The official tropical weather thread 2018

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby Gladiator » November 15th, 2018, 6:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:how does the CRH eastbound look?

No big setta traffic.... normal everyday flow.

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 6:28 pm

Ok leaving West now , going airport .

Postby MaxPower » November 15th, 2018, 6:29 pm

Saw the usual nasty trinidadian garbage settled in a corner from the floods....all i can say is when allyuh get flood out and loss everything....it good for allyuh MC.....its sad law abiding citizens have to suffer.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 15th, 2018, 7:01 pm

MaxPower wrote:Saw the usual nasty trinidadian garbage settled in a corner from the floods....all i can say is when allyuh get flood out and loss everything....it good for allyuh MC.....its sad law abiding citizens have to suffer.

A lot of it is from branches and stuff, a lot of the plastic still float up to the top of the water and give the illusion of garbage being the biggest cause but a look below and it is all the branches from trees etc that buried below which obstructing the water flow aswell.

Not like anybody cares in this place, you could see just after the floods police catch a man dumping all he garbage at the side of the road and them eh even charge the man, they lecture him and let him go so he could come back later in the night to dump it back.

The enforcement of the littering law in this country is an absolute joke. As in 3rd world sh!t hole joke and then we have the Leader of Trinidad, Rowley who said that hiring excavators to clean rivers is a waste of tax payers money since the grass does grow back and bamboo patch does still fall into the river.

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 8:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Saw the usual nasty trinidadian garbage settled in a corner from the floods....all i can say is when allyuh get flood out and loss everything....it good for allyuh MC.....its sad law abiding citizens have to suffer.

A lot of it is from branches and stuff, a lot of the plastic still float up to the top of the water and give the illusion of garbage being the biggest cause but a look below and it is all the branches from trees etc that buried below which obstructing the water flow aswell.

Not like anybody cares in this place, you could see just after the floods police catch a man dumping all he garbage at the side of the road and them eh even charge the man, they lecture him and let him go so he could come back later in the night to dump it back.

The enforcement of the littering law in this country is an absolute joke. As in 3rd world sh!t hole joke and then we have the Leader of Trinidad, Rowley who said that hiring excavators to clean rivers is a waste of tax payers money since the grass does grow back and bamboo patch does still fall into the river.

Where Rowley make that statement ?

Well I was going to vote PNM but thanks for saving the day .

But Trini people like to bath in flood water .

Postby nervewrecker » November 15th, 2018, 9:58 pm

River burst its banks in debe.
Some places have about 2 feet of water already.

aidan

Postby aidan » November 15th, 2018, 10:09 pm

nervewrecker wrote:River burst its banks in debe.
Some places have about 2 feet of water already.
Damnnn that is pressure.

Dealing with some flood up grande side atm. Not as bad as a few weeks ago but it standstill all day.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 15th, 2018, 10:56 pm

WTF flood coming up in El Carmen / St Helena area

Drain water coming up infront of me rising current pushing, this is how it always starts when it start to flood. That means Caroni River just overflow

Good thing we eh get the kinda rain like we did last time. I expect this flood to be a small flood cause me eh see no rain in a while.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 15th, 2018, 11:04 pm

If rain continues tonight into tomorrow...it's definitely part 2..

linton

Postby linton » November 16th, 2018, 12:04 am

Curepe safe, but my sister in Greenvale is worried right now. She lives on the 4th floor, but her car got flooded the last time, so she's moving out for a few days until everything settles.

Imagine having over twenty years remaining on a mortgage and having to run every time the rain falls. Plus nobody would even want it to buy. Pressure.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 16th, 2018, 12:14 am

well flood coming up in El Carmen and St Helena that means flood will be in Madrass road and kelly again by tomorrow, this is real failure yes.

However I am anticipating a regular flood, our house is equipped for the usual yearly small flood, I expect this. But it all depends on the rainfall, and not rain here but rain up Grande. Cause all that water coming down to Manuel Congo which automatically coming in my area.

The government has abandoned cleaning and widening the Caroni River here, so this is what causing the floods to come higher than usual. I won't lie for a man with a science background, Rowley really dotish yes. If it costing too much to hire contractors to clean that Caroni River then buy some excavators yourself and hire people yourself. They need the ones with the long arm cause the current Caroni river is a joke if you consider that the main river in Trinidad.

The idea is something like this

Postby teems1 » November 16th, 2018, 12:30 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:If rain continues tonight into tomorrow...it's definitely part 2..

Rain now starting to fall in Charliville. Hope it eases up soon.

aidan

Postby aidan » November 16th, 2018, 1:22 am

Rel rain right now in aranguez

Postby SR » November 16th, 2018, 6:30 am

I have never seen anyone actualy rrmove material when cleaning or dredging of the water courses. They usually just pile it on top od the banks instead.

Postby ismithx » November 16th, 2018, 6:50 am

SR wrote:I have never seen anyone actualy rrmove material when cleaning or dredging of the water courses. They usually just pile it on top od the banks instead.

Nothing wrong with that, they built up the caroni riverbanks by me with dredged material. It was a solid piece of work

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 16th, 2018, 6:58 am

ismithx wrote:
SR wrote:I have never seen anyone actualy rrmove material when cleaning or dredging of the water courses. They usually just pile it on top od the banks instead.

Nothing wrong with that, they built up the caroni riverbanks by me with dredged material. It was a solid piece of work

"Solid piece of work" when done properly. But when last was it done properly?

No dredging under the PNM this time around, The cleaning done under the UNC was not done properly as the muck was placed loosely on the river banks and washed back in with the subsequent rains. We just have a set of waste of time politicians playing games with people's lives.

Postby ismithx » November 16th, 2018, 7:03 am

Fair point about when it was last done. However it still is effective to this day.

Side note, caroni River by UTT is high. The drains running through the rice fields there are also high, if more rain then the SMR there is going to be flooded

Postby aaron17 » November 16th, 2018, 7:55 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
ismithx wrote:

"Solid piece of work" when done properly. But when last was it done properly?

No dredging under the PNM this time around, The cleaning done under the UNC was not done properly as the muck was placed loosely on the river banks and washed back in with the subsequent rains. We just have a set of waste of time politicians playing games with people's lives.
Just like how we helped the ppl with donations..we have to do it on our own. Start by not littering.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 16th, 2018, 7:58 am

^ And what about all the tree branches, all the bamboo that keep falling into the rivers and blocking it more than the garbage? all the mud etc that coming from everywhere and clogging up the waterways after years of neglect?

Who going and clean that? us citizens? we don't own any equipment to do any such thing. Especially not a long reach excavator, that is the job of the government which they have constantly failed to do because Rowley believes it is a waste of tax payers money but he could find time to waste money on all other sort of unnecessary sh!t.

Postby aaron17 » November 16th, 2018, 8:10 am

Well u wait on d govt.

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » November 16th, 2018, 9:12 am

Any update on the highway

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 16th, 2018, 9:36 am

aaron17 wrote:Well u wait on d govt.

He aint really have a choice..

Postby MaxPower » November 16th, 2018, 10:05 am

Friends,

Penal/Debe wipe out or thas fake news?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 16th, 2018, 10:34 am

MaxPower wrote:Friends,

Penal/Debe wipe out or thas fake news?

If those vids from weather centre are present....then yes

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 16th, 2018, 10:43 am

You lending your long reach excavator, according to ED? Or are you sponsoring one?? There are times I disagree with ED, but this time he's right.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 16th, 2018, 10:47 am

http://www.looptt.com/content/st-helena ... w-vehicles

Debe / Barrackpore has worst flood in history of Trinidad

St Helena bypass road is impassable to low vehicles

Postby aaron17 » November 16th, 2018, 10:54 am

Joshie23 wrote:

You lending your long reach excavator, according to ED? Or are you sponsoring one?? There are times I disagree with ED, but this time he's right.
Like i said before ..this world must be destroyed..good and evil

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 16th, 2018, 10:55 am

Postby aaron17 » November 16th, 2018, 11:07 am

But really and truely we have to help each other out there and do no sit idly by.I don't like what govts do cause of corruption etc..

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 16th, 2018, 12:23 pm

aaron17 wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

Like i said before ..this world must be destroyed..good and evil

Ok. And what do we do in the meantime? Sit and observe high tide and low tide in our living rooms everytime a significant amount of rain falls? Further to that, South was hard hit this time. So do we relocate the businesses and homes that were affected in this area too, like was suggested for the flooding that took place last month? People have said in some areas, this time is worse than the floods last year with the rainfall from TS Bret. Again, yes climate change is a thing and I'm not a geologist or civil engineer, but I refuse to believe that were doomed to constantly experience these types of floods without some form of engineering systems to mitigate.