Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

PariaMan

Re: Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

Postby PariaMan » January 17th, 2018, 3:41 pm

So fuel light blinking spent about 400 on treatments and plenty pumping only to realise it is the fuel canister that needed changing

computercentral

Postby computercentral » January 17th, 2018, 5:25 pm

Any good recommendations on some one to change ac evaporator ~ hilux

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 18th, 2018, 8:23 am

computercentral wrote:Any good recommendations on some one to change ac evaporator ~ hilux

Ravi 7368971 Bamboo #2

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 18th, 2018, 10:25 am

PariaMan wrote:So fuel light blinking spent about 400 on treatments and plenty pumping only to realise it is the fuel canister that needed changing
How did u figure out this was the problem...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 18th, 2018, 10:29 am

When I pumped out the canister and then took out the drain cork and put on the ignition without starting the light continued to blink there was nothing in the canister so the light should have gone out.

Got one by roc. Came with filter included so it was just to put in.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 18th, 2018, 5:43 pm

I see that the problem is fixed... Did you try unplugging the sensors and reattaching them after pumping out the contaminants...I want to believe that the old canister is still good... The filter might be bad... What is the going rate on a replacement canister

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 19th, 2018, 10:15 am

Yes followed all the instructions. To verify i spoke with a Toyota technician.
And yes I did change the filter .

Apparently there are 2 sensors

The top one measures a pressure differential
When it is too high means the filter is clogged and the light stays on until the filter is changed and a reset done . This has a procedure which is on the internet

The bottom sensor tests for water which because it is heavier than diesel sinks to the bottom of the canister

This will case the float to rise setting on the flashing light

Once the water is pumped out the light will go off . No need to do a reset.

My problem was that sensor which was detecting water when there was none

One I changed the canister the light stopped blinking
Last edited by PariaMan on January 19th, 2018, 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 19th, 2018, 10:21 am

Price of canister was 895 with filter I got a discount

Postby Ted_v2 » February 12th, 2018, 9:39 am

the sensor at the bottom doesnt usually go bad, with a diesel filter change i usually wash it with soap and mount it right back up, ensure its moving freely. But glad to see you got thru.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 12th, 2018, 10:02 am

Yep did all those things

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 12th, 2018, 2:24 pm

How often do you all replace the fuel filter? The filter assembled is so cheaply made in the Hilux I do not like it at all.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 12th, 2018, 2:36 pm

I shut down already for clogged filter so I change regularly for myself. I also drain regularly. Bought a tube so it is not messy to do also I use treatments regularly . Used to smoke on startup but no smoke at all since I started to do these things

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 13th, 2018, 3:56 pm

Have you ever seen water separation when you drained ?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 13th, 2018, 3:57 pm

How often do you do the drain once a month?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 13th, 2018, 4:00 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Have you ever seen water separation when you drained ?
Hard to say but I have seen dirty particles

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 13th, 2018, 6:02 pm

Change filter when I'm indicated to do so... Either by the engine cutting or dashboard light. Every oil change I drain the sedimentor... Shortest fuel filter lasted was 12000kms when a batch a bad diesel was in circulation.

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2018, 8:31 am

the company changes the filter every 10k
but it is recommended to at least wash out the canister every oil change(5k)
apart from water, there is often slimy sludge

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 14th, 2018, 9:12 am

A friend bought a Sakura fuel filter to change out in their Hilux. When I took out the old one and put in the new one, the fuel filter assembly couldn't screw back. I was wah madness is this. Then I notice the new filter and old filter top looked different. What really happen was the top of the old filter broke and remained inside the cap.
I change fuel filter every two oil changes and pour some liqui moly diesel purge and let it idle.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 14th, 2018, 1:08 pm

pugboy wrote:the company changes the filter every 10k
but it is recommended to at least wash out the canister every oil change(5k)
apart from water, there is often slimy sludge
Yep I noticed that sludge

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 14th, 2018, 1:09 pm

ADONI wrote:A friend bought a Sakura fuel filter to change out in their Hilux. When I took out the old one and put in the new one, the fuel filter assembly couldn't screw back. I was wah madness is this. Then I notice the new filter and old filter top looked different. What really happen was the top of the old filter broke and remained inside the cap.
I change fuel filter every two oil changes and pour some liqui moly diesel purge and let it idle.
Will try that liquid moly heard it's good

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 14th, 2018, 1:15 pm

Need some advise here, washed the engine last night. This morning the gears would not go in when the engine starts, but would engage within engine off. What could it be clutch, releasing bearing, master or slave cylinder?
I think the engine wash may have noting to do with it but, the clutch and gears worked fine before.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 14th, 2018, 3:05 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Need some advise here, washed the engine last night. This morning the gears would not go in when the engine starts, but would engage within engine off. What could it be clutch, releasing bearing, master or slave cylinder?
I think the engine wash may have noting to do with it but, the clutch and gears worked fine before.
Underwash once and clutch was making noise followed the clutch and found a place to grease which stopped the noise .

Postby Ted_v2 » February 19th, 2018, 12:29 pm

Get someone to watch below and see if the slave moving. If it is then. The master and the slave would be fine. If not well either of the two would be bad.

telfer

Postby telfer » March 20th, 2018, 8:03 pm

Goodnight fellas....where can I get a tranny mount for a surf 1kz Engine

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 22nd, 2018, 7:44 pm

Khalid khan in the bamboo.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 30th, 2018, 6:09 pm

Got my Android deck up and running

Postby *KRONIK* » March 30th, 2018, 6:45 pm

PariaMan wrote:Got my Android deck up and running
Pics
Specs
??

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 30th, 2018, 9:40 pm

Worth every cent ,runs android ,wifi,separate subwoofer Bluetooth and plug and play
20180330_180425.jpg

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 30th, 2018, 9:42 pm

Plus 45 watts per channel

Postby *KRONIK* » April 3rd, 2018, 7:56 am

Yea fellaz....
I in the market for a hilux

4x4

Not sure of the model/chassis designation
But its the facelift model from the previous gen.

Like this:

Screenshot_2018-04-03-07-51-30-1.jpg

Wanna go view a few this week/next week

Any pointers to look out for?
Weak points?
Stuff that goes bad quickly?
Questions to ask owners as regards maintenance?

Also, if you or someone you know has a low mileage unit to sell...you can PM me some info/contact.

Return to “TOYOTA”