How good is massive audio

SYKO

Postby SYKO » March 6th, 2018, 3:29 pm

Guys wanna get some reviews if possible. Looking at a massive audio gtx 10 to use as a daily sub (currently use a skar audio vvx v2) will be on a SS picasso 600.1at the price point thr specs arn't looking bad.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 6th, 2018, 4:55 pm

You didn't like the skar? Had a vvx v2 12" on 1000rms as a daily and it was pretty good
Last edited by nick639v2 on March 6th, 2018, 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SYKO

Re: How good is massive audio

Postby SYKO » March 6th, 2018, 8:13 pm

I love the skar but the thing is, it's an 8. It was just fine before but i changed my mids amp and now bass suffering. So wanna go with a 10 or 12 but don't wanna break the bank.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 7th, 2018, 5:17 am

1 champion series pro and yuh baddddd

SYKO

Postby SYKO » March 7th, 2018, 12:07 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:1 champion series pro and yuh baddddd
Hahah oh gosh na. Never liked pioneer even tho i had like 5 at different times

Postby Rovin » March 7th, 2018, 2:20 pm

as a man mentioned pioneer subs : just a lil ole talk off topic but imho bang for buck from ever since nothing beats a pio

whether u like 1tone bass to deep lows it will play it , back in 2016 i tested a current 311 model 12 pio in a box i originally made for a rockford p3 tuned to 23hz & i was surprised on how good it sounded , not as silky as d RF [$550 sub to a $1300 sub] but i was impressed , it played every low note

few mths ago i did 10s & 12s tuned to 40hz & 38hz for sale in my shop & even at that high tuning it sounded decent for what it was ....

SYKO

Postby SYKO » March 7th, 2018, 8:13 pm

Hey thats great advice, its true cuz those play everything good enough and sometimes without proper power.
But still im looking for something different.
Im really eyeing DD or RF but really dont want to spend more than 1000 for sub n box

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 8th, 2018, 5:54 am

Orion xtr?

SYKO

Postby SYKO » March 8th, 2018, 10:11 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Orion xtr?
I heard the hcca but thats out my range for a daily. Will check the xtr tho

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » March 8th, 2018, 10:37 am

SYKO wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Orion xtr?
I heard the hcca but thats out my range for a daily. Will check the xtr tho

Dunno if it's available locally to you but the XTR pro line subs are pretty good (same basket as the HCCA's)

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 8th, 2018, 6:03 pm

1000$ for sub and box gonna be a tough one.

How much power you have to give the sub??

SYKO

Postby SYKO » March 8th, 2018, 7:53 pm

nick639v2 wrote:1000$ for sub and box gonna be a tough one.

How much power you have to give the sub??
I kno its somewhat tough. But depending on what it is i may increase. Getting some deals on newish atomic, re, ss and massive.
I have a ss picasso nano 600.1. So at most 600rms @1 ohm

Postby Rovin » March 8th, 2018, 10:15 pm

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=718680 sweet lows

scrape up 200 more for mdf , screws & glue ...

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 9th, 2018, 7:12 am

^^ I endorse that

SYKO

Postby SYKO » March 9th, 2018, 2:42 pm

Well ill try to pass tomorrow for a demo and see from there.

Postby Rovin » March 9th, 2018, 8:08 pm

well i dont have d p2 in box on demo but if u want to come view it up close its no problem

u shud check it online ... https://www.rockfordfosgate.com/product ... s/p2d2-12/

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 9th, 2018, 8:30 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:few mths ago i did 10s & 12s tuned to 40hz & 38hz for sale in my shop & even at that high tuning it sounded decent for what it was ....

Which versions - the Champion Pros? I just modeled the 12" Pioneer CP in the recommended vented box and it looks pretty decent for a car audio sub. It remains within its excursion limits up to above 600W (its rated RMS) all the way down to Fb.

Looks good in a sealed box too. Obviously with less low bass output, but with a FR curve that suggests that it will play all kinds of bass, instead of sounding like a one-note wonder.

Have you tried any of them out in a TL?

Postby Rovin » March 9th, 2018, 8:45 pm

https://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA ... ion+Series

261 & 311 both in d4 versions

never tried any in a TL : just slotport ...

Postby X_Factor » March 12th, 2018, 9:22 pm

hey, can u fit a 12?....around 2.5 cubes?
steves has the sale on the xpro 12 for 400.00
and the ts on it is pretty decent for the price
low fs, decent rms and xmax

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 12th, 2018, 10:02 pm

X_Factor wrote:hey, can u fit a 12?....around 2.5 cubes?
steves has the sale on the xpro 12 for 400.00
and the ts on it is pretty decent for the price
low fs, decent rms and xmax

Soundstream Xpro12? Qts is nice, but Xmax is low at 8.5mm. Still for $400TT, I'd grab it.

Hmm... those specs look like TL / TH territory. Time to run a few sims...

Vas=58.7 L
Qes = 0.389
Qms = 2.488
Qts = 0.337
Xmax=8.5mm
Fs=27.3 Hz

SYKO

Postby SYKO » March 13th, 2018, 9:43 am

Hey guys, been away for a couple days. Well i ended up trading my 8 for a 12 massive gtx. Getting alot more thump. This is a temporary fix till i cud organize sum better. Aim is to get a 12 dd in a t line box. So will definitely visit Rovin.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » March 13th, 2018, 11:09 am

has anyone ever tried the massive audio gtx 12" for daily use?
seeing a few people selling them.
how do they perform as compared to speakers within the same range 500-800 rms.

SYKO

Postby SYKO » March 13th, 2018, 11:16 am

ron_28 wrote:has anyone ever tried the massive audio gtx 12" for daily use?
Ill give some feed back on it as ive only had it 2 days. I have a dual 4 so its wired to 2ohms and rated at 750rms. My mono gives out about 400 rms at 2ohm. I still have to do some tweeking on the amp to get the levels right. So far its comparably to a sundown SD12 i had a couple years back.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 13th, 2018, 5:47 pm

Free-Air Resonance (Fs) 40.2 Hz
Equivalent Compliance (Vas) 23.5 liters
Total Speaker Q Value (Qts) 1.24 !!!!!!
Electrical Q Value (Qes) 1.56 !!!!!
Electrical Resistance of Voice Coil (Re) 3.4 ohms
Mechanical Q Value (Qms) 6.45

I'd be curious to what an in-car measurement of that speaker's response looks like. Qts looks really high.

SYKO

Postby SYKO » March 29th, 2018, 10:32 pm

Honesty this is like greek to me. Had the sub for a couple weeks now and its not bad at all. But the enclosure its in lets it dwn, i believe i need to widen port.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 29th, 2018, 11:22 pm

Brian Steele wrote:

Free-Air Resonance (Fs) 40.2 Hz
Equivalent Compliance (Vas) 23.5 liters
Total Speaker Q Value (Qts) 1.24 !!!!!!
Electrical Q Value (Qes) 1.56 !!!!!
Electrical Resistance of Voice Coil (Re) 3.4 ohms
Mechanical Q Value (Qms) 6.45

I'd be curious to what an in-car measurement of that speaker's response looks like. Qts looks really high.

Alot of people don't take notice to these parameters. Some of my best sounding subs are in the 0.5-0.65 Qts ranges.. this is indeed strange