Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Postby Rovin » April 24th, 2018, 1:20 pm

so doh play u eh know & cuss up d cashiers dem for charging u for bags :lol:

i bet they more concerned with d $ savings to their bank acct than d environment ... :|

http://www.looptt.com/content/massy-sto ... ags-july-4

From July 4, 2018, Massy Stores Trinidad announced that customers will be charged 50 cents for each shopping bag they use.

The measure was brought about in an attempt to cut down on the use of plastic bags.

The change takes place the day after International Plastic Bag Free Day which occurs on July 3, 2018.

The company is encouraging customers to bring their reusable shopping bags instead.

eurotuner

Re: Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Postby eurotuner » April 24th, 2018, 1:24 pm

Very good about time.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 24th, 2018, 1:34 pm

Not affected...I to poor to shop deh

Postby Dizzy28 » April 24th, 2018, 1:56 pm

They should donate all the "savings" from the bags (ppl not taking them and charging ppl for them) so as to show they not only in it for the money they saving. Ideally to an environmental based charity.

killercow

Postby killercow » April 24th, 2018, 1:56 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Not affected...I to poor to shop deh

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 24th, 2018, 1:56 pm

Still the cheapest garbage bag!

Postby MaxPower » April 24th, 2018, 2:05 pm

Good good,

I see very little ghetto rats loitering around steupsin at prices...hopefully this move will get them out completely....one is too many...

Daran

Postby Daran » April 24th, 2018, 2:16 pm

excellent idea. Trinis abuse plastics worse than most.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » April 24th, 2018, 2:25 pm

Sounds good, wonder if they'll start packaging their bread and pastries in brown paper bags.

Postby Rovin » April 24th, 2018, 2:40 pm

i doh shop there , mostly buy their bread not kisss air bread

cud walk with meh plastic bag in meh pocket so no scene ...

Postby Les Bain » April 24th, 2018, 2:42 pm

What i go throw away my manscape shavings in now?

Postby De Dragon » April 24th, 2018, 2:54 pm

Profit driven. If they really were doing it for the environment, they'd have done like PriceSmart, and just do away with plastic bags altogether. No need for the pretence of a charge as a deterrent, because most people will not mind and or notice a 3-5 dollar charge.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 24th, 2018, 2:57 pm

Well watch how trolley boy gonna have to carry meh ping pong and corn curls to the car

Postby crazybalhead » April 24th, 2018, 3:13 pm

"The carrier bag charge has made a big difference. Since we introduced the scheme, the number of bags used has gone down by more than 80 percent in England. This means that more than nine billion fewer plastic bags have been used."

https://www.gov.uk/government/publicati ... -5p-charge

Postby Gem_in_i » April 24th, 2018, 3:15 pm

De Dragon wrote:Profit driven. If they really were doing it for the environment, they'd have done like PriceSmart, and just do away with plastic bags altogether. No need for the pretence of a charge as a deterrent, because most people will not mind and or notice a 3-5 dollar charge.

This.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 24th, 2018, 3:27 pm

It always is profit driven since businesses were designed to make money. I mean though are they giving you free paper bags?

The government should ban plastic bags on the whole. As a matter of fact they should do the same with food boxes, the only food box and bags allowed should be paper based.

Trinis do not know how to use a trash bin so since Trinis are going to litter no matter what atleast let us make it biodegradable.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 24th, 2018, 4:02 pm

welcome this change.... make use of reusable bags..
Massey is the market leader will have the other smaller supermarket chains will follow suit.

Postby redmanjp » April 24th, 2018, 7:56 pm

I thought all plastic grocery bags nowadays were biodegradable

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 24th, 2018, 8:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:I thought all plastic grocery bags nowadays were biodegradable

Not in Trinidad thats for sure.

I don't see why they can't provide free paper bags, it's not like this would stop people from paying the 50 cents for the plastic bag. People who shop massy have plenty money and rich people are generally more educated and are less likely to litter and more likely to recycle!!!

Postby paid_influencer » April 24th, 2018, 8:23 pm

serious question: anyone know of any wholesale or bulk purchase supplier of grocery-bag sized paper brown bags?

the small doubles bag size should be easy to find. but i looking for the big ones with straps.

Postby hydroep » April 24th, 2018, 8:30 pm

Cut down on the use of plastic bags my arse, they just looking to pass another cost onto the consumer.

Trini's will complain and then pay it...as usual...:|

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 24th, 2018, 8:56 pm

paid_influencer wrote:serious question: anyone know of any wholesale or bulk purchase supplier of grocery-bag sized paper brown bags?

the small doubles bag size should be easy to find. but i looking for the big ones with straps.

Sheik Lisa

Postby Redman » April 24th, 2018, 9:03 pm

Massy uses 22 m of these bags per year.

They pay less than 15 cents for one.

They have been pushing to go green on all their packaging since the rebranding.

Postby Gem_in_i » April 24th, 2018, 9:04 pm

I stored some items in massy plastic bags and after about a year when I went to get the things, the plastic bags crumbled like flakes.

Postby maj. tom » April 24th, 2018, 9:20 pm

So are they offering branded reusable cloth bags in store for say... $5 TTD?

You know a lot of places tried this plastic bag tax (5 cents USD per plastic bag) and then they gave up after a number of years because it didn't work. People would always pay the tax just to have something to carry their goods. But all the stores offered their reusable branded bag in store for like $1 USD and that's what helped combat plastic bags. They just never offered any plastic bags at check out and only had the reusable cloth ones for sale. The customer was forced to save the environment. Paper wastes trees, recycled paper causes double bagging and nulling the effect.

When Pricesmart now opened in Chaguanas they tried it, I had got one and it lasted years!

Postby nemisis » April 24th, 2018, 9:32 pm

Just remember to leave their Plastic at the cashier and styrofoam while you at it.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 24th, 2018, 9:43 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:I stored some items in massy plastic bags and after about a year when I went to get the things, the plastic bags crumbled like flakes.

it supposed to do that, better it exist as flakes than a solid sheet just floating there in the ocean waiting to clog an animal's throat.

plus when it's in a water way it can get caught up easily and trap even more debris.

Plastic flakes are harmful in their own way though, hadda compromise somewhere

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » April 24th, 2018, 10:04 pm

but I thought bags were not allowed in the grocery due to shop lifting?

Lance

Postby Lance » April 25th, 2018, 6:31 am

crazybalhead wrote:"The carrier bag charge has made a big difference. Since we introduced the scheme, the number of bags used has gone down by more than 80 percent in England. This means that more than nine billion fewer plastic bags have been used."

https://www.gov.uk/government/publicati ... -5p-charge

The UK example is Law but it isn't a tax. Even so, the gov't expects that retailers will use the proceeds to fund good causes and projects- and they provide annual data to show what the retailers do with the income.

What does Massy plan to do with the funds?

I'm positive that Massy has a great deal of consumer data and they have the Trinidadian shopper modelled to perfection. They know that many (most) will see this as a minor inconvenience and will over time continue to maintain their current bag usage.

If Massy doesn't have a structure for how it plans to use this income, then it seems like this is just a ploy to extract economic rent while portraying itself as the environmental white knight.

Postby Gem_in_i » April 25th, 2018, 6:35 am

maj. tom wrote:So are they offering branded reusable cloth bags in store for say... $5 TTD?

You know a lot of places tried this plastic bag tax (5 cents USD per plastic bag) and then they gave up after a number of years because it didn't work. People would always pay the tax just to have something to carry their goods. But all the stores offered their reusable branded bag in store for like $1 USD and that's what helped combat plastic bags. They just never offered any plastic bags at check out and only had the reusable cloth ones for sale. The customer was forced to save the environment. Paper wastes trees, recycled paper causes double bagging and nulling the effect.

When Pricesmart now opened in Chaguanas they tried it, I had got one and it lasted years!

Saw they had bags. Definitely not $5 and not sure if its cloth.