full active?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 13th, 2018, 11:01 am

Preamble: cars get jealous of each other. The sportero saw the equipment that I bought for my vezel and instantly started to beyotch. Even tho it's not installed yet :/

Van problem now...
Skar audio components decided to go wonky. Lost both midbass and tweet on the left and midbass only on the right. They boyh cut in sometimes so I suspect both crossovers took a sheit.

Scenario: 5 channel amp - JL audio XD 700/5
Components up front and coaxials in the rear.

Can I run some separate / new tweets up front crossed at x10 on the JL and the 4 6.5 speakers on the rear channel with hp/bp xo?

I only use the amp xos at the moment because my head unit subout took a sheit a while ago. Yeah I lost my love for Alpine.

kavaninho

Re: full active?

Postby kavaninho » October 13th, 2018, 12:56 pm

How you would time align and adjust your levels?
If you intend on ditching the passive oxer, just lose the rearfill and go active upfront.

Strange how all those failed at once, pull your door panel and take a look.

Postby X_Factor » October 13th, 2018, 1:20 pm

also probably easier to get a pair of other passives with close as possible xo points

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 13th, 2018, 1:37 pm

They went within a couple months of each other. Music sounds like sheit now. Lol.
Rear coaxials not really putting out a good job.
Meh.

Good point on getting some replacement xos.
Van hardly driving these days so I'll go with the most budget friendly approach. I really want to find the time to get my car stuff installed. Missing the thump on my daily commute

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 13th, 2018, 1:37 pm

Should also mention that these comps are almost 6 years old daily beaten and I know skar had some issues with xo failures around the time I bought these

Postby nervewrecker » October 13th, 2018, 8:38 pm

If your ear not fine tuned TA may not be necessary.

Active or nothing. If you can attain it with the amp xovers, then by all means go for it. But how will you control levels and slope now? I still prefer the flexibility of the 80prs for all those. Passives are just a waste of space for me.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 13th, 2018, 9:39 pm

go full active, ditch rear speakers. Work on front stage. thats my 2c.

or replace the front with two coaxials.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » October 14th, 2018, 8:03 am

ditch the rearfill,yea!

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » October 15th, 2018, 11:37 am

Rear fill... yuck.

Postby SR » October 15th, 2018, 2:22 pm

Xovers may just have cold solder on the boards unless they were getting wet in the doors. Have each component bench tested to ensure functionality before planning your next system. Keep the rear fill as it adds ambiance. Unless the plan is to go full audiophile or get into sound quality competitions where imaging will be critical.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 15th, 2018, 5:07 pm

I've tried with and without rearfill. In my car, using rearfill gives better results, particularly when properly time-aligned and filtered (in my case, filtering starts at 200 Hz, 6dB/Octave).

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 19th, 2018, 9:06 am

left side cut in today so I have now front left midbass and right tweet.

huehuehuehuehue

it's a confusing listening experience, to say the least.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 19th, 2018, 4:27 pm

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 2nd, 2018, 12:48 pm

Crossovers good.
Woofer blew on left right side.
Wire short on left.

Replaced the woofers with a pair of nakamichis and decided to remove crossovers and install a pair if inline Orion tweets, because I wanted my tsss tsss tsss a little louder.

Both crossovers are good as well as the tweets, will be up for sale.

Postby nervewrecker » November 3rd, 2018, 6:59 am

Where you get nakamichi?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 3rd, 2018, 7:33 pm

Streetwise in couva. Was gonna try to fix it myself, then I watch that door upholstery and said fuckit. Let someone with the right tools dig.

Those new buggers has some huge ass magnets and are 135rms ea, I think. It was supposed to be a quick fix, but right now that setup needs a better riser. There's a gap that I don't like, but didn't have the time to let them sort out. I just wanted a budget replacement for the damaged skar woofer.

Decided to remove the skar crosses with the tweets because the Orions came with inline filters, and felt obligated to use them for some reason.

In terms of tweets, the orions are plenty harsher than the skars though.
I demo'd about 5 tweets before picking the orions.

NB1 (TOO harsh, bright and hissy, sounded like a blasted maxi)
Orion XTR dome (harsh-ish but hits some nice notes)
Nakamichi - best sounding IMO but too large to fit in factory location
Cadence - Muted. Wanted more "brightness".
(can't rem the last one)

Sound OK, but I didn't retune yet. Feel like this old van will need to get some love after I get around to my Honda install.

This is good enough to slam when I in the mood for noise.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 3rd, 2018, 7:47 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Streetwise in couva. Was gonna try to fix it myself, then I watch that door upholstery and said fuckit. Let someone with the right tools dig.

Those new buggers has some huge ass magnets and are 135rms ea, I think. It was supposed to be a quick fix, but right now that setup needs a better riser. There's a gap that I don't like, but didn't have the time to let them sort out. I just wanted a budget replacement for the damaged skar woofer.

Decided to remove the skar crosses with the tweets because the Orions came with inline filters, and felt obligated to use them for some reason.

In terms of tweets, the orions are plenty harsher than the skars though.
I demo'd about 5 tweets before picking the orions.

NB1 (TOO harsh, bright and hissy, sounded like a blasted maxi)
(can't rem the last one)

Sound OK, but I didn't retune yet. Feel like this old van will need to get some love after I get around to my Honda install.

This is good enough to slam when I in the mood for noise.
Them still around ? Ahhaaha good luck

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 5th, 2018, 12:28 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:NB1 (TOO harsh, bright and hissy, sounded like a blasted maxi)

For a lark, I tried using that first set (or a clone of it) a few years ago, when one of the Dayton ND20s I was using in the sail panels at the time failed.

God, it was bloody awful, partly because it was so damned loud compared to everything else. Even when I pulled down the HF channels on my deck's EQ.

I still have them around. I think I'll run them through REW (frequency response, THD) and DATS (impedance curve) to see if they can actually be made to somewhat usable...

Note: Testing tweeters should involve more than just putting them in place and listening to them. You have to get the x-over right. And that depends not only on the characteristics of the tweeter and where you're planning to locate it in your car, but also the characteristics of the rest of your system.

Postby SR » November 5th, 2018, 6:30 am

http://www.nakamichicaraudio.com/produc ... hp?&page=7

Looks like they have new ownership of the brand

Postby SR » November 5th, 2018, 6:36 am

By the end of 1990s, Nakamichi failed to transition properly. In 1998, it was acquired by Grande Holdings, a Chinese company based in Hong Kong. Grande Holdings included electronics companies Akai and Sansui. Niro Nakamichi left in 1998 to set up Mechanical Research Corporation. The company went into bankruptcy protection on February 19, 2002.[7] In Nakamichi's defense, many high end audio manufacturers were forced to merge or sell to larger holding companies during this time period partially influenced by the collapse of the Japanese "bubble economy"; such well known companies include McIntosh and Mark Levinson.[citation needed]

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 5th, 2018, 8:39 am

what was the cost of the woofer if you dont mind me asking

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 5th, 2018, 8:58 am

now looking at nakamichi's website, has an interesting 6ch dsp. (NDS4631A) I wonder if streetwise stock these.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 5th, 2018, 9:53 am

paid like 550 for both.

The skars had a sensitivity of 88, these are 93 (i think). I can literally hear the difference. They actually start playing at a lower volume compared with the skar.
They are ok. I need to fix /seal them properly, no upfront bass rn. It was just a sort of plaster fix because I had literally no front stage.

Initial feedback is that they are loud and harsh compared with the comps. I def need to install them properly on risers and seal them.

It'll work as is until after I sort my Vez install, which reminds me. @kavaninho I need to give you a shout. sheit was insane on my end back at work, and the pile of equipment sitting in a corner is starting to bothering me. I have some leave coming up.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 5th, 2018, 1:02 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:paid like 550 for both.

The skars had a sensitivity of 88, these are 93 (i think). I can literally hear the difference. They actually start playing at a lower volume compared with the skar.
They are ok. I need to fix /seal them properly, no upfront bass rn. It was just a sort of plaster fix because I had literally no front stage.

Initial feedback is that they are loud and harsh compared with the comps. I def need to install them properly on risers and seal them.

It'll work as is until after I sort my Vez install, which reminds me. @kavaninho I need to give you a shout. sheit was insane on my end back at work, and the pile of equipment sitting in a corner is starting to bothering me. I have some leave coming up.

$550.00 for a pair of woofers aint bad. Yup, give me a call anytime.