Passat troubles--a/c & door

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

beatrix is back

Passat troubles--a/c & door

Postby beatrix is back » July 21st, 2010, 2:10 pm

Hey,

I've been having some problems with my doors in the passat...the drivers door is givng toruble to open and i usualy have to give it a lil kick before it clicks..then i can open it...my mechanic is always busy, so.any suggestions i can try before caryring it in? the front passenger is starting to do the same now and then...

anyone knows any good a/c people for VW??? the tubing going through...

thanks in advance

Gool

Re: Passat troubles--a/c & door

Postby Gool » July 24th, 2010, 11:16 am

Euro A/C man. Thorough and experienced. Plus he has all the special tools etc.

Darren
650-3864

Bugsy2000

Postby Bugsy2000 » July 24th, 2010, 10:57 pm

I have the same door trouble on my bug. everyone i take it to says that the only solution is to replace the door lock actuator and that it cannot be fixed. unfortunately i find it very hard to pay $1,800 plus for a door lock actuator. is there anyone out there who knows how to repair these?

I guess that it may be easier for you to buy one from someone who is scrapping a passat. I'm sure that you would get it alot cheaper.

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » July 25th, 2010, 5:48 pm

My a/c, passat 1.8T have not been pushing cold air on hot days this week, especially in steady traffic. Only @ nights and cool dayz. Even though the ride is awesome, most likely my thermostat is going bad, ordered a complete kit - will change everything when it arrives. (May even order an A/C fan, so I won't go back in there -(knocking wood). The soldering on the doors are probably broken/worn, it goes after a time with the older Vw's, when you give it a lil kick it probably makes contact - a steady hand to weld it, is all that needs and some patients in removing the inner door panels. These weren't made by the VW company but by their partners around the globe. Most T&T mechanics prefer to change the entire unit instead. Make sure your stone shield is on for the weather and all water run off are cleared - there is a one behind the battery bay, these cars are loaded with sensors. Oh!!!! And if your mechanic is too b z, take it somewhere-else, atleast he could of made an appointment - he doesn't need the job.

bcozier

Postby bcozier » August 6th, 2010, 8:23 am

I feel ur pain with that door story, my bora front passenger door is giving that same trouble, no solution so far, my straighner say that he could fix it....but time is the next issue

With regard to the A/C problems i replaced my compressor by Felix Air Conditioning, Mon Repos Street, San Fernando, 653-4649...u can call an make an appointment. I did mine in 2008, no problem since

vagues

Postby vagues » August 10th, 2010, 11:36 am

hey the problem for d a/c mite be 3 things
1. Check and see if the motor spinning....if not well yuh have to get an a/c fan motor (which is d one on yuh left if yuh stand in front d car)

2. yuh hadda check the relay to dat same motor......the relay is to step up the current if its not doin dat well the motor wont come on.....

3. it have something called the pressure switch wich actuallys puts on and off the compressor...dat can be faulty so you mite have to change it....it cannot be repaired....and it cheap too...around 450-600

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » August 10th, 2010, 2:09 pm

...good stuff here.

beatrix is back

Postby beatrix is back » August 31st, 2010, 10:49 pm

OMG...I didnt think anyone would have replied so fas...thank u thank u thank u....first thing tomorrow i've got some calling around to do...thanks guys!!

I'd hate to hear they cant fix the door problem..cuase i hardly even use the passanger door..and now i need to give it a good knee if i need to open it...

also what i see happenin now too with the back left door....i need to lock the car before startng....if i dont..the back left door keeps trying to lock everytime i pull off...and it doesnt lock at all..unless i lock before starting...i asked someoe they said $3500 to fix....LOL....i think i need to win the 13m lotto to fix this car.....steups...

vagues

Postby vagues » September 1st, 2010, 5:44 pm

hey well for the door the best advice i can give u is to buy ah bottle of wd 40 and spray the handles and and click on the door............on all doors .....and it have something call silicone spray.35-40 dollars and yuh spraying the rubbers on yuh windows and moving yuh glass up and down while yuh doin dat...........sometimes its jus dirt build up and people tryin to rob ah por man bcuz yuh drivinn ah nice car...........

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » September 1st, 2010, 9:06 pm

...if that fails take off the inner panel and inspect. Make a cup of coffee and make sure you have time..
The rear doors are the easiest.
See here for solutions: http://www.taligentx.com/passat/mainten ... mechanism/

beatrix is back

Postby beatrix is back » September 7th, 2010, 2:26 pm

thanks..i gonna see Felix Air conditionin in the moring...

i tried the wd40 already...it didnt work...but two long weekends comin up so i would try the other options on the door

will let u know how it goes....

thanks guys!!

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » September 8th, 2010, 10:43 am

pm sent

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » October 10th, 2011, 3:03 pm

Any resolution to the Door Lock Actuator issue. 3 of mine gone! VW Bora 2001

Stig786

Postby Stig786 » October 14th, 2011, 10:07 pm

The drivers side door on my Passat just went there is no other solution than to get a new actuator (see link below)

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VW-PASSAT-LEFT- ... 5ae2d7a09c

because to open it an solder the board on the lock is very tricky and you need someone who knows

EXACTLY what their doing and so far there's no one down there that does it to my knowledge even

@ Best Auto their only option is to break the lock and replace it once the door is stuck closed....

If not you can try this :

Mazdout wrote:...if that fails take off the inner panel and inspect. Make a cup of coffee and make sure you have time..
The rear doors are the easiest.
See here for solutions: http://www.taligentx.com/passat/mainten ... mechanism/" target="_blank

badghost

Postby badghost » October 20th, 2011, 5:04 pm

has any one been Successful in doing this repair?? ??

its Really Tuff to take out the window glasssss! (dont take the chance if u do not know what ur doing!))

badghost

Postby badghost » October 31st, 2011, 9:28 pm

welllll? I gess thats No...

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » October 31st, 2011, 9:48 pm

@ badghost fingers crossed some one will answer.....

marcusrcr

Postby marcusrcr » October 13th, 2016, 12:05 am

Anyone found someone who can change the actuator?

marcusrcr

Postby marcusrcr » December 1st, 2016, 7:57 pm

.....--~*\^/*~--....

rentdresfyw

View first unread post

Postby rentdresfyw » December 4th, 2016, 9:33 am

Here they come:
This was also, surprisingly, the first coin I found in circulation with the new European side.
Apart from this, the only other one in found in circulation is a German 20 eurocents from the Berlin Mint A

DAppleMan

Postby DAppleMan » December 5th, 2016, 10:32 pm

Someone who repairs the locks Mattew 308-2696

greedyspeedy

Postby greedyspeedy » January 31st, 2017, 7:49 pm

there is a guy in derrick road chase village just after the bridge which is after central concrete but only on saturday mornings he fixed my VW Bora which had the same problems

MrJWW

Postby MrJWW » July 14th, 2017, 10:28 am

greedyspeedy wrote:there is a guy in derrick road chase village just after the bridge which is after central concrete but only on saturday mornings he fixed my VW Bora which had the same problems

Good Day,

By chance do you have a number for this guy? My Door locks are playing up.. VW Passat (B5)

DAppleMan

Postby DAppleMan » August 11th, 2018, 11:28 pm

MrJWW wrote:
greedyspeedy wrote:there is a guy in derrick road chase village just after the bridge which is after central concrete but only on saturday mornings he fixed my VW Bora which had the same problems

Good Day,

By chance do you have a number for this guy? My Door locks are playing up.. VW Passat (B5)

Someone who repairs the locks Mattew 308-2696 this is the guy in Derick road but he move to mc bean

dclone_1

Postby dclone_1 » August 12th, 2018, 12:50 am

DAppleMan wrote:Someone who repairs the locks Mattew 308-2696
What is the average cost to do the job?

DAppleMan

Postby DAppleMan » August 12th, 2018, 7:35 am

dclone_1 wrote:
DAppleMan wrote:Someone who repairs the locks Mattew 308-2696