Imported Fuel Octane Rating - Knocking

ttphilip

Imported Fuel Octane Rating - Knocking

Postby ttphilip » February 23rd, 2019, 6:53 pm

Since the petrotrin fuel finished and now they selling imported fuel, I find my engine knocking.....anyone knows what the octane rating is for the premium and super that they importing? Anyone else getting engine knocking recently?

kripplerz

Re: Imported Fuel Octane Rating - Knocking

Postby kripplerz » February 23rd, 2019, 7:52 pm

Dude I thought was only me having problems. I usually put premium in my car. About a week ago I filled up with super 290 worth. Now the car have a bad misfire, it keeps missing missing at low rpm. Planning to drain the tank tomorrow or drain as much as I can and refill with premium and see what goes on.

Postby Kenjo » February 23rd, 2019, 8:03 pm

kripplerz wrote:Dude I thought was only me having problems. I usually put premium in my car. About a week ago I filled up with super 290 worth. Now the car have a bad misfire, it keeps missing missing at low rpm. Planning to drain the tank tomorrow or drain as much as I can and refill with premium and see what goes on.

Wait did you used to put super before all of this ? Why did you change to premium ?

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » February 23rd, 2019, 8:05 pm

I have always used premium since fuel price went up. Decided to try super filled up by the new gas station by Monroe road.

m@x

Postby m@x » February 23rd, 2019, 8:28 pm

having the same issue with the super as well smh

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » February 23rd, 2019, 8:29 pm

m@x wrote:having the same issue with the super as well smh

Knocking or missing.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 23rd, 2019, 8:32 pm

No issues with Super, and the diesel is even better quality than we used to get.

Postby black start » February 23rd, 2019, 9:05 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:No issues with Super, and the diesel is even better quality than we used to get.
Same.

Getting the same economy and no difference in performance!

Postby paid_influencer » February 23rd, 2019, 9:06 pm

no issues with super here either

orangelancer

Postby orangelancer » February 23rd, 2019, 9:33 pm

$180 super gas gives APPROXIMATELY 456 kms.
Therefore $1=2.53kms.

$220 premium gas gives APPROXIMATELY 525kms
Therefore $1=$2.38kms.

Doesn’t make a difference what fuel I fill.both gave APPROXIMATELY the same.
Car used-Toyota Axio.

Postby De Dragon » February 23rd, 2019, 9:37 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:No issues with Super, and the diesel is even better quality than we used to get.

But yuh eh find de diesel smelling stink now?

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2019, 10:16 pm

Yeah diesel smell changed a bit, it has a harsher smell, old version was slightly sweetish smell
Gonna drain my fuel filter next week

aidan

Postby aidan » February 23rd, 2019, 10:31 pm

kripplerz wrote:I have always used premium since fuel price went up. Decided to try super filled up by the new gas station by Monroe road.
Had the same issue when I filled super at that station last week. Pinging at low rpms in 3rd and 4th gear. I threw in a Schaeffer's neutra in the tank and it ease up.

Postby RedVEVO » February 24th, 2019, 5:46 am

The Diesel is BETTER now ?

Who saying this ?

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » February 24th, 2019, 6:34 am

aidan wrote:
kripplerz wrote:I have always used premium since fuel price went up. Decided to try super filled up by the new gas station by Monroe road.
Had the same issue when I filled super at that station last week. Pinging at low rpms in 3rd and 4th gear. I threw in a Schaeffer's neutra in the tank and it ease up.

Thanks for the info. I’ll try it.

Postby gastly369 » February 24th, 2019, 7:53 am

Susssshhhhhh bend over.....relax it..n take it

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 24th, 2019, 10:21 am

orangelancer wrote:$180 super gas gives APPROXIMATELY 456 kms.
Therefore $1=2.53kms.

$220 premium gas gives APPROXIMATELY 525kms
Therefore $1=$2.38kms.

Doesn’t make a difference what fuel I fill.both gave APPROXIMATELY the same.
Car used-Toyota Axio.

Toyota ftw

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » February 24th, 2019, 12:31 pm

The minister said we getting better fuel now. If u see any difference is just mind over matter... all the pnm vehicles working perfectly fine.

orangelancer

Postby orangelancer » February 25th, 2019, 12:06 am

fokhan_96 wrote:The minister said we getting better fuel now. If u see any difference is just mind over matter... all the pnm vehicles working perfectly fine.

Does any1 know the parameters used by the relevant bodies to test the fuels sold by Paris Trading.if the new supply of fuel is better,what is it based on ? What where the parameters of the older fuels produced by Petrotrin ???
I saw checks being carried out at Peaks Gas station up in the west.but those checks where to verify the volume of gas paid for was the volume of gas dispensed at the pump.when asked what the checks where about,the supervisor confirmed it’s just a volume check.

These questions are based on the following article

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/02/15/gopee- ... rom-paria/

Postby adnj » February 25th, 2019, 4:23 am

orangelancer wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:The minister said we getting better fuel now. If u see any difference is just mind over matter... all the pnm vehicles working perfectly fine.

Does any1 know the parameters used by the relevant bodies to test the fuels sold by Paris Trading.if the new supply of fuel is better,what is it based on ? What where the parameters of the older fuels produced by Petrotrin ???
I saw checks being carried out at Peaks Gas station up in the west.but those checks where to verify the volume of gas paid for was the volume of gas dispensed at the pump.when asked what the checks where about,the supervisor confirmed it’s just a volume check.

These questions are based on the following article

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/02/15/gopee- ... rom-paria/
It's $100 per copy.

http://ttstandards.ttbs.org.tt/stds.php?s=TTS%20269:2007

Postby nervewrecker » February 25th, 2019, 7:51 am

I filled yesterday, car startup real weird after. Like it wanted to die, no power etc.

but the gas in the tank been there about 2 months now. Less than 1/4 tank.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » February 25th, 2019, 9:14 am

Fulled Premium on the Cross and my ignition rattling on 12psi and then fulled Premium in Fyzabad Unipet and 16psi no ignition rattle.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 25th, 2019, 9:16 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

The Diesel is BETTER now ?

Who saying this ?

getting a lot better mileage on our fleet as well as the euro vehicles aren't smoking as much or giving off that black tar from the exhaust with the imported diesel

Postby maj. tom » February 25th, 2019, 10:07 am

For all anyone knows, there could be a new fuel racket in town. Like that big one where they found a whole network of pipes and selling the subsidized fuel offshore... And nothing happened after.

Postby adnj » February 25th, 2019, 10:39 am

^^ That problem disappeared with the elimination of subsidies. Now fuel is being smuggled out of Venezuela.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » February 25th, 2019, 2:51 pm

kripplerz wrote:Dude I thought was only me having problems. I usually put premium in my car. About a week ago I filled up with super 290 worth. Now the car have a bad misfire, it keeps missing missing at low rpm. Planning to drain the tank tomorrow or drain as much as I can and refill with premium and see what goes on.

yes i'm getting the same if the place hot.

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2019, 6:42 pm

Did an oil change and purged my diesel filter today, usually just purge after 5k and then change it the next 5k
It would appear the new diesel very clean.

IMG_7650.jpg

2865de66-e33c-458c-aefb-9f39b09caffc.JPG

IMG_8864.jpg

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 26th, 2019, 6:51 pm

TurboSingh12 wrote:Fulled Premium on the Cross and my ignition rattling on 12psi and then fulled Premium in Fyzabad Unipet and 16psi no ignition rattle.

I also full up on premium on the cross on monday morning and getting knocking. Consumption remaining the same though.