Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

SNIPER 3000

Re: Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 6th, 2017, 7:38 pm

Kronic send me a pm on price and location.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 6th, 2017, 7:46 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Kronic send me a pm on price and location.

Pm sent

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 8th, 2017, 4:27 pm

Is the hilux clutch supposed to be hard? I find it hard compare to others.
Change the alternator pulley today, seems that was the problem with the drive belt. Although milage is low might not be a good thing, looks like its at the point for belts and pulleys. Think will change gear box oil tomorrow. what body oil you all used?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 8th, 2017, 6:08 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Is the hilux clutch supposed to be hard? I find it hard compare to others.
Change the alternator pulley today, seems that was the problem with the drive belt. Although milage is low might not be a good thing, looks like its at the point for belts and pulleys. Think will change gear box oil tomorrow. what body oil you all used?

The clutch shouldn't be to hard.
Currently have Valvoline 80w90 in my dad's hilux gearbox... While you are at it I advise changing the fluid in the rear diff as well

75w90 will work as well...
I started using the above oil because it was the cheapest recognised brand I could find at the time. Purchased a case... Changed the oil in two vans,
Front and rear diffs, transfer cases, and a manual transmission... And still have some left for my next change

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 11th, 2017, 9:12 am

kamakazi wrote:
SNIPER 3000 wrote:Is the hilux clutch supposed to be hard? I find it hard compare to others.

Currently have Valvoline 80w90 in my dad's hilux gearbox... While you are at it I advise changing the fluid in the rear diff as well

I started using the above oil because it was the cheapest recognised brand I could find at the time. Purchased a case... Changed the oil in two vans,
Front and rear diffs, transfer cases, and a manual transmission... And still have some left for my next change

Yup! GL-5 for diff and well you can use GL-4 in the rest. Wah price u paid for the Valvoline? I used Mobil the other day.... $100 a quart... Pocket still have a hole...
Maybe Sniper you can give the brake fluid a flush to see if the clutch get softer. I felt a slight improvement when I flushed mines.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 11th, 2017, 9:42 am

Thanks Adion and kamakazi . Will Chang gen oil today on gear box.
I opened the cover of the timing belt and it looks pretty good.
20171209_093953_resized.jpg
20171209_094150_resized.jpg
20171209_094219_resized.jpg

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 11th, 2017, 9:45 am

Also solved that slight vibration issue and why the serpentine belt burst. The pulley on the alternator was replaced but was not tighten all the way down. So there was a slight miss alignment. I took the alternator off and welded a bolt head on both sides to make the tool. I must say His 2kd engine is really easy to work on. Will also do the timing belt change out my self..

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 11th, 2017, 12:35 pm

Is the rear diff LSD?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 11th, 2017, 1:49 pm

ADONI wrote:
kamakazi wrote:

Yup! GL-5 for diff and well you can use GL-4 in the rest. Wah price u paid for the Valvoline? I used Mobil the other day.... $100 a quart... Pocket still have a hole...
Maybe Sniper you can give the brake fluid a flush to see if the clutch get softer. I felt a slight improvement when I flushed mines.

I use gl5 in everything... It wasn't Synthetic Valvoline btw... Cost about $45 a quart
There is normally a sticker with LSD on it stuck to the diff.
It is generally easy to work on... Except for the placement of the front diff fill bolt in the 4x4... That is a pain.
Planning to put Synthetic fluids in soon to see if it affects fuel consumption

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 11th, 2017, 8:01 pm

Not seeing any sticker,mines is the 4x2. Wondering if its lsd or not. How much oil did the gear box take 2.2 quarts?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 11th, 2017, 11:04 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Not seeing any sticker,mines is the 4x2. Wondering if its lsd or not. How much oil did the gear box take 2.2 quarts?

Cater about 3 quarts for the gearbox. Most gear oils are limited slip compatible these days... And it doesn't hurt if you use it in a non limited slip differential.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 12th, 2017, 9:06 am

Thanks,
do you all think the 2kd is under powered? very short range in first and 2nd gear. Compared to a frontier. Slow take off on 1st...very slow. Is that normal?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 12th, 2017, 9:23 am

It is underpowered... That is mainly because of the turbo. There are models of the 2kd from factory with the vnt turbo from the 1kd that make around 40% more horsepower (an increase from 100hp to about 140hp).
I am unsure about the difference in ecu and wiring required. What I have observed is that the manifold and turbo location are different between the 2.5 and the 3.0 as well as an extra sensor on the intake tubing of the 3.0 at the elbow just after the filter.
100hp is enough to get me in trouble so I am ok with it
A Nissan turbo diesel does move.... No denying that...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 12th, 2017, 10:39 am

All that fancy talk! Yea, using a NP300 as daily now and when switching to the Hilux for the weekend, I does be bawling as it feels I will never reach...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 12th, 2017, 10:52 am

I am cool with the low speed though. The only issues is the slow take off from 1 and 2. Have to remember to go on the slow side at traffic lights, too much stare down from not moving away to fast....ha.

Also have being doing some searching on GL5 and 4 oil. The gl5 has way more detergent and additives which will destroy the brass in gear boxes and is not recommend top use, unless told by the manual. having said that what did our manual said gl4 or 5? I most believe its 4.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 12th, 2017, 11:08 am

I will have to check the manual again later and let u know for the gearbox, but for sure for the diff it says GL5.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 12th, 2017, 4:08 pm

yep diff is gl5. not sure with the gear box. I looked around today and could not find gl4 oil. Parts place selling diff oil and saying its gear box oil, it clearly marks axle on the bottle...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 12th, 2017, 4:21 pm

On pg 860 of my owners manual, it states under manual transmission, oil type: gear oil API gl4 or gl5...

If you insist that you must use gl4... When last I checked (and that was a while) it was only available from redline or amsoil.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 12th, 2017, 6:00 pm

Thanks for the info.
If the manual says 4 or 5 I will go with the 5.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 13th, 2017, 1:17 pm

Got the gl4 in redline.
20171213_112629.jpg

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 13th, 2017, 2:21 pm

Yup, checked the manual, only the diff is GL5, the rest you can use GL4 or GL5.
Gearbox is 2.2qts for 4WD model and 2.6qts for the 2WD model.

Eh is $100 you pay for the oil filter???

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 13th, 2017, 6:45 pm

Yeah bro. 100 for the filter.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 13th, 2017, 8:05 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Got the gl4 in redline.

Might I ask where you purchased the oil pump and the oil filter

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 14th, 2017, 6:21 am

The oil pump I bought off amazon a couple years ago. But I have seen it selling at local part places, I think I saw it in auto village in San Juan or one of the parts place along that road.

The oil filter was bought in cunupia, small parts place on the left heading south, just as you pass the first mosque on your right. It's a bar and parts place in one. I will get the number and post it.
The oil was a good price also 200 for the engine oil.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 14th, 2017, 9:04 am

Thank you for the info

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 15th, 2017, 6:22 am

Any info and thoughts on egr blanking?
Good, bad?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 15th, 2017, 10:28 am

For the 2.5 hilux...i haven't seen an EGR system yet.

For the 3.0 or any vehicle that has an egr system... My advice is to not block it off completely. Get a plate cut with a small hole in it... More like a restrictor with a 7 or 8mm hole... Because the EGR system might not only be used for emissions....It might be used to control how the turbo spools and functions and total blockage could prove problematic.
But I've never had to do it as I don't have an EGR vehicle

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 15th, 2017, 11:18 am

Boi, a reputable company had blank a EGR for me on a diesel Tucson... It cause the CEL to come on...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 17th, 2017, 12:06 pm

kamakazi wrote:For the 2.5 hilux...i haven't seen an EGR system yet.

For the 3.0 or any vehicle that has an egr system... My advice is to not block it off completely. Get a plate cut with a small hole in it... More like a restrictor with a 7 or 8mm hole... Because the EGR system might not only be used for emissions....It might be used to control how the turbo spools and functions and total blockage could prove problematic.
But I've never had to do it as I don't have an EGR vehicle

You are right did not see one. Thought it would have one .

ridin_clean

Postby ridin_clean » December 20th, 2017, 2:19 pm

Hey good day, have anyone did repairs to a rear differential?
I have a 2006 Hilux 2kd 4x4 manual model, its very noisy (bearing) could that be repaired? Any help would be appreciated

Return to “TOYOTA”