Petrotrin refinery shut down

Redress10

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby Redress10 » September 19th, 2018, 8:30 pm

kstt wrote:
Redress10 wrote:So the same man who marching up and down scaring people talking about no private ownership now saying that he have private investors? Who gonna touch Rouget after he tell people to "take their rig and go" etc...Who he fooling?

Trinis really this stupid? What makes his private investors different to the ones that gov't favour?

If Petrotrin all these years making more money than Ansa Mcal then Petrotrin workers and OWTU are bigger than the 1%? :-? :-?

Could someone give me an idea of the average owtu worker's skills and educational level because I have been in places where people have been laid off and they literally took their severances and went about their lives normel normel. Ppl keep saying that these workers highly skilled and educated but if this was the case then they would be very mobile and get new employment. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.

How many vacancies you see in the newspaper lately?

By chance did you see 5000 vacancies?

The newspaper used to have career sections. Not any more. Please take off your political blinders.

So your logic is to keep the refinery open just to employ 5000 people with jobs that possibly don't exists? You do realise that a job is not there for people to be paid a salary. A job is to provide value for the creation of goods and services which can be sold in order for salaries etc to be paid. Without the value there can be no job. If you are working for an overstaffed under performing state company then your job is artificial. There is no artificial employment in under performing private companies. The market corrects that.

Why is that so difficult for you all to understand. What is Petrotrin's optimum staffing requirements. Listen bro, once a company begins to suffer the first cost that is reviewed is personnel and salaries. That is just basic economics.

Anyone of you all ever visit other refineries around the world to get an idea of where Petrotrin measured up with the others?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 19th, 2018, 8:57 pm

Some of the largest Oil refineries in the world and their personnel numbers.

Refinery, Capacity(bpd), Number of Employees

SK Energy Ulsan Refinery, 850,000, 2,574

Garyville Refinery, 556,000, 900

Baton Rouge Refinery, 503,000, 4000

Port Arthur Refinery, 636,500, 1,450

Baytown Refinery, 584,000, 4000

kstt

Postby kstt » September 19th, 2018, 9:24 pm

Redress10 wrote:
kstt wrote:
Redress10 wrote:So the same man who marching up and down scaring people talking about no private ownership now saying that he have private investors? Who gonna touch Rouget after he tell people to "take their rig and go" etc...Who he fooling?

Trinis really this stupid? What makes his private investors different to the ones that gov't favour?

If Petrotrin all these years making more money than Ansa Mcal then Petrotrin workers and OWTU are bigger than the 1%? :-? :-?

Could someone give me an idea of the average owtu worker's skills and educational level because I have been in places where people have been laid off and they literally took their severances and went about their lives normel normel. Ppl keep saying that these workers highly skilled and educated but if this was the case then they would be very mobile and get new employment. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.

How many vacancies you see in the newspaper lately?

By chance did you see 5000 vacancies?

The newspaper used to have career sections. Not any more. Please take off your political blinders.

So your logic is to keep the refinery open just to employ 5000 people with jobs that possibly don't exists? You do realise that a job is not there for people to be paid a salary. A job is to provide value for the creation of goods and services which can be sold in order for salaries etc to be paid. Without the value there can be no job. If you are working for an overstaffed under performing state company then your job is artificial. There is no artificial employment in under performing private companies. The market corrects that.

Why is that so difficult for you all to understand. What is Petrotrin's optimum staffing requirements. Listen bro, once a company begins to suffer the first cost that is reviewed is personnel and salaries. That is just basic economics.

Anyone of you all ever visit other refineries around the world to get an idea of where Petrotrin measured up with the others?

I never said that. You were the one saying that jobs are easily available and is no scene to fire 5000 ppl because jobs literally there for the taking.

Postby sMASH » September 19th, 2018, 10:57 pm

U can't throw 10, 000 people on the bread line just so

All the traffic lights full with vendors is like a walking food mall. So many ph on the road u could fit 1 person per car if u want.

And, cepep numbers are yet to be factored in.
TCL numbers will just thicken the plot.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 20th, 2018, 5:56 am

But there are so many job vacancies in the classified sections of the newspapers. In these times, you take what you can get to hold you over until you can get something that, according to your standards, may be better.

National Training Agency has so many training courses for young adults to get new skills.

The recession in the 1980s was way worse than how it is now. People adapted, people migrated, such is life.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 20th, 2018, 6:06 am

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 20th, 2018, 6:07 am

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 20th, 2018, 6:08 am

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 20th, 2018, 6:09 am

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » September 20th, 2018, 6:16 am

Bhukan Singh gives a simple summary of Petrotrin in today's business Guardian
9-20-2018 6-10-20 AM.png

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 20th, 2018, 6:49 am

kstt wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
screwbash wrote:why d workers just taking it in dey behind jus so... where is watson duke, budget suppose to be in 3 week and where is the various chamber of commerce. what obeah d pnm wuk so that no effin body opening dey doubles hole and squaking. the workers need to demand they call ah general election now and let all the caribbean islands come together and bail out petrotRin as trinidad bailing all the arse out for decades. we all need to be out brothers keepers and think of our children. call a dam GENERAL ELECTION NOW !!!!!!!

Probably the most a55inine post in this entire thread. What caribbean islands? You do realise that the caribbean is basically the poorest region on the planet right. St Vincent's national product is bananas, who can they bail out?

You really have no clue about what wealth and power is. If you want a "bail out" facking try and entice a private equity firm or something. There are hundreds of them all over the world. Jeeez.

Some of alluh really showing why they had to set the reset button on the place. This is beyond ridiculous now.

All this talk about Petrotrin this and Petrotrin that, explain to me why 5000 - 9000 workers were needed for a refinery that is producing less than 150000 bbd.

That is where the discussion starts and possibly end because jump high jump low is massive retrenchment that is needed to begin to rescue that company.

Petrotrin in not the Refinery alone. It is PaP, Penal, Santa Flora, Pt Fortin, Guaya.

Each location having vendors, businesses and contractors who will be affected as well.
What about Barrackpore?
What about Catshill?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 20th, 2018, 6:53 am

Redress10 wrote:Some of the largest Oil refineries in the world and their personnel numbers.

Run some numbers on refineries located in the Caribbean, Latin America and South America.
I am eager to see the results.

Thanks

Postby hydroep » September 20th, 2018, 8:50 am

LOL...a board member has been the first to get fired...:lol:

Postby gastly369 » September 20th, 2018, 9:04 am

hydroep wrote:LOL...a board member has been the first to get fired...
Wasn't fired...quit..

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 20th, 2018, 9:19 am

Ah hear the new name is now Petro-Chin....

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » September 20th, 2018, 9:26 am

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 20th, 2018, 11:18 am

gastly369 wrote:
Wasn't fired...quit..

Didn't want to 'stick to the script', perhaps??

rawCpoppa wrote:Image

I saw this as soon as it dropped, almost two hours ago..no one has anything to say about this? Or are we quiet because it didn't come from Rowley et al.??

Postby matr1x » September 20th, 2018, 11:38 am

Who wants to guess the fabric of the new petrotrin?

Postby Redman » September 20th, 2018, 11:45 am

Joshie23 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
Wasn't fired...quit..

I saw this as soon as it dropped, almost two hours ago..no one has anything to say about this? Or are we quiet because it didn't come from Rowley et al.??

Who ever wrote that has nice handwriting.

Postby matr1x » September 20th, 2018, 11:48 am

There was talk a lot of the secretaries got their jobs via "oral exam"

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 20th, 2018, 12:06 pm

Are those figures legit?
anyone can write anything on a piece of paper inno.
srs don't know, so I'm asking.
Last edited by VexXx Dogg on September 20th, 2018, 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » September 20th, 2018, 12:06 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
Wasn't fired...quit..

Doesn't this reaffirm the fact that the 45k average is an accurate figure?

If the figures were lower than 45k, then we can say that the 45k average is a lie etc, but these values help Rowley's stance...

Postby gastly369 » September 20th, 2018, 12:31 pm

Private payroll figures cant be the avg sir...

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2018, 1:12 pm

matr1x wrote:Who wants to guess the fabric of the new petrotrin?

u Syrias?(n)

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 20th, 2018, 1:18 pm

teems1 wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
Wasn't fired...quit..

Doesn't this reaffirm the fact that the 45k average is an accurate figure?

If the figures were lower than 45k, then we can say that the 45k average is a lie etc, but these values help Rowley's stance...

The average worker doesn’t work for these salaries. Most work for significantly less than these sums. And by most I mean union level workers do not make anything close to these figures.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » September 20th, 2018, 1:19 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Some of the largest Oil refineries in the world and their personnel numbers.

Run some numbers on refineries located in the Caribbean, Latin America and South America.

Thanks

Umm not sure if they teach allyuh anything about economics down Point but it really don't matter where the refinery is compared to the world market, where we buy and sell commodities, sets the efficiency standard.
Trying to compare with inefficient refineries or justifying running a refinery at a lose or worse importing oil just to keep some jobs all mask the problem that it needs to go. Should ah do that 30 years ago the day the refinery stop being viable.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 20th, 2018, 1:34 pm

daxt0r wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:

Thanks

Umm not sure if they teach allyuh anything about economics down Point but it really don't matter where the refinery is compared to the world market, where we buy and sell commodities, sets the efficiency standard.
Trying to compare with inefficient refineries or justifying running a refinery at a lose or worse importing oil just to keep some jobs all mask the problem that it needs to go. Should ah do that 30 years ago the day the refinery stop being viable.

Are you an energy professional? Or is this your opinion?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 20th, 2018, 1:45 pm

daxt0r wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:

Thanks

Okay Mr Dax Drover.

It would be interesting to know because the operations of the state were benchmarked with Latin American countries/companies.

Postby MaxPower » September 20th, 2018, 1:49 pm

Who is the clown that write that?

Postby gastly369 » September 20th, 2018, 2:06 pm

MaxPower wrote:Who is the clown that write that?
Pennywise