T&T Earthquake Thread

antlind

Re: EARTHQUAKE!!!

Postby antlind » August 21st, 2018, 9:39 pm

K74T wrote:Legas heading out

I almost cried when I saw the damage to that car. Sorry for that dude.

Postby aaron17 » August 21st, 2018, 9:41 pm

What kinda car is that?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » August 21st, 2018, 9:42 pm

This was the strongest i felt in my life, it was ridiculous in the West. Damn thing didn't want to stop and kept getting stronger. I ended up on the lawn outside, along with all my neighbours.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » August 21st, 2018, 9:44 pm

antlind wrote:

I almost cried when I saw the damage to that car. Sorry for that dude.

Is a girl who own the legacy

http://www.looptt.com/content/crushed-c ... earthquake

Postby Dizzy28 » August 21st, 2018, 9:44 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Michael Knight... wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Uwi dude said this wasnt the "big one"

What?!!!

Not for us at least, more like Venezuela. If the epicenter of a 7.3 was on Trinidad coast it would have been though- we would have gone the way of Haiti in 2010!
This earthqukae was also pretty deep compared to the Haiti one. USGS had a depth of over 100kms at one point.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2018, 9:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I was on flat ground when it happened, the whole ground started rocking and I fell down. Felt like a 9.0 or something

The Richter scale is logarithmic, which means that a 9 might be 100 times strong er. That would have collapsed your house and killed you.

For me it was very strong, was in POS on the sixth floor of a building when it started, first gentle, then stronger. I went under a desk when I thought it was over, it started to get even stronger! Was telling ah coworker nearby to duck under too.

78f41eab-ae15-489e-b455-651ebf1dc681.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2018, 9:53 pm

this must have been scary!!!

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 9:55 pm

That looking like M4 refining column...

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 10:07 pm

After shock just a minute ago...

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 21st, 2018, 10:12 pm

Na me ent feel nun

Postby Les Bain » August 21st, 2018, 10:13 pm

Checked the security cam footage. Lasted a minute and a half and intensified toward the end. The car was dancing about like a lowrider and the 1000 gal tank stayed swaying a good 15 seconds after the tremor was done.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 21st, 2018, 10:21 pm

And that right there is what makes a Subaru a Subaru..

Postby Morpheus » August 21st, 2018, 10:30 pm

LoL no eh. Most cars would have driven off. The engine, drivetrain and suspension weren't hit. That's all you need.
Dare I say, even a Tiida would have driven off

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 21st, 2018, 10:42 pm

Devils Woodyard erupted yet again ....

rebound

Postby rebound » August 21st, 2018, 10:50 pm

Morpheus wrote:LoL no eh. Most cars would have driven off. The engine, drivetrain and suspension weren't hit. That's all you need.
Dare I say, even a Tiida would have driven off
true....but ah cockroach iz ah next story eh...

Postby K74T » August 21st, 2018, 11:07 pm

“Guyana felt a quakeearth.”

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 21st, 2018, 11:16 pm

People in trinidad don't understand the richter scale nah...

Actually people in Trinidad eh understand much...

Postby The_Honourable » August 21st, 2018, 11:21 pm

Epicenters were different but... yeah carry on...

xtech

Postby xtech » August 21st, 2018, 11:38 pm

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 21st, 2018, 11:39 pm

Felt nothing

Daran

Postby Daran » August 21st, 2018, 11:51 pm

Monkey Man wrote:Image

People in trinidad don't understand the richter scale nah...

Actually people in Trinidad eh understand much...

My point, people telling me it felt stronger than a 7, please what we felt was probably how the epicentre of a 6 feels at most.

Postby matr1x » August 22nd, 2018, 12:35 am

Marlene McDonald finally fall down.

Postby teems1 » August 22nd, 2018, 1:09 am

The Richter scale is exponential. Difference between a 7.0 to a 6.9 isn't the same as a 6.9 to 6.8

Also the depth and epicenter for Haiti was far worse than today.

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2018, 2:52 am

Just observing people's reactions...it was funny how some self-professed atheists miraculously found God around 5:31 p.m. yesterday...:lol: Just goes to show how they does only be on sh!t to "prove a point". Doh worry, they go be back to normal in a few days.

Then of course there are the zealots who were convinced that yesterday's event was a warning of the impending rapture, imploring people to repent because "God is coming, God is coming".

Many however just thankful to be alive. Whether or not we as a people gonna make changes going forward remains to be seen. Doh hold yuh breath though...:|

Postby sMASH » August 22nd, 2018, 4:54 am

seems legit.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2018, 4:58 am

it started to get serious when I see meh 1000gal tank cover open and water start to pitch out...

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2018, 5:32 am

Exponential and logarithmic is big words Allyuh using
Better draw a graph

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 22nd, 2018, 5:49 am

i sure is dem sex shop owners tuh blame. pnm wah stop importing vibrators to allyuh take dat in allyuh mc.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » August 22nd, 2018, 6:00 am

i say nah . that is it .. only so much d house could take .. gonna need a hdc house now

Postby sMASH » August 22nd, 2018, 6:11 am

rebound wrote:

And that right there is what makes a Subaru a Subaru..

looking kinda 3rd gen-ish