Gas not lasting as long since fuel raised?

Mezeker

Gas not lasting as long since fuel raised?

Postby Mezeker » October 16th, 2018, 9:13 am

Hi Tuners, I along with a number of other people have noticed that our gas is not lasting as long since the fuel price raised.

Now I'm the last person to be a conspiracy theorist, but I figure tuners would know on average how far their tank of gas would take them.
I'm asking if you guys/gals would compare your usage the next time you fill up with me so that I can get a larger sample size.

I know there are loads of different factors like area/gas station/car needing a tune up etc. But without the data it's all suspicion.

Re: Gas not lasting as long since fuel raised?

Postby black start » October 16th, 2018, 9:18 am

Still getting the same amount of km per tank....tank just costing more to fill!

Postby Dave » October 16th, 2018, 9:21 am

I seem to recall that this always pops up every time gas price is adjusted.
I just filled my second expensive tank but I drove more than normal and it did seem fair.
Wife's car was also driven more so can't gage that one either.
I guess check back all your basic car maintenance parameters and then we can riot lol.

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » October 16th, 2018, 9:24 am

[quote][/quote]

Yeah, I suspect it's just sticker shock coming into effect. I'm measuring the KM to see, will know in a week. But wondered if anyone else felt the same.

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » October 16th, 2018, 9:25 am

Pump maybe needs calibration. Ministry have a squad who verifies. They will make it to a gas station in your area soon.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 16th, 2018, 9:32 am

No noticeable change with me.
still getting about the same mileage per tank.
paying about 30-40 more per tank per week or so.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 16th, 2018, 9:32 am

Honestly noticed a difference. From a full tank with only very nearby runs drains it to almost half extremely quickly, unlike before. Still keeping an eye on it though. Thought I was just imagining it for a a while yes.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 16th, 2018, 9:36 am

The same thing happening with my stipend...

Postby *KRONIK* » October 16th, 2018, 9:39 am

GVTrini07 wrote:Pump maybe needs calibration. Ministry have a squad who verifies. They will make it to a gas station in your area soon.
Beureau of standards actually does the verification. NP or Unipet sends technician to calibrate.

Postby MG Man » October 16th, 2018, 9:46 am

op when condom price go up, yuh piggy does get shorter?

Postby hydroep » October 16th, 2018, 9:47 am

black start wrote:Still getting the same amount of km per tank....tank just costing more to fill!

Same here. People probably just paying attention to their mileage as the price increase has made fuel a more significant part of the personal/family's budget.

One thing I will say, it's kinda hard to sit in traffic now just watching yuh $ literally go up in smoke...:|

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » October 16th, 2018, 10:10 am

This thread does always pop up when gas prices increase, OP adjust your driving style

ftitan

Postby ftitan » October 16th, 2018, 11:24 am

I noticed that since the last budget with the NP diesel near duncan village/cross crossing.
I watch the needle...and the needle would've barely budged for long distances but now I can lose close to a quarter tank a day for the same drive..on diesel eh
But if I fill up elsewhere I get better mileage..I dunno why but that's what I noticed for a while.

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » October 16th, 2018, 12:10 pm

MG Man wrote:op when condom price go up, yuh piggy does get shorter?

Sometimes yes :( :?

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » October 16th, 2018, 12:16 pm

ftitan wrote:I noticed that since the last budget with the NP diesel near duncan village/cross crossing.
I watch the needle...and the needle would've barely budged for long distances but now I can lose close to a quarter tank a day for the same drive..on diesel eh
But if I fill up elsewhere I get better mileage..I dunno why but that's what I noticed for a while.

I think it is possible that individual gas stations have issues with their fuel quality as well.

Postby RedVEVO » October 16th, 2018, 10:25 pm

OP, Gas prices up but your salary $$ same .

Hence it's your wallet/mind in panic mode . Take 2 Panadol.

Or maybe while you sleep your enemy neighbor siphoning your gas.

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » October 16th, 2018, 10:29 pm

RedVEVO wrote:OP, Gas prices up but your salary $$ same .

Hence it's your wallet/mind in panic mode . Take 2 Panadol.

Or maybe while you sleep your enemy neighbor siphoning your gas.
Could be true

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » October 16th, 2018, 10:43 pm

Interesting.....thought was just me

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » October 17th, 2018, 12:34 am

Thought this was just me alone, knew I was not crazy.

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » October 17th, 2018, 6:53 am

eurotuner wrote:Thought this was just me alone, knew I was not crazy.
No my friend crazy u say,,,, crazy is when you pull up in the chagunas gas station at 11:45 pm and its a long line flowing out into the main rd and majority of people including a bmw 3 series filling up with regular , that my friend is craziness , it just starting in chag ,,,, wait till a few weeks again the year aint done yet

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » October 17th, 2018, 3:25 pm

no change in mileage at all. just cost more. cyah expect to get the same amount of gas for 100 dollars so of course it will finish faster..............

on another note, not taking any chances with regular gas. i will pay for my super . not going to try and cheap out on gas and cause unnecessary damage

Postby MaxPower » October 17th, 2018, 3:27 pm

OP service yuh blasted car

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2018, 5:11 pm

is the tank filling completely? if you pay the same amt u were paying before then yes u would get less gas which wont last as long- otherwise as someone said somebody tiefin yuh gas
Last edited by redmanjp on October 17th, 2018, 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » October 17th, 2018, 9:17 pm

Dave wrote:I seem to recall that this always pops up every time gas price is adjusted. .

Every
FRACKING
TIME.

based solely on "ah feeling"

Postby rollingstock » October 17th, 2018, 10:05 pm

I'm actually getting better mileage, around 8L/100km.
Must be the max44

zorced

Postby zorced » October 18th, 2018, 1:57 pm

It could be a cognitive bias because people are more aware of their fuel consumption. Either that or the pump dispensing systems can be remotely edited lol.... (defects have actually happened elsewhere tho)

Postby toyolink » October 18th, 2018, 2:15 pm

Dave wrote:I seem to recall that this always pops up every time gas price is adjusted. .

Every
FRACKING
TIME.

On top of that, the days getting shorter and the distance getting longer.
The world going and come to a end by causing confusion in our heads.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » October 18th, 2018, 2:25 pm

Actually for me it has been running out faster than usual.

I does actually pay attention to those details, normally a full tank would last me 5-6 days, since budget it lasting at most 4 days.
Same driving and everything.
And no is not $150 lasting me, is a full tank.
Pre-budget a full tank would be $150-$170, now post-Budget it is $200-$220.

Also since budget, everyday both morning and evenings Guapo gas station always have long lines and that rarely happened before.

Postby SMc » October 18th, 2018, 2:33 pm

Every
FRACKING
TIME.

On top of that it seems people only taking distance into consideration. What about extra traffic, short 'local' drives which eat up fuel more than highway driving (at normal speed). I can sometimes get 1000KM out of a tank but on some weeks that can easily drop to 500KM depending on where I am going and the time of day I drive.

I avoid rush hour(s) whenever possible and that helps a lot. Doubt fuel price increase=shiitty gas but up to people to make up their own mind whether the decision is substantiated or not.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » October 18th, 2018, 6:32 pm

TIPS ON FILLING YOUR CAR(S) (Good information)

Petrol is becoming more and more expensive!

My line of work has been in petroleum for about 31 years now, so here are some tricks to get more of your money's worth for every litre. Here at the Marian Hill Pipeline where I work in Durban we deliver about 4 million litres in a 24-hour period through the pipeline. One day is diesel the next day is jet fuel, and petrol, LRP and Unleaded. We have 34-storage tanks here with a total capacity of 16,800,000 litres.

Only buy or fill up your car or bakkie in the early morning when the ground temperature is still cold. Remember that all service stations have their storage tanks buried below ground.. The colder the ground the more dense the fuel, when it gets warmer petrol expands, so buying in the afternoon or in the evening your litre is not exactly a litre. In the petroleum business, the specific gravity and the temperature of the petrol, diesel and jet fuel, ethanol and other petroleum products plays an important role.

A one degree rise in temperature is a big deal for this business. But the service stations do not have temperature compensation at the pumps.

When you're filling up do not squeeze the trigger of the nozzle to a fast mode. If you look you will see that the trigger has three (3) stages: low, middle, and high. In slow mode you should be pumping on low speed, thereby minimizing the vapours that are created while you are pumping. All hoses at the pump have a vapour return. If you are pumping on the fast rate, some of the liquid that goes to your tank becomes vapour. Those vapours are being sucked up and back into the underground storage tank so you're getting less worth for your money.

One of the most important tips is to fill up when your tank is HALF FULL.

The reason for this is because the more fuel you have in your tank the less air is occupying its empty space. Petrol evaporates faster than you can imagine. Petroleum storage tanks have an internal floating roof. This roof serves as zero clearance between the petrol and the atmosphere, so it minimizes the evaporation. Unlike service stations, here where I work every truck that we load is temperature compensated so that every litre is actually the exact amount.

Another reminder, if there is a fuel truck pumping into the storage tanks when you stop to buy, DO NOT fill up - most likely the petrol/diesel is being stirred up as the fuel is being delivered and you might pick up some of the dirt that normally settles on the bottom. Hope this will help you get the most value for your money.