UWI Students protest

Postby redmanjp » October 18th, 2018, 3:19 pm

Re: UWI Students protest

Postby wagonrunner » October 18th, 2018, 3:28 pm

grateful for the future voters

Postby hydroep » October 18th, 2018, 4:00 pm

So what they arrest the two students for?

Anyways, Sh!tkicker say this kinda thing will not be tolerated eh...:|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 18th, 2018, 4:01 pm

Nice nice

Postby MaxPower » October 18th, 2018, 4:09 pm

Bunch ah blasted drunks....

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 18th, 2018, 4:13 pm

Did this need a thread?

Postby maj. tom » October 18th, 2018, 4:18 pm

yuh does always know the idle people who in Humanities eh.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 18th, 2018, 4:21 pm

maj. tom wrote:yuh does always know the idle people who in Humanities eh.

Congreagtion looking like them folks from the various halls

Postby meccalli » October 18th, 2018, 4:32 pm

There was a girl who nearly got raped and got knifed in the process yesterday.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 18th, 2018, 4:57 pm

whiteliver

Postby whiteliver » October 18th, 2018, 6:25 pm

stueps...

Postby The_Honourable » October 18th, 2018, 7:27 pm

weeeeyyyyy all this action take place with OWTU by the point-a-pierre refinery?

no... wait... my bad.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 18th, 2018, 7:47 pm

meccalli wrote:There was a girl who nearly got raped and got knifed in the process yesterday.
Reality of life in UWI

antlind

Postby antlind » October 18th, 2018, 9:09 pm

Gone are the days when you could sit on the steps of JFK with your girl any hour of the night without fear of being raped or knifed. That was life in uwi when I was there in the 1980s. It’s sad to see that crime has infiltrated every facet of life in Trinidad.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 18th, 2018, 9:48 pm

I always thought it was weird that anyone could enter UWI whenever you wanted. My Uni had security guards at the entrances with a strict policy of ID cards needed to be shown. If you were a visitor you had to register with ID and receive a visitor badge. WE had camera's everywhere and a K9 patrol unit at night and this was back in 2003.

Postby alfa » October 18th, 2018, 10:41 pm

Big respect to these kids who appear braver than most of Trinidad, willing to stand and fight their ground. If the average citizen was more like them politicians might be forced to provide good governance, AV Drilling's owner might have been in jail and Petrotrin might have been saved. Sad that a bunch of teeny boppers organized a better protest than the OWTU

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 18th, 2018, 10:45 pm

Funny how majority of private security officers in this country are illegal immigrants who can hardly even speak English and out of that figure atleast 50% are Super Obese.

Many years ago when I was a security officer the company that I worked with actually hired a vagrant as a security

Mr President

Postby Mr President » October 18th, 2018, 10:50 pm

childsplay..

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 19th, 2018, 12:34 am

drchaos wrote:I always thought it was weird that anyone could enter UWI whenever you wanted. My Uni had security guards at the entrances with a strict policy of ID cards needed to be shown. If you were a visitor you had to register with ID and receive a visitor badge. WE had camera's everywhere and a K9 patrol unit at night and this was back in 2003.

Its like that for all branches of UWI and for most universities across the world. There are hundreds of people going in and out of campuses every hour for business, food, conferences, meetings and everything else not related to teaching. I accustomed to all that song and dance for entering halls of residence or restricted areas as a guest, not on campus as a whole.

Postby wagonrunner » October 19th, 2018, 12:38 am

drchaos wrote:I always thought it was weird that anyone could enter UWI whenever you wanted. My Uni had security guards at the entrances with a strict policy of ID cards needed to be shown

There are at least three unguarded walk-in entrances. no guards. no nutten.
The drive-in entrances have guards.
The admin cites lack of funds, and wants suggestions on where to make cuts for such.
Admin staff salaries wasn't recognized as a feasible suggestion.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » October 19th, 2018, 12:40 am

Massively proud of those students for what they did today.
Showed a spine in what’s quickly becoming a spineless country

Postby redmanjp » October 19th, 2018, 12:57 am

drchaos wrote:I always thought it was weird that anyone could enter UWI whenever you wanted. My Uni had security guards at the entrances with a strict policy of ID cards needed to be shown

The admin cites lack of funds, and wants suggestions on where to make cuts for such.

Then they should close all other entrances except the drive ins and keep those guarded. Cameras, ID and sign in required. And no visitors after 6pm.

Postby aaron17 » October 19th, 2018, 4:38 am

Wait ...I thought Uwi is a secured compound since it is internationally recognised. I guess I was wrong . And this lack of security was happening for years now?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 19th, 2018, 4:50 am

redmanjp wrote:

Then they should close all other entrances except the drive ins and keep those guarded. Cameras, ID and sign in required. And no visitors after 6pm.

haven't been in a while but the last thing I remember is a gate being opened 24/7 by TGR car park to allow easy access by foot..This entrance and that car park is probably the worst on campus. For those who don't know it's closer to Curepe side...no need to say more

kstt

Postby kstt » October 19th, 2018, 5:25 am

How come the police don't use that level of force in Beetham,Laventille and Sea Lots.

Monkey know wah tree to climb!

Postby bluefete » October 19th, 2018, 5:32 am

The last thing any government wants is young people protesting, especially university students, because they are the ones who start revolutions, social and otherwise.

kstt: Very good question.

Postby MaxPower » October 19th, 2018, 6:06 am

bluefete wrote:The last thing any government wants is young people protesting, especially certain university students, because they are the ones who start revolutions, social and otherwise.

kstt: Very good question.

Edited

Postby rspann » October 19th, 2018, 6:17 am

The red inspector not getting on bad like the other police because two of his daughters going UWI ,so he is sympathetic.

Postby Redman » October 19th, 2018, 6:31 am

They woulda look good.
Cept for the snatty nose bad man.
He spoil it

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 19th, 2018, 6:49 am

uwi police only bad for uwi students...them men use to gangster students for playing cricket by JFK and they used to play big and bad when they hadda clamp vehicles...anything else woft