 7:59 pm

Probably one of my favs from 95.1 is Emmett Hennessy. Still listen to him on 103.5 :D

:shock: :shock: you listen the vag station?????

Postby K74T » November 16th, 2017, 4:16 am

Postby RedVEVO » November 16th, 2017, 4:49 am

Emmett is a ole gringo fart ..

Like ear ring with bi-focals ole ..

Like Bermuda shorts and Depends ole ..

The other guy at night better .. :D

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2017, 6:50 am

skylinechild wrote:

Radio for women, and the men who love them.

I love women, so I listen. Donno about you rest of dudes.

Postby RedVEVO » November 16th, 2017, 6:52 am

skylinechild wrote:

Love dem . Leave dem.

But don't listen.

To dem .. :D

Postby Dave » November 16th, 2017, 9:05 am

103.5 is the modern 97.1 and nothing is wrong with either when you want to put it in 5th and coast.

Postby Rovin » November 16th, 2017, 11:49 am

skylinechild wrote:

gives nerve an E bonx

apparently some ppl who never listen to this station think it does have have woman talking whole day about their periods , wa kinda bra\underwear to wear & how to make good sada roti ... only on some mornings they may have woman related topics\guests but otherwise all day its good civilized music & no they dont play woman singers only or sappy heartbreak songs ...... its like a pop adult contemporary mix of 97.1 & 95.1 ....... :|

Postby sMASH » November 16th, 2017, 12:45 pm

No bruck out bizness

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 16th, 2017, 1:23 pm

95.1's heyday was the nineties and early 2000's, when alternative/grunge/pop rock was in it's heyday.

They've lost their identity over the years, trying to move from "the rock" to "the best mix" has hurt them somewhat. Their listening base has grown up and is dwindling, some have started to listen to other stations such as 103.5 (I think that's the radio for women station?). The younger population have gone urban...sigh..used to be a time when u had to do a lil broadcasting course to get on radio, now dem fellers talking normal Trini or fake Jamaican slang on the radio now..I blame Boom 94.1 for that.

The dramatic increase in the number of radio stations and technologies such as usb/bluetooth ain't helping them either.

95.1 was the bomb for me but that was almost 20 years ago! These days it's sweet 100 for the christmas tunes, 104.7 to hear a lil Howie T and flash drive for it when I don't like what I'm hearing.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » November 16th, 2017, 4:54 pm

Radio sucks, what better sound than the engine

Postby sMASH » November 16th, 2017, 5:09 pm

BOV