Wtk : good printer to buy for home use ?

Premchand1976

Re: Wtk : good printer to buy for home use ?

Postby Premchand1976 » January 28th, 2018, 10:37 am

RGF Asset Management wrote:I bought one of those HP 4645 all in one printers (print,scan,copy,fax) in price smart in 2015. Carries 2 cartridges (colour and black). The cartridge code is 662/664. Available nearly any where for about $150.00 each.

Printer is used for my home office and also by my kids for school and uwi projects.

No complaints at all

Paid about $800.00 for it at the time.

The dodo brain in price smart told me that printed black only.....else i would have picked one up Friday self

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 28th, 2018, 10:46 am

Godfather1979 wrote:Don't buy the HP ones that pricesmart selling,the ink is hard to get. Buy a Cannon

To me HP ink is available in many places, stationary stores, Pricesmart, book stores, electronic stores etc
I can’t remember seeing Canon cartridges anywhere locally.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » January 29th, 2018, 1:39 pm

Saw this in pricesmart today. Thoughts ?Image

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » January 29th, 2018, 3:17 pm

i have a canon inkjet/scanner combo and it works pretty well. black cartridge is like 150 and colour 200 or so. hp printers suck and are over priced. i shipped the printer here but the ink is mostly common so its not too much of an issue to find it.

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » January 29th, 2018, 4:51 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Saw this in pricesmart today. Thoughts ?Image

Hey

Looks decent. Its HP so should be reliable . ink cartridges easily available .

Looks as if it can do everything mine can except fax.

Good value for money

Postby 88sins » January 29th, 2018, 5:35 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 29th, 2018, 8:00 pm

88sins wrote:Here you go
http://www8.hp.com/us/en/products/print ... id=6782853

You're welcome

was looking at this exact one today

Massy said the m477fdw is ~$6000 and they should have in stock

but that's a lil above my budget for this printer, so I requested a quote for the m277fdw that you posted here - should get a quote tomorrow.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » January 29th, 2018, 8:33 pm

The wizz has quite a few including the epson ecotank for 3k...circuit zone also had quite a few of the HP LaserJet.

I think the eco tank was 2200.......

Postby 88sins » January 30th, 2018, 4:48 am

88sins wrote:Here you go
http://www8.hp.com/us/en/products/print ... id=6782853

You're welcome

was looking at this exact one today

Massy said the m477fdw is ~$6000 and they should have in stock

but that's a lil above my budget for this printer, so I requested a quote for the m277fdw that you posted here - should get a quote tomorrow.

Circuit zone has them for about $3500

Postby gastly369 » January 30th, 2018, 5:53 am

Brother and ciss

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 30th, 2018, 6:04 am

In yesterday's newspaper, the Wizz advertised some warehouse clearance sale at their branch in Point Lisas. You may get a good deal on a printer at that sale.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » January 31st, 2018, 4:04 am

Op, my 2 cents is to not worry too much about the initial cost of the printer but focus more on the operating cost. So try to estimate how much pages you might print in say a month. Look at the manufacturer's suggested yields per cartridge and work out how much you may spend in ink or toner per month or per year. Just make sure to buy a printer that gives you all the features you need and with a manufacturer's recommended monthly page volume that exceeds your estimate of your actual monthly page volume.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » January 31st, 2018, 4:05 am

I haven't used an inkjet in a long time. Think the last one I used was a HP Deskjet 660c. I recall back in those days the ink would not be fully dry immediately after printing. Sometimes if you touched the printed area as soon as it came out the printer it would feel a bit damp. Can anyone tell me if the current HP inkjet printers such as their Pagewide and Officejet printers suffer from similar problems? I figure the technology should have advanced such that this is no longer a problem but I'd like to be sure before I buy

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » January 31st, 2018, 7:12 am

Brother MFC J460DW ink jet. Can be refilled easily and replacement cartridges are cheap on eBay.....check it out

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 31st, 2018, 11:32 am

Canon 8580 from MBM

Working like a boss since

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2018, 11:33 am

Ended up getting the HP M281fdw for the office

Thanks for the suggestion @88sins

Bought it from Massy Technologies InfoCom.

I could have gotten it slightly cheaper elsewhere but Massy offers a great warranty locally and they are the authorized HP agents. Plus it was delivered for free.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 3rd, 2018, 11:34 am

Dwayne....hummuch dah cost yuh?

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 3rd, 2018, 1:06 pm

I am Looking for something to print photos in good quality....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2018, 1:07 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Dwayne....hummuch dah cost yuh?

$3800 +VAT

Call Massy Technology, ask for Vidal, he's a forum user

Postby *KRONIK* » February 3rd, 2018, 1:09 pm

$3800 +VAT

Call Massy Technology, ask for Vidal, he's a forum user
Thanks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2018, 1:15 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:I am Looking for something to print photos in good quality....

What size?

If it's photo size 4x6 prints check out the Canon SELPHY or other dye sublimation/heat transfer photo printers.
The quality is far far better than inkjet and lasts much much longer.

https://www.amazon.com/Canon-Selphy-CP1 ... B0195JC9LE

Postby rspann » February 3rd, 2018, 1:29 pm

$3800 +VAT

Call Massy Technology, ask for Vidal, he's a forum user, tell him Duane say to give you the "tuner special price".

Postby *KRONIK* » February 3rd, 2018, 1:30 pm

rspann wrote:

$3800 +VAT

Call Massy Technology, ask for Vidal, he's a forum user, tell him Duane say to give you the "tuner special price".
That was the plan...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2018, 2:10 pm

^ lol that too

eazzy

Postby eazzy » February 5th, 2018, 1:52 am

If it's light usage, the all-in-one HPs are PriceSmart should work for you. Heavier usage, look into the color lasers, but costs will go notably up for that.

PriceSmart is a good bet because of the warranty. SuperTechTT also has decent customer service. Never buy anything from The Wizz that needs warranty coverage. Trying to get faulty items returned or replaced there is a nightmare, the management at Wizz are some unscrupulous characters.

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » February 9th, 2018, 10:16 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
rspann wrote:

$3800 +VAT

That was the plan...

Look meh ! lol

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 14th, 2018, 9:17 am

Bumping this thread.

What kind and where would I get a decent colour laser printer for small office use? It's needed soon so buying online is not an option.
Looking at about $3k.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » March 16th, 2018, 7:54 am

Check the wizz chaguanas they had the ecotank....2200 & 3100 if I remember correctly

cryotec

Postby cryotec » May 28th, 2018, 4:46 pm

laser printers can be pretty cheap. Bestbuy has a sale on this one that I linked below for $60. If you ship it over boat, you might end up paying ~$700ttd total after shipping and taxes. Now, for ink, buy the aftermarket ones on ebay (TN630/660), for approximately ~$5usd per toner. A TN 660 is the high yield one rated at ~2600 pages so a 4pk for $25usd will have you set for life.

https://www.bestbuy.com//site/brother-h ... Id=4499400

https://www.ebay.com/itm/4-Pack-TN660-H ... SwtGlZHoGC

Postby 88sins » May 28th, 2018, 6:28 pm

you'd be amazed how fast 2600 pages does finish, especially if it's multiple ppl printing on a regular basis a home office for work & school assignments.