6 weeks to study for 2 cxc subjects, advice welcomed

philliprock

6 weeks to study for 2 cxc subjects, advice welcomed

Postby philliprock » November 19th, 2018, 8:43 am

i have math pastpapers which is roughly 18pastpapers i have.
and social studies which is around 40pastpapers.
i have been busy with work and dealing with a death of a very close friend it just seems i cant take exmas stress, but yet i need to pass my exams.
i seem to be procrastinating alot... i cant stop it...
do you think i have enough time to get a solid 80% or onwards? since im working full time my grades/performance in class is struggling.
much thanks for good advice please

Re: 6 weeks to study for 2 cxc subjects, advice welcomed

Postby janfar » November 19th, 2018, 8:44 am

You've got no chance. I wouldn't even bother to go write the exmas

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 19th, 2018, 8:45 am

Tuner posts counts as part of the SBAs?

Postby tr1ad » November 19th, 2018, 8:48 am

philliprock wrote:i have math pastpapers which is roughly 18pastpapers i have.
and social studies which is around 40pastpapers.
i have been busy with work and dealing with a death of a very close friend it just seems i cant take exmas stress, but yet i need to pass my exams.
i seem to be procrastinating alot... i cant stop it...
do you think i have enough time to get a solid 80% or onwards? since im working full time my grades/performance in class is struggling.
much thanks for good advice please

eh really think comin gonline and asking strangers for advice on if yuh could pass making sense...

bess yuh log off and go study

Postby maj. tom » November 19th, 2018, 8:55 am

yeah you can do it if you do 2 to 3 hours of work everyday on each subject with past papers. Just use the textbook to guide you through the theory and apply it one time by doing past papers.

But you will need a tutor, so sign up with one of those cxc maths places and organize how they could look over your work every week or something.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 19th, 2018, 9:22 am

For Maths just focus on one topic at a time. So do all the questions on one topic for like 5 past papers in one night. Then do all the questions on that same topic for another 5 past papers the night after. Then move on to another topic and repeat until you do all the questions in the first 10 past papers.

Once you comfortable with the work try doing 1 full past paper per night. Do it open book with no timer. Aim to fully understand and perfect your work. When you get closer to the exam date start doing past papers under "exam conditions". Closed book and with a timer.

You don't have to structure it exactly like that cuz I know your time is tight but the you can stick with the general idea of focusing one topic at a time first and then doing full past papers and then doing everything under exam conditions.

Don't get caught up trying to memorise everything in the text books. Once you read it through once and understand it just knock out as many past papers as possible. The nice thing about maths is that every question has a fixed answer and all of the information that you need is in the question. So understanding is more important than memorising. It gets a lot easier the more you do it as you realise it's the same thing over and over again.

PM me if you get stuck with anything in maths and need some help.

moving

Postby moving » November 19th, 2018, 9:24 am

6 weeks is more than enough time bro...
Maths
study the questions you have difficulty with, ignore the easy ones for now.
write all the difficult ones on a paper and study those answers every day until you are comfortable with them.

Social Studies
Highlighter and write all highlighted sections down in a notebook so you have a quick study notes guide that you can review everyday.

Worked for me!

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » November 19th, 2018, 9:27 am

moving wrote:6 weeks is more than enough time bro...
Maths
study the questions you have difficulty with, ignore the easy ones for now.
write all the difficult ones on a paper and study those answers every day until you are comfortable with them.

Social Studies
Highlighter and write all highlighted sections down in a notebook so you have a quick study notes guide that you can review everyday.

Worked for me!

Same here although i did study for maths in a weekend. Teacher was a lazy slob and she left us with an incomplete syllabus

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » November 19th, 2018, 9:51 am

Depends on the subject.if it's maths and English eat sleep and breathe past papers.my wife writing next year june

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » November 19th, 2018, 10:34 am

Sounds very possible , just cram and pop an adderall or two.

Agent_47

Postby Agent_47 » November 19th, 2018, 1:28 pm

Postby black start » November 19th, 2018, 2:59 pm

urbandilema wrote:Depends on the subject.if it's maths and English eat sleep and breathe past papers.my wife writing next year june
Coulda give she a few more guava seasons bro...

Op, syllabus and past papers are you friends. 6 weeks of dedicated work on two subjects could gain you decent passes. Coming on tuner to make ched, when you should be studying....not so much

nismo1325

Postby nismo1325 » November 19th, 2018, 3:05 pm

i never did POB in my life......
studied it for 2 months and wrote Jan exams and got a 1 so anything is possible u just need to apply yourself

Postby Rovin » November 19th, 2018, 7:07 pm

if u eh able why dont u take d exams in june instead .....

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 19th, 2018, 8:02 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:For Maths just focus on one topic at a time.

thanks for the really encouraging words, much appreciated

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 19th, 2018, 8:03 pm

moving wrote:6 weeks is more than enough time bro...
Maths study the questions you have difficulty with

thanks for the good vibe bro... did 3 maths past papers today, immediately followed with a migraine.

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 19th, 2018, 8:04 pm

maj. tom wrote:yeah you can do it if you do 2 to 3 hours of work everyday on each subject with past papers.

did 3 pastpapers today, i think it would be my goal for the day. thanks major tom 8-)

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 19th, 2018, 8:06 pm

urbandilema wrote:my wife writing next year june

good luck to the misses on may/june exams!

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 19th, 2018, 8:07 pm

kM_89 wrote:Sounds very possible , just cram and pop an adderall or two.

:drinking: got a serious migraine! from attempting 3 pastpapers!

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 19th, 2018, 8:08 pm

nismo1325 wrote:i never did POB in my life......
studied it for 2 months and wrote Jan exams and got a 1 so anything is possible u just need to apply yourself

nice motivation bro! congrats on d POB 8-)

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 19th, 2018, 8:09 pm

Agent_47 wrote:Lots of tutorials

d kerwin springer gentleman is a godsend to me! hes really good thanks for recommending him again

HSA

Postby HSA » November 20th, 2018, 11:30 am

OP..school isnt for everyone
men doing trade and gardening and making 10x more than bsc, msc and phd grads.

Postby maj. tom » November 20th, 2018, 12:04 pm

That is true. But u can't tell the man not to pursue basic CXC subjects. You only have one life to live and experience.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 20th, 2018, 12:31 pm

You can't cram for a maths exam. You need to understand the principles behind each area in the maths syllabus. Once you are comfortable with that, it's just a matter of doing past papers to get practice in applying those principles.

Let me give you tip for your trigonometry for right angled triangles:

Sine of an angle = Opposite / Hypotenuse (Oh Hell)
Cosine of an angle = Adjacent / Hypotenuse (Another Hour)
Tangent of an angle = Opposite / Adjacent (Of Arithmetic)

I never did social studies other than at primary school level, and at that level it was a cramming subject. I cannot speak for secondary school level social studies.

Once you understand the principles in each subject, and once you are able to give each subject a few hours study time each day, six weeks is more than enough time to study for the exams.

All the best with your exams!

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 20th, 2018, 1:10 pm

HSA wrote:OP..school isnt for everyone
men doing trade and gardening and making 10x more than bsc, msc and phd grads.

i know that too, its just trades isnt for everyone too, ive tried my hand in trade, im an okay at electrical, but the people you have to face everyday and that look people occasionally give you when you tell them your profession i just cant take it, im not so much thick skinned after all.
then i have alot of close family members are like why am i fkin up so much with life? :x
im like im trying its so hard handling school and work the same time, and my parents want me to work and forget about school but newscheck the kind of jobs available for people without 'simple' cxc is tough

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 20th, 2018, 1:11 pm

maj. tom wrote:You only have one life to live and experience.

your sending me mixed signals here? if its on life to live should i done away with cxc?

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 20th, 2018, 1:13 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:You can't cram for a maths exam. You need to understand the principles behind each area in the maths syllabus. Once you are comfortable with that, it's just a matter of doing past papers to get practice in applying those principles. All the best with your exams!

thanks!

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » November 20th, 2018, 2:09 pm

Start to smoke kush every thing will fall into place

Postby timelapse » November 20th, 2018, 2:41 pm

Mindmaps are useful, as well as using your time to study instead of being on tuner

Postby rspann » November 20th, 2018, 2:43 pm

timelapse wrote:Mindmaps are useful, as well as using your time to study instead of being on tuner

So much advice here he doesn't have time to study.