The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2018, 3:53 pm

Had to double check to make sure it wasn’t MacBook prices I watching at there yes

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 12th, 2018, 3:59 pm

Apple support just told me that dual sim trays would included in the box for the iPhone XS Max.

the XS and XR will have support for e-sim and one physical sim only, no physical dual sims.

Postby tr1ad » September 12th, 2018, 4:24 pm

mojosodope wrote:Apple support just told me that dual sim trays would included in the box for the iPhone XS Max.

the XS and XR will have support for e-sim and one physical sim only, no physical dual sims.

buh widdy...

steups

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - NEW iPhone Xs, Xs Max and Xr

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2018, 10:54 pm

Daran

Postby Daran » September 12th, 2018, 11:54 pm

I honestly don't see the huge advantage of the XS Vs the XR.

Is it just screen and camera? Or am I missing something

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2018, 8:08 am

Daran wrote:I honestly don't see the huge advantage of the XS Vs the XR.

Screen, dual camera, wireless charging, 3D Touch off the top of my head are things the xs has that the xr doesn’t.

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2018, 8:18 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Screen, dual camera, wireless charging, 3D Touch off the top of my head are things the xs has that the xr doesn’t.

3d touch and the camera are big enough deal breakers for me. i use 3d touch very regularly on a daily basis

Postby tr1ad » September 13th, 2018, 10:01 am

mojosodope wrote:Apple support just told me that dual sim trays would included in the box for the iPhone XS Max.

i believe they themselves were mistaken, only physical dual sim phone is the chinese version, other models are catering for one physical and one esim

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 13th, 2018, 10:31 am

tr1ad wrote:

i believe they themselves were mistaken, only physical dual sim phone is the chinese version, other models are catering for one physical and one esim

Yeah I think you’re right

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2018, 10:44 am

Screen and camera are huge deals when it comes to smartphones

LCD on the Xr vs AMOLED on the Xs is a big deal IMO

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 13th, 2018, 10:47 am

Digicel supporting eSIM?

Postby tr1ad » September 13th, 2018, 11:23 am

google servers maxed out from Trinidad when they said esim

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2018, 11:44 am

src1983 wrote:Digicel supporting eSIM?

don't think either Bmobile or Digicel support eSIM as yet.
The Apple Watch 3 and 4 use eSIM only and I don't think the cellular part of those watches can work here.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 14th, 2018, 1:03 am

Ughh i want a watch 4 soo bad, i love it.. but that means copping a 1600usd price tag by year end for Xs and watch 4

The last couple months dwelling with a pixel 2 has been pretty nice i must admit... There's only so much a jailbroken iPhone could still offer me in entertainment, i might convert just to be surprised by a phone again sigh

Daran

Postby Daran » September 14th, 2018, 2:09 am

Certainly don't disagree, but Apple sort of shot themselves in the foot by making the XR camera and LCD seem so competent but obviously I'm getting the XS not XR, time to rid myself of this archiac iPhone 7 (great phone shitty camera).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 14th, 2018, 11:02 am

The Xr has wireless charging
https://www.apple.com/lae/iphone/compare/

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 14th, 2018, 11:06 am

The Xr has wireless charging
https://www.apple.com/lae/iphone/compare/

Was pleasantly surprised to see that on Apple’s website. The impression I had was that the entire back was aluminum. Xr seems like a nice phone. Bigger screen than the XS too.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 14th, 2018, 11:07 am

Daran wrote:

Certainly don't disagree, but Apple sort of shot themselves in the foot by making the XR camera and LCD seem so competent but obviously I'm getting the XS not XR, time to rid myself of this archiac iPhone 7 (great phone shitty camera).

I have an X since December and absolutely love it. FaceID is fantastic, you don't even realise it's there, that's great technology.

The telephoto camera is very useful rather than using digital zoom.

We will have to see what iOS 12 offers, I'm hoping the X can support "advanced bokeh and Depth Control" and Smart HDR, though i feel that may only run well on the A12 Bionic and not the A11.

I know the GM for iOS 12 is out, but I rather just wait till Monday for the public release on the AppStore.

Postby tr1ad » September 14th, 2018, 2:05 pm

Daran wrote:

I have an X since December and absolutely love it. FaceID is fantastic, you don't even realise it's there, that's great technology.

The telephoto camera is very useful rather than using digital zoom.

We will have to see what iOS 12 offers, I'm hoping the X can support "advanced bokeh and Depth Control" and Smart HDR, though i feel that may only run well on the A12 Bionic and not the A11.

I know the GM for iOS 12 is out, but I rather just wait till Monday for the public release on the AppStore.

focos app works well for the post bokeh effect, a feature that will not be on the x only xs etc going forward

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 14th, 2018, 7:04 pm

^ guess the feature utilises something in the A12 Bionic chip that's not in the A11 Bionic

Postby K74T » September 17th, 2018, 1:25 pm

iOS 12 is out

It’s go time!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 17th, 2018, 2:16 pm

iOS 12
watchOS 5
tvOS 12

Available now.

macOS 10.14 available 1pm, September 24th.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 17th, 2018, 4:04 pm

Can’t wait for Mojave

Men_of_Distinction

Postby Men_of_Distinction » September 18th, 2018, 11:44 am

Good day guys my 2016 mac was stolen from my van on Sunday morning I’m using find my iPhone but they saying it’s offline what else can I do ?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 18th, 2018, 9:28 pm

Men_of_Distinction wrote:Good day guys my 2016 mac was stolen from my van on Sunday morning I’m using find my iPhone but they saying it’s offline what else can I do ?

Dam bro... Set notification to alert you when it comes online and lock it in the meantime.

Postby Kenjo » September 19th, 2018, 12:03 am

Men_of_Distinction wrote:Good day guys my 2016 mac was stolen from my van on Sunday morning I’m using find my iPhone but they saying it’s offline what else can I do ?

Yup wait until they bring it back online , it’s password protected we could assume and what did police say when you reported to them ? Does anyone know if there is a specific division of police that will bother to follow up immediately if you tell them you have the location of your device ?

napster

Postby napster » September 19th, 2018, 11:28 am

iOS 12 on iPhone 6 running smooth!!!!!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 19th, 2018, 11:33 am

napster wrote:iOS 12 on iPhone 6 running smooth!!!!!

iOS 12 is really nice on the X. I was expecting it to make things slower but the opposite has happened.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2018, 11:48 am

Yup really liking iOS 12 on the iPhone X