Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

PariaMan

Re: Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

Postby PariaMan » April 14th, 2018, 4:23 pm

Installed reverse camera this week to go with my nrw android head unit, Best money I ever spent makes reversing a breeze

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 14th, 2018, 4:40 pm

Van looks nice, just the look I like, the lock and roll suits the van.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 14th, 2018, 6:28 pm

PariaMan wrote:Installed reverse camera this week to go with my nrw android head unit, Best money I ever spent makes reversing a breeze
Looking to this next.

Send me some info on this plz

Van kinda akward to drive...it turns way different from my previous van (d22 frontier)

Postby *KRONIK* » April 14th, 2018, 6:29 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Van looks nice, just the look I like, the lock and roll suits the van.
Thanks bro.
The roll n lock is nice
Its almost water proof and locks securely and the fitment is nice.
Tray has a sprayed on bedliner.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 14th, 2018, 11:33 pm

Anybody interested in a mazda hilux?
20180414_232841.jpg

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 15th, 2018, 4:06 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Anybody interested in a mazda hilux? 20180414_232841.jpg

I would be, if they would sell for Mazda price.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 16th, 2018, 9:00 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
kamakazi wrote:That is a 2012 front end...... Just saying
Looks decent man
Note that to change to 4wd the vehicle has to be in neutral
Yea
Not sure whats up with that.

And yea...neutral for 4wd
I think the vehicle was in D wen i tried to shift the 1st time.

Will take it on some gravel road tomorrow.

I read the manual for mines and its say switching to High 4 and High 2 can be done at low speed, but Low 4 yuh need to be in Neutral. The van is manual doh...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 16th, 2018, 9:01 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:

Hahahhaha! I saw this as well!

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 16th, 2018, 1:26 pm

ADONI wrote:
SNIPER 3000 wrote:

ADION you jump ship, Toyota now. Nice.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 16th, 2018, 1:37 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:
ADONI wrote:
SNIPER 3000 wrote:

ADION you jump ship, Toyota now. Nice.

Ahahhahaah, it around three years (only add on 17,000 km), as a spare and to head in a piece of bush with some Cocoa.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 16th, 2018, 4:22 pm

Took the hilux up matelot for a spin today.
I must say, i dont think i'll enjoy a drive like that in a car. It was so easy to power out of corners with little effort. Wifey say the ride was good and she does get travel sick on windy roads.

I wanted to take it for a spin unto some sand but i chickened out after driving in about 6feet and the van felt kinda bogged. So i put the the 4H and reversed out.
Maybe some day if i have company around with recovery gear.... i may take a chance.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 16th, 2018, 4:39 pm

^ shark river curry duck Lime awa?? That drive does be my stress reliever yes

Postby *KRONIK* » April 16th, 2018, 4:49 pm

nick639v2 wrote:^ shark river curry duck Lime awa?? That drive does be my stress reliever yes
Nah

Everytime i ask for time off from work...some crap does happen and i never get a break.
I decided to take a break by force.

I did stop at shark river to loaf around a bit. Wifey wanted to take pics.
Smh.

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2018, 5:39 pm

where allyuh buying oil/fuel filters for 1kd/2kd ?
Bobbys ?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 16th, 2018, 6:53 pm

I get the original oil filter for the 2kd in a normal parts place cunupia side. I use the mobile 1 oil. Air filters i use Sakura.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 16th, 2018, 7:16 pm

Oil filter - Valvoline V01 currently(bought a box from previous distributor)/Purolator PL 20195(Amazon) when other filters weren't available
Air filter - Sakura (most parts places)
Fuel filter - bought original from Filterproz and then from Repuauto

Still looking to find the cheapest 10w30 approved oil available
Currently using the cheapest approved 15w40 I have found (at about 100 a gallon)

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 17th, 2018, 6:59 am

kamakazi wrote:Oil filter - Valvoline V01 currently(bought a box from previous distributor)/Purolator PL 20195(Amazon) when other filters weren't available
Air filter - Sakura (most parts places)
Fuel filter - bought original from Filterproz and then from Repuauto

Still looking to find the cheapest 10w30 approved oil available
Currently using the cheapest approved 15w40 I have found (at about 100 a gallon)

Excellent price on the oil. What brand and where?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 17th, 2018, 10:04 am

There is a bit of a catch with the oil... It comes in a 20l pail for just about $500. Gulf super fleet supreme from Lange Chaguanas
Pouring is a bit challenging and it helps if you have gallon containers and a funnel

Postby pugboy » April 17th, 2018, 4:10 pm

I bought oil by the pail the other day
Poured it easy, bought a large plastic juice jug
And poured with the pail spout at the top so it tipped straight into the jug, didn't have to lift pail at all.
Jug pours easy into oil cover easy

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 17th, 2018, 5:48 pm

pugboy wrote:I bought oil by the pail the other day
And poured with the pail spout at the top so it tipped straight into the jug, didn't have to lift pail at all.
This pail is a bit different... It's not a bucket but a container...a bit tougher to pour

Postby *KRONIK* » April 17th, 2018, 6:38 pm

kamakazi wrote:
pugboy wrote:I bought oil by the pail the other day
This pail is a bit different... It's not a bucket but a container...a bit tougher to pour

How does this compare pricewise to using shell 15w40 deisel oil?

Postby pugboy » April 17th, 2018, 7:00 pm

It’s much cheaper
I got the pair of r4x shell for $690 I think

So $140/gal vs $100

I also put in a fumoto drain valve for less messy future changes
Need to find a hose also for the nipple under the filter lip

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 17th, 2018, 7:20 pm

I got one by peakes

Postby *KRONIK* » April 17th, 2018, 7:27 pm

Wheeeeyyyy....i have so much to learn...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 18th, 2018, 9:39 am

I does use original filters. Saw a substitute fuel filter head broke in the fuel filter cap, but those guys lack proper maintenance schedules. AIr filter I buy in any shop here. I buy oil and fuel on Ebay, usually in batches to save cost. Last price for the original fuel filter locally I got was real dollars, around $250 to $375 vs US$20 on ebay. Using Shell Rimula R4X, thinking of switching to the R6.

Just remember the diff is GL5 oil, everything else is GL4. Doh do like me and was morney with GL5 in everything....

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 18th, 2018, 2:31 pm

Am...gl5 can be had on the cheap ... I purchased a case(12 quarts) of Valvoline 80w90 for about $650... But that was before the new distributors take over.
Gl4 on the other hand is pretty rear and currently carries the heftier price tag.
The transfer case I believe is the only thing that asks for lighter oil like 75w85 but I didn't have time to hunt that down so I using mobil1 75w90 in that.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 18th, 2018, 2:45 pm

Allyuh go have to do some breakdown and explaining to me about these filters etc.

Firstly, the oil filter for the 1kd
Whats the part#?

I wanna shop around and see where has the best price.

Also, air filter: whats the part # for the sakura filter?

Finally, the fuel filter: all my other deisel vehicles i had previously used to carry a sakura filter which we change at every oil change (5000kms)
Is there a sakura filter for the hilux or do i keep using OEM?
The van currently has an OEM filter on it.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 18th, 2018, 4:03 pm

Fuel filter original 23390-0L041
It is a cartridge type replacement... Usually replace when the light on your dashboard comes on... There are two fuel warning lights on your dashboard one for low fuel and the other for the filter/water warning. no service interval recommended in manual. I think the driver side visor has information. https://goo.gl/images/8u3hPo.
Drain it every oil change... open valve at base, place some rags, get a cup, pump until you mainly see diesel coming out.
I advise OEM for the fuel filter. It is time to change when that light comes on solid or the vehicle cuts off by itself. My current filter is in there for 30000kms and counting... My last one didn't last past 15000kms before the dash light came on (dirty diesel)

Sakura air filter A-5903.

Toyota oil filter 90915-20004/I think the 90915-yzzd3 is similar. Can't really say. I currently use Valvoline V01 and before I used PL 20195 from Purolator (from Amazon).

Postby *KRONIK* » April 18th, 2018, 4:36 pm

Yes
I did see 2 options on the visor:
1) drain filter and manually pump up the fuel
2) go to dealer

Thanks for the other filter info

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 18th, 2018, 4:37 pm

The dealer option is to replace the filter
Which you can do yourself... There is a method to reset the light... When you reach that bridge let me know or you can search on the Google.

Return to “TOYOTA”