S8, s8+, note 8 or OnePlus 5T

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 20th, 2017, 8:32 am

Techies, talk to meh.....the OnePlus specs seems to blown away the other high priced brands......but chipset n processor pros, tell us what u think plz

iM@st@1

Re: S8, s8+, note 8 or OnePlus 5T

Postby iM@st@1 » December 20th, 2017, 9:51 am

If budget is not an issue I'd choose the note 8 hands down.

Otherwise the oneplus 5T for price/performance value and near stock android experience.

Should also consider the pixel 2 XL, best camera on the market right now.

death365

Postby death365 » December 20th, 2017, 10:02 am

the s8/s8+/ note 8 are basically the same platform and specs. very high quality build and Bixby too. also u actually can take vids and pics under water with no issues.

the 5T is stock an WILL receive updates much quicker

forgot to mention i have the S8 and its awesome :D

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 20th, 2017, 10:08 am

I made this decision amongst these phones apart from the 5T a few months ago. I did look at the latest apple phones as well (over priced) along with the note 8 as well in the ridiculous price category.

That being said 5T is an amazing phone ... I had some buyers regret having spent some dollars on an S8+ ... for me key must have features were 6inch amoled display ... dual sim ... large battery ... wireless charging.

5T ticks all the boxes apart from wireless charging for slightly less coin.

Wireless charging was a must have for me so my decision came down between the S8 and S8+.

Over all I will give samsung s8+ over this due to the water resistance, wireless charging, better amoled screen (higher resolution and useful viewing angle).

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 20th, 2017, 10:13 am

death365 wrote:the s8/s8+/ note 8 are basically the same platform and specs. very high quality build and Bixby too. also u actually can take vids and pics under water with no issues.

How long does the S8 battery last you?

I think that is my only gripe with the S8+ battery life isnt too great but wireless charging is the solution to that particular issue.

death365

Postby death365 » December 20th, 2017, 10:25 am

my battery last approx. 12 - 13 hours, but i am a power user ; always on wifi and data, screen @50% etc etc

timothymcdavid wrote:
death365 wrote:the s8/s8+/ note 8 are basically the same platform and specs. very high quality build and Bixby too. also u actually can take vids and pics under water with no issues.

How long does the S8 battery last you?

I think that is my only gripe with the S8+ battery life isnt too great but wireless charging is the solution to that particular issue.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 20th, 2017, 10:39 am

death365 wrote:my battery last approx. 12 - 13 hours, but i am a power user ; always on wifi and data, screen @50% etc etc

I think I get a little bit better than that but not much just seems a bit shocking.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 20th, 2017, 11:55 am

Postby tr1ad » December 20th, 2017, 12:34 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:
death365 wrote:my battery last approx. 12 - 13 hours, but i am a power user ; always on wifi and data, screen @50% etc etc

I think I get a little bit better than that but not much just seems a bit shocking.

i've gotten 15 hrs on the S8+ already with a good bit of use (which is basically working from my device - logistics and supply chain).... with the iphone plus models and same usage i'd charge at least twice during the same period.

with the OP5T it's quite good bang for buck

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » December 20th, 2017, 1:08 pm

the prices of the two is almost the same - 5t and s8 around 500 and 560usd .

difference is simple convenient things :
S8 - wireless charging, headphone jack, water proof and expandable memory. i never thought how useful these features till its gone.

5t - specs the processor is the same - but more RAM

i own the 2 devices and i prefer the s8 simply fast and the display is topnotch

Postby RBphoto » December 20th, 2017, 1:49 pm

I am currently recommending Huawei Mate 10 and P10 to anyone who is looking for a new flagship phone. I switched from Apple and I have used Samsung. The camera is the best of anything I have ever used in a phone, and it is better value for money. It works just as well as all other android phones IMO. I know some of you would not touch anything bmobile, but I got my mate 9 off of my postpaid plan for $1,200.00, which was a steal of a deal and a no-brainer for value. The only reason I believe to pay more for any other phone (Samsung or Apple, don't know the 1+ brand personally) is the waterproofing. It is nice to know you can take an accidental dip without any consequences.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 20th, 2017, 2:06 pm

^ the Google Pixel XL camera is reportedly better than the Huawei

Postby tr1ad » December 20th, 2017, 2:51 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ the Google Pixel XL camera is reportedly better than the Huawei

that's what i've seen so far

Postby skylinechild » December 20th, 2017, 5:49 pm

soooo no one considered nokia ???

nokia 6

Full specifications
In the box

Your Nokia 6

Charger

Charging/data cable

Headset

Quick guide

SIM door key
Design

Colors Matte black, Silver/white, Tempered (blue), Matte copper

Size 154 x 75.8 x 7.85 mm (8.4 with camera bump)
Network and connectivity

Network speed LTE Cat. 4, 150Mbps DL/50Mbps UL

Networks GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 WCDMA: Band 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 LTE: Band 2, 3, 4, 7, 12/17, 28, 38
Performance

Operating system Android™ Nougat

CPU Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 430 Octa-core

RAM 3 GB
qualcomm_snapdragon_logo@2x.png
Storage

Internal memory 32 GB*

MicroSD card slot Support for up to 128 GB

Services Google Drive
Audio

Connector 3.5 mm headphone jack

Speakers Dual speakers

Amplifier Smart amplifier (TFA9891) with Dolby Atmos®
Display

Size and type 5.5” IPS LCD

Resolution Full-HD (1920 x 1080, 16:9)

Material 2.5D sculpted Corning® Gorilla® Glass display

Pixel density 403 ppi

Brightness 450 nits, laminated

Features Sunlight readability
Camera

Primary camera 16MP PDAF, 1.0um, f/2, dual tone flash

Front-facing camera 8MP AF, 1.12um, f/2, FOV 84 degrees
Connectivity and sensors

Connectivity Micro USB (USB 2.0), USB OTG, Wi-Fi

Sensors Accelerometer (G-sensor), ambient light sensor, e-compass, fingerprint sensor, gyroscope, proximity sensor, NFC
Battery life

Battery type Integrated 3000 mAh battery**

**Battery has limited recharge cycles and battery capacity reduces over time. Eventually the battery may need to be replaced.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » December 20th, 2017, 6:13 pm

What about LG V30?

Work_to_own

Postby Work_to_own » December 22nd, 2017, 10:09 am

If price is not an issue, note 8.

If it is, then OP5T is the best bang for the buck.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

jayjay96

Postby jayjay96 » December 22nd, 2017, 10:20 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Techies, talk to meh.....the OnePlus specs seems to blown away the other high priced brands......but chipset n processor pros, tell us what u think plz
I had both of them and am telling the one plus 5 is a beast of a phone it's to fast lol if your the tip of person who like to play emulators run lots off apps oneplus 5 is for u because it's fast the Samsung s8 is nice but it ent as fast and if u looking for style or something to hit around the parks the the s8 is for u, may I also suggest the razer phone gamers and the LG v30 for those who loves to make videos take selfie or any media consumption it's a beast when it comes to dose

Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

Postby Dizzy28 » December 22nd, 2017, 10:30 am

I find purchasing the previous year's flagship to be a solid choice for those on a reasonable budget.
I purchased the Oneplus 2 last year when the 3T was out and I purchased the LGV20 last month (gave my wife the OP2). The Oneplus's have gotten kind of expensive as an alternative flagship option IMO (still significantly cheaper than the Samsungs though)

Got the LGV20 for US$320 with 1 year warranty. With that I got a phone running Nougat out of the box with a dual camera setup, 5.7'' screen [and 2 inch secondary screen] and a host of other features. The V20 actually has a better screen resolution than many 2017 flagships OP5T included.

May not have wireless charging and waterproof but those are not necessarily features that made or broke a deal for me. TBH I am not sure how much normal users can actually notice if a phone running Snapdragon 820 or 835.

Postby Chimera » December 22nd, 2017, 10:35 am

The v20 is awesome

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 26th, 2017, 7:53 am

I had a oneplus1 and now a OnePlus 3... Compared to my Samsung's from previous.... It's infinitely better.. simply because OnePlus gives u pure Android... Samsung junks up ur Android OS and then their infamous battery-drain after about 6 months...

Then the price is ridunkulous...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 26th, 2017, 9:40 am

I bought the Huawei Honor 8 got it for $300 on Amazon and it works absolutely flawless very fast and powerful. Works as smooth as a S8 you can also check the benchmarks on Anandtech aswell

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 26th, 2017, 10:29 am

Anyone here seen a pixel 2 fs locally yet?? Looking for that, the mate 10 or 5t myself. hit me up if u guys know anyone have either in stock na

Postby A172 » December 27th, 2017, 12:26 am

if u an android user anything but a pixel 2/xl is lulz