Wtk: reviews on any double din deck with android auto

Postby *KRONIK* » August 9th, 2018, 1:09 pm

Looking for a dvd deck with android auto.
I see pioneer, kenwood and sony all have options around the same price point.
Any reviews or advice on any particular models or possibles issues.

It doesnt need to have all the bells and whistles as there wont be any thing besides some replacement speakers being added to it.

I really want it for phone connectivity/screen mirroring/navigation app use and reverse camera.

Also, whats are the options for low profile reverse cameras?
Not them big ugly thing that people does screw up over the number plate.
Its for a pick up, so either a tailgate mount or simple numberplate area/bumper mount.

Kyle_9449

Re: Wtk: reviews on any double din deck with android auto

Postby Kyle_9449 » August 9th, 2018, 6:33 pm

It works as expected and it's great! ...I have the
AVH-2440NEX about a week now and so far everything working good. No more flash drive...is only Android auto I using now :lol: I onky use Google maps and it work as expected so I think you won't have any problems if you choose to go with pioneer. I never test and video yet so I can't comment on the video aspect of things and well for camera I have the pioneer ND-BC8 but I don't really like it's profile but the quality is good but not great so you should look elsewhere for a camera (I bought a deck and camera bundle online)
I had my deck and camera installed by Kren Technologies and they can get pioneer NEX decks for you if you don't want purchase online and tbh it would come up to around the same ammount as buying it down here just you won't get the 40 models

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2018, 7:26 pm

I saw an article where an android developer couldn't find a head unit that he liked so he mounted a tablet dock to his IP and used android open acessory protocol to route audio through the head unit.

AOA let him control streaming channel presets and select music files on the tablet. Voice control and touch for phone and apps still worked. Gmaps directions came through the speakers.

He didn't do anything special... he said the hard part was getting a compatible AOA HU.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 9th, 2018, 10:04 pm

Kyle_9449 wrote:It works as expected and it's great! ...I have the
AVH-2440NEX about a week now and so far everything working good. No more flash drive...is only Android auto I using now I onky use Google maps and it work as expected so I think you won't have any problems if you choose to go with pioneer. I never test and video yet so I can't comment on the video aspect of things and well for camera I have the pioneer ND-BC8 but I don't really like it's profile but the quality is good but not great so you should look elsewhere for a camera (I bought a deck and camera bundle online)
I had my deck and camera installed by Kren Technologies and they can get pioneer NEX decks for you if you don't want purchase online and tbh it would come up to around the same ammount as buying it down here just you won't get the 40 models
Thanks for the info

PM me the contact infor for the place you purchased yours.

I prefer to buy locally in case there is any problem. Sometimes these things hive problems upon start up. You cant check if buy them online and returns can be a hassle.

I will look around for a neat surface mount camera.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 9th, 2018, 10:05 pm

adnj wrote:I saw an article where an android developer couldn't find a head unit that he liked so he mounted a tablet dock to his IP and used android open acessory protocol to route audio through the head unit.

AOA let him control streaming channel presets and select music files on the tablet. Voice control and touch for phone and apps still worked. Gmaps directions came through the speakers.

He didn't do anything special... he said the hard part was getting a compatible AOA HU.
I saw a couple installs using android tablets. But at the end of the day...i dont see the need to go thru all that drama.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 10th, 2018, 10:07 am

Bought the AVH-2400 NEX from team2lo2flo.
Nice unit, good features.

My only issue (non-issue, really) is that the factory reverse camera was integrated because I don't like the aftermarket cameras, and for some reason I lost the parking lines.

Didn't use the screen mirroring yet, now playing with spotify over bluetooth on the road and it's pretty cool.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 10th, 2018, 10:16 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Bought the AVH-2400 NEX from team2lo2flo.

My only issue (non-issue, really) is that the factory reverse camera was integrated because I don't like the aftermarket cameras, and for some reason I lost the parking lines.

Didn't use the screen mirroring yet, now playing with spotify over bluetooth on the road and it's pretty cool.
Play with the thing nah man...and lemme get a review

Was looking at team2lo2flo as my purchasing option

Does he provide any warranty?

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » August 10th, 2018, 10:53 am

Yes, 3Months warranty

Postby *KRONIK* » August 10th, 2018, 10:56 am

Team2lo2flo wrote:Yes, 3Months warranty
Excellent

I just messaged on the deck sale thread.

I looking for the 2400nex
Dash harness for a hilux
Antenna adapter
And spacers for the sides as its the old sqaure design toyota deck

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » August 10th, 2018, 11:36 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
Team2lo2flo wrote:Yes, 3Months warranty
Excellent

I just messaged on the deck sale thread.

I looking for the 2400nex
Dash harness for a hilux
Antenna adapter
And spacers for the sides as its the old sqaure design toyota deck

No problem, I have everything you need in stock

You can call/whatsapp me when you are ready

784 4284

Postby *KRONIK* » August 16th, 2018, 8:01 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Bought the AVH-2400 NEX from team2lo2flo.

Any luck with the android auto?

I get mih thing sort out....

20180816_161610.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 16th, 2018, 8:13 pm

yea I plug it in and it works with no fuss!
waze, music player, the works.
loving it.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 16th, 2018, 10:41 pm

Pressure...i cant seem to find the app to dowload

Postby *KRONIK* » August 17th, 2018, 10:12 am

So....update:
I wasnt finding the android auto app as there was some kinda "region" block
Ended up searching for the .apk elsewhere and found it.

Installed it and everything works.
Waze and google maps.

Liking the fact that you can set separate volums for the nav and the radio and that the nav guidance can fade in and out of the radio without being to intrusive.

Phone use still a bit awkward, maybe cuz i accustomed nagivating calls by phone 1st, then bluetooth.

But so far...i liking it

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 17th, 2018, 8:55 pm

yea I should have mentioned that.
apkmirror.com
my bad.
I use it for everything I can't find on app store :)

Postby *KRONIK* » August 17th, 2018, 8:56 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:yea I should have mentioned that.
apkmirror.com
my bad.
I use it for everything I can't find on app store :)
Smh...

Lol