People with 2 or more Masters Degrees working lowly admin jobs?

Postby desifemlove » March 12th, 2018, 5:01 pm

I've seen plenty of people like this. what's the motivation, and why is this allowed to continue?

fallen_angel

Re: why people wit two or mroe masters degrees wuking lowly admin jobs?

Postby fallen_angel » March 12th, 2018, 5:03 pm

you ask them if they doing that by choice?

Postby skylinechild » March 12th, 2018, 6:00 pm

desifemlove wrote:ive seen plenty of people like this. what's the motivation, and why is this allowed to continue?

cause maybe their qualifications not commanding the high salary they thought it would when they initially studied for the qualification.??

maybe ???

Re: People with 2 or more Masters Degrees working lowly admin jobs?

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2018, 6:02 pm

desifemlove wrote:I've seen plenty of people like this. what's the motivation, and why is this allowed to continue?

You have not seen anything as you live in the UK

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 12th, 2018, 6:04 pm

fallen_angel wrote:you ask them if they doing that by choice?

choice?

There are tons of people who either do that job or turn vagrant with their degrees, not much of a choice if you ask me.
GATE has made sure to devalue degrees to the point where there are too many degrees and too little jobs available.

Also lots of jobs will be replaced by AI and Robots in the future, nothing is safe, absolutely NOTHING. And just think the world population is increasing by hundreds of millions.

Postby Redman » March 12th, 2018, 6:51 pm

Qualifications and job availability

Two distinct things.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 12th, 2018, 7:00 pm

You ever see how much ah dem end up in ttps, fire etc etc...and a retarded minister say ohhh he shocked to see how much want to be a police

antlind

Postby antlind » March 12th, 2018, 7:02 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
fallen_angel wrote:you ask them if they doing that by choice?

GATE has made sure to devalue degrees to the point where there are too many degrees and too little jobs available.

Precisely !!!!!

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2018, 8:11 pm

8 inch ED femeny does have folk debating over chit.

The fool don't even live in trini.

Which clown have two masters working in a low paid job?

Postby sMASH » March 12th, 2018, 9:01 pm

desifemlove wrote:I've seen plenty of people like this. what's the motivation, and why is this allowed to continue?
If u saw them, did u bother to ask them? I'm sure they will tell u.

They are red and ready!

Postby eliteauto » March 12th, 2018, 9:08 pm

this thread is proof you can be educated and stupid at the same time

Postby Les Bain » March 12th, 2018, 9:10 pm

Spent some time working in HR. The pre-GATE tertiary level graduates aren't the same as post GATE. The degree mills then diluted that pool even further.

Best the next generation turn to learning trades to help us out this situation.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 12th, 2018, 9:27 pm

It's probably because people don't understand the relationship among formal education, professional development and related experience. There's a golden spot in this triangle and all components go hand in hand.

Two master's not gonna make much difference than one unless you're in academia. The first one is to get you an interview, the second one is probably because you're academically bored.

Postby The_Honourable » March 12th, 2018, 9:32 pm

Redman wrote:Qualifications and job availability

Two distinct things.

100%

We have people who just do a degree to say that they have a degree but had no plan behind it.

We also have people who are jack of all trades but master of none... one set of qualification as a big front but poor application.

Then you have degrees that has little to no benefit for the country. Someone says they have a Masters in Carnival or Gender Studies and tell me if you will take that person seriously.

Postby desifemlove » March 13th, 2018, 2:08 am

mr soon I seen it plenty. I know more about yuh country than you.

Postby zoom rader » March 13th, 2018, 2:54 am

desifemlove wrote:mr soon I seen it plenty. I know more about yuh country than you.
You know jack chit as usual.

Show me persons with two proper master degrees working in low paying jobs in trini

GameOver

Postby GameOver » March 13th, 2018, 5:16 am

There is an admin assistant at my organization that’s pretty close. Though I won’t call any job “lowly”. She has a degree in economics and her Mba. Started with the degree and got the Mba while she worked here. But it’s been 2 yrs. I believe she got an increase since but still only gets $6500 monthly. I think she can do better but the is no room for growth in the organization for her. My question is “does she want better?” I ask because she seems quite comfortable and I never heard that’s she is searching. I may be wrong but maybe people may not always want more

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 13th, 2018, 5:20 am

Constable with 5 cxc making more than she...so why all that study?? I know a man with a masters driving a blue mountain water truck

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 13th, 2018, 5:57 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Constable with 5 cxc making more than she...so why all that study?? I know a man with a masters driving a blue mountain water truck

Trades and hands on jobs seem to be making the most apart from the white collars. I know a guy driving a ramco truck making at least 20k a month and a woodworker pulling in at least 35k.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 13th, 2018, 6:35 am

Op speak of two masters etc...but where the masters coming from?? Them water down thing from costatt? I 75% sure people with 2 masters from uwi not struggling..

Postby dougla_boy » March 13th, 2018, 7:28 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Op speak of two masters etc...but where the masters coming from?? Them water down thing from costatt? I 75% sure people with 2 masters from uwi not struggling..

COSTAAT dont do masters..... :|

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 13th, 2018, 10:56 am

Why are online degrees allowed to continue?

GameOver

Postby GameOver » March 13th, 2018, 11:23 am

Zetski wrote:

I have heard so many arguments discrediting the validity of online and distance learning qualifications but most in cases they come from parties that were educated locally. In my opinion as an employer (I handled recruitment for my past and my present employer) where/how a degree or masters is earned has little impact on an individuals’ performance. Experience is a much more relevant measure of what to expect from a new employee and of greater influence in the selection process.

Point of interest as well, my sister’s MSc in OESH from UWI had no weight in the US.
I’m not suggesting that local accreditation’s are not excellent but simply attempting to bring some balance in the perception of both sources of qualification.

Postby zoom rader » March 13th, 2018, 1:25 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Op speak of two masters etc...but where the masters coming from?? Them water down thing from costatt? I 75% sure people with 2 masters from uwi not struggling..

OP does not live here and all he knows is what he reads on online and fishing for information

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 13th, 2018, 2:17 pm

A degree iz what u make it...

gencon

Postby gencon » March 13th, 2018, 4:15 pm

degree don't mean you entitled to anything, get out there and sweat like everybody else.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 13th, 2018, 5:02 pm

Zetski wrote:

What's the alternative? UWI? Uwi can't even pay salaries when the month come.

You do realise that "distance learning" degrees come from universities that are bigger and more recognised than UWI will ever be. I personally think that UWI should downsize and focus on the areas that they can provide specialist education on. Realistically speaking, why is UWI offering an MBA? What can UWI teach anyone about Business and Mangement and they themselves are not commercially viable.

Most universities are placing a greater focus on distance and online learning. Very few people will be required to be physically present in the classroom in the near future.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 13th, 2018, 8:13 pm

Oh gorrr people ah just wanted to agitate him...

UWI only good for their research data in the natural sciences... my brother is a third year doing a Bsc in Maths in UWI...i mean that is d worst degree to do unless yuh want to teach and he does constantly complain about how bad and outdated UWI.. their standards below average of how a university supposed to be.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 13th, 2018, 9:01 pm

Interesting tread here...anyone thinks since gate harder to access to jobs for the future would...

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 13th, 2018, 9:39 pm

Zetski wrote:Oh gorrr people ah just wanted to agitate him...

UWI only good for their research data in the natural sciences... my brother is a third year doing a Bsc in Maths in UWI...i mean that is d worst degree to do unless yuh want to teach and he does constantly complain about how bad and outdated UWI.. their standards below average of how a university supposed to be.

Hardluck bro....No harm meant.

The problem with UWI etc is that it never taught its students how to survive in the real world. Most global institutions create LEADERS out of their sutdents. These people possess critical thinking skills about the environment that they operate in. That's why we have so many graduates coming out of ALJ and yet still we have no business innovation or disruption taking place. Other MBA programs in the world create billionaires and multi millionaires out of their students and the companies they form etc.

Sidenote: Anyone who has not 1 but 2 masters and still concerned with just "finding a job" isn't serious about life. The main purpose of tertiary education is to increase the knowledge of the student. Take that knowledge and create something.