Re: Mountain Biking

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 27th, 2018, 8:43 am

Fall in anytime.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 7th, 2018, 1:48 pm

Looking for someone to tune my son bike a haro, the front gears not shifting properly.
Thanks.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 7th, 2018, 3:17 pm

If you're from south, check Brent Edmund - he sorted out some shifting issues I had on my specialized earlier this year (I screwed it up when cleaning)

Xterra Cycles and Outdoor Sports
Bicycle Store
+1 868-727-1828 • Main
#58 Cipero Street, Gooding Village, San Fernando, Trinidad & Tobago

Postby ismithx » May 7th, 2018, 6:29 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Looking for someone to tune my son bike a haro, the front gears not shifting properly.
Thanks.

sure it don't just need adjusting?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 7th, 2018, 7:53 pm

Carried it to bike inn east side, good service prices.
Thanks

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 7th, 2018, 7:55 pm

If any one is interested have a Fuji for sale. Working excellent, also carried it in for a service today.
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=726870

Looking get a specialized.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 18th, 2018, 12:52 am

the distance is actually 37.8km, somehow the GPS had no signal in the forested area.
3FC54C47-CEA2-4D4B-9F6F-F6D64EA6636E.png

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 18th, 2018, 10:28 am

nice ride!

Off the saddle this week, got the flu and can't breathe without a coughing fit that feels like I'm getting stabbed.
Sucks

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 18th, 2018, 6:53 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:nice ride!

Off the saddle this week, got the flu and can't breathe without a coughing fit that feels like I'm getting stabbed.
Sucks

Drink some bush

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 29th, 2018, 9:03 pm

Got my first "incident" on sunday.
picked up a piece of broken glass, got a leak in the rear.
Didnt know until the bike starting 'winding' with little handle input.

Was 20k from home, called the wife to pick me up.
Patched it myself at home, will see if it holds out to ride again weekend.

Realized in need some stocks, so I went to blueskycycling and bought some stuff.

My underseat storage zipper broke, so I bought new one, plus a front bag.
Got some front and rear bolt on fenders, because rainy season is back and riding in the wet sucks when road water keeps blowing onto my freaking face.

Got a couple spare tubes and an extra repair kit. Also got a vulcanization kit at my village shop for 30tt.
Also wore my handlegrips down, so picked up a set of ODI's; and I scored some front and rear lights for cheap.
My gloves are also ripping, so picked up a replacement set.

Maybe I went a little nuts, but it's stuff that I really need.
Everything came up to a hair over 150usd, which is probably half the price i'd pay locally for these things.

Postby ismithx » May 30th, 2018, 6:41 am

Tubes and repair kits cheap locally tho. 30 a tube and less than 100 for a patch kit. Please don't ride without at least a spare tube

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 30th, 2018, 9:49 am

yup, I know. The tubes were really an add-on more than anything.
Bought puncture resistant tubes, 2 for 15usd. regular tubes were about half that price.

Gloves, grips, storage and fenders were what I really wanted.

Now that I have some additional storage, I will ride with a patch kit as well as a spare tube :)

Here's a good tip for those riding alone.

Use Glympse to share your live location with someone so that they can at least see where you are at any given point in time.
https://glympse.com/what-is-glympse

I know my estimated riding time, so I usually set it for an hour extra. It's not a major drain on your phone battery. With my phone, using Glympse for 4 hours usually drops it to 75% or so from a full charge.

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » June 15th, 2018, 9:45 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Looking for someone to tune my son bike a haro, the front gears not shifting properly.
Thanks.

That is where i get my bikes serviced, Sniper, Xterra Cycles and Outdoor Sport. So if yuh looking for good service check them out.

https://www.google.tt/maps/place/Xterra ... authuser=0

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 24th, 2018, 5:48 pm

Went riding today and meh brand new rear light fall out. :\
well that's a 8usd down de drain

STEUPS

bottom bracket really knocking now

Postby 16 cycles » June 25th, 2018, 2:42 pm

get that bike serviced if you have bottom bracket creak...

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 25th, 2018, 3:01 pm

Creak is joke.

Thing knocking like a ej20 with a thrown rod on every stroke.

Postby 16 cycles » June 25th, 2018, 4:42 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Creak is joke.

Thing knocking like a ej20 with a thrown rod on every stroke.

if its an fsaBB - change out to a shimano one time....my bike came with a mega EXO FSA -creaked from the start - changed to a shimano (12usd) - lasted ~2 yrs / 3000mi

Postby ismithx » June 25th, 2018, 6:19 pm

yeah, cycling is one those things where it pays to buy brand name components...

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 25th, 2018, 7:31 pm

Agreed. I've put more kms on this bike in one year than I did for my entire teenage years. Had a cheapo bike back then and was a world of headache.
This is a pretty good unit with great quality components from factory. All Shimano hydro brake and shift components. I actually wore the handgrips down smooth with use. Replaced with silicone odi.
I'll check Mike's for the bottom bracket fix that is beyond my comfort level to open

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 25th, 2018, 7:36 pm

I get to old for this shyt.......got a mountain bike for Xmas from the bro, it in ah box still need someone to mount it up for me, sangre grande 316 0908...and possibly install the caliper type brake system for the rear

blacklight

Postby blacklight » June 25th, 2018, 7:39 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:I get to old for this shyt.......got a mountain bike for Xmas from the bro, it in ah box still need someone to mount it up for me, sangre grande 316 0908...and possibly install the caliper type brake system for the rear
Carry it to bike inn tunapuna and they should sort you out

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 25th, 2018, 10:14 pm

Nah looking for someone to come home

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 27th, 2018, 11:30 am

please take part in this survey

https://survey.app.do/b-2343279

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » July 27th, 2018, 10:10 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:If any one is interested have a Fuji for sale. Working excellent, also carried it in for a service today.

Why not try a Felt. Available at Xterra Cycles and Outdoor Sports.

https://xterra-cycles-and-outdoor-sport ... te/?m=true

https://www.feltbicycles.com/USA.aspx

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » July 28th, 2018, 10:07 pm

nutty4u2c wrote:
SNIPER 3000 wrote:If any one is interested have a Fuji for sale. Working excellent, also carried it in for a service today.

Why not try a Felt. Available at Xterra Cycles and Outdoor Sports.

https://xterra-cycles-and-outdoor-sport ... te/?m=true

https://www.feltbicycles.com/USA.aspx

Message me some prices nutty.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 14th, 2018, 9:20 pm

Coast to Coast ride
Waterloo to Manzan.
I just registered, anyone going?
It'll be a hard push for me since it's outside my comfort zone, but it's doable.

https://www.facebook.com/events/616414718755030/

Postby Redman » September 15th, 2018, 7:59 am

Thats death for cockroach.
I will stick in meh lane with my little 15-20k rides in Palmiste.

Postby shogun » September 15th, 2018, 12:51 pm

Redman wrote:Thats death for cockroach.
I will stick in meh lane with my little 15-20k rides in Palmiste.

:lol: Agreed. Same here.

Keep us updated on how goes it Vexxx Dogg.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 15th, 2018, 1:04 pm

they have several stops along the way plus police escort.
Have to cross this off my riding bucket list!