no u dont

mona's is a solid 5/10 on a good day

screwbash

Re: Best Roti Shop in Trinidad

Postby screwbash » February 21st, 2017, 4:40 am

S_2NR wrote:Shianns

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

shianns on tragarette road does have a best pepper. they need a parking area. the last time i had it they were in maraval road and it was best.
it have ah ali's in st james just after american stores, their food does taste plenty better than ratraj not to far away.

Postby SR » February 21st, 2017, 6:27 am

Shianns........one of the worst tasting roti shops in pos

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2017, 7:11 am

they have a good shrimp roti, real quick service

there is another hut further down the road opp KY electrical with an equally good shrimp roti

japan-r-us wrote:
cherrypopper wrote:U sure bai? ..The hutt on the main road?

Mother and son with plenty tattoos, outside indar's road side

I telling you boss, I doh play with my belly.... goat roti with medium pepper and a red solo.... you can thank me later.

vij_twincamgt

Postby vij_twincamgt » February 21st, 2017, 1:40 pm

Recently had a roti by Nita Roti Shop (after Chandergore, end of the stretch on SMR Road before Chase Village). One of the few places u would still get a tasty and sizable chicken roti for $20.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » February 22nd, 2017, 11:37 am

Ali's in Town Center , most consistent Roti quality IMO . I usually skip breakfast , and hold off on dinner if i eating one for lunch , it massive .

Postby Chimera » February 22nd, 2017, 11:46 am

De Dragon wrote:McBean Main Road opposite the Hindu school/Dindial's hardware, dey aite, and de bess beti who does sell yuh does help de roti taste too eh!

i now see this post is from 2015....that must be the last time their roti taste good

it terrible now

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 22nd, 2017, 11:59 am

those roti shops in back chain street sanjuan [where steves used to be] was good , havent had 1 in yrs but i find it was good back then ......

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 22nd, 2017, 12:05 pm

i see some1 mentioned burger\roti delight in montrose

generally they decent & i dont like to bad talk ppl livelihood but bought a chicken bussup shut there last wk & while u got plenty food for $30 & d buss up shut itself was good d rest of stuff like d channa\aloo , mango , meat was kinda bland , its like d cooks dont know how to average good how much seasonings\spices to put ...

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » June 12th, 2019, 11:58 am

"Hot and Tasty" is de place yes next to Dollar beer Pointe a Pierre road.

Rot soft and nice, and u can ask them to put a lil anchar or pumpkin in the roti.

Pepper lil hott too so ask for slight or medium.

Postby Slartibartfast » June 12th, 2019, 1:51 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:those roti shops in back chain street sanjuan [where steves used to be] was good , havent had 1 in yrs but i find it was good back then ......

You talking about Patraj. Their beef roti back in the day was hands down the best. Never made it around to trying anything else from them cuz it was so good. That was like 10 to 12 years ago though. They still there? I think I heard something about new people taking over some years ago. Not sure how it tastes now.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 12th, 2019, 2:05 pm

Never bought from Patraj, only Sylvie's across from them. Always enjoyed theirs.

Juman's in Curepe have the best roti skin but their curry is sheit.
Don's in Petit Valley have a nice curry, tastes good overall.
On the way to Maracas opposite the fire station have a good roti too, on the cheaper side I think.
Kumar opposite Hillview College for a bess curry. If you want to feel like you eating home or by a relative, vibes them.

Those are the only places I buy roti from.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » June 12th, 2019, 3:15 pm

masterkyle wrote:"Hot and Tasty" is de place yes next to Dollar beer Pointe a Pierre road.

Rot soft and nice, and u can ask them to put a lil anchar or pumpkin in the roti.

Pepper lil hott too so ask for slight or medium.
Oh yes now we talking, this man kno bout good roti.

Son on todd street was bess an all, till he sell it out.

Amins on cipero street not too bad

Had a place gasparillo jus before the quickshop on the right hand side, that was many years ago tho, dunno if dey still around

Postby Dave » June 12th, 2019, 4:19 pm

What about the Alpine Bar in chase village?

Postby hydroep » June 12th, 2019, 4:24 pm

Soul Collector wrote:Never bought from Patraj, only Sylvie's across from them. Always enjoyed theirs.

Juman's in Curepe have the best roti skin but their curry is sheit.
Don's in Petit Valley have a nice curry, tastes good overall.
On the way to Maracas opposite the fire station have a good roti too, on the cheaper side I think.
Kumar opposite Hillview College for a bess curry. If you want to feel like you eating home or by a relative, vibes them.

Those are the only places I buy roti from.

Sylvie's boi...dem still around? Shrimp roti was the must-have item on their menu... 8-)

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 12th, 2019, 6:02 pm

Dopsons for the west people. For central people, highway roti goes down good.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 12th, 2019, 7:38 pm

Dave wrote:What about the Alpine Bar in chase village?

YES! YES! YES!.... Alpine is the best roti in central. it no longer have any good roti places anywhere else as they cant get good help so they hire guyaneese, vene, jamaicans etc to cook roti and them just making ah mess of the whole thing. same reason you cant get a good doubles again. coupled with that is they want to make it cheap as possible with cracker flour, foreign used chicken, saffron instead of curry and no pepper as it expensive. they using cheap soyabean oil in the box now, cheap is the new way to legally rob you.

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2019, 7:41 pm

Where is alpine Roti shop?

daring dragoon wrote:

YES! YES! YES!.... Alpine is the best roti in central. it no longer have any good roti places anywhere else as they cant get good help so they hire guyaneese, vene, jamaicans etc to cook roti and them just making ah mess of the whole thing. same reason you cant get a good doubles again. coupled with that is they want to make it cheap as possible with cracker flour, foreign used chicken, saffron instead of curry and no pepper as it expensive. they using cheap soyabean oil in the box now, cheap is the new way to legally rob you.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 12th, 2019, 7:58 pm

My top Roti Shops:

1. Japs in Longdenville
2. Charlies in Tunapuna
3. Juman's in Curepe (make sure and ask for pepper, a little bland without)
4. Alis in San Juan is good too

philliprock

Postby philliprock » June 12th, 2019, 8:10 pm

ms Ali in gasparillo :) rel line by 11 by 1pm dey close... dys how good bro!!!

doh fuhget yuh red swee-jink

Postby A172 » June 12th, 2019, 8:37 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

wendy's on mc bean stretch plenty btr than alpine

Postby rollingstock » June 12th, 2019, 9:00 pm

agent007 wrote:Dopsons for the west people. For central people, highway roti goes down good.

Never me and Dobson again.
Bought a shrimp roti in 2017 and the shrimp weren't deveined. I still taste that sheit.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 12th, 2019, 9:43 pm

Alpine is not Preysal??

Postby Dave » June 12th, 2019, 9:56 pm

Right lol, never went but heard about it. You are correct.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 12th, 2019, 11:06 pm

hydroep wrote:Sylvie's boi...dem still around? Shrimp roti was the must-have item on their menu... 8-)

Yeah man, once I passing through that side I always get a curry craving lol :lol:

And yes to the Charlies in Tunapuna. Tried them back a couple times recently and was decent, forgot about them.

Postby RedVEVO » June 13th, 2019, 12:26 am

Juman's in Curepe.

They have the famous " curry stew "

Postby Dizzy28 » June 13th, 2019, 2:08 am

Tried Jumans last year as my brother in law insisted it was one of the best. Wasn't too impressed. Had the Curry goat and curry chicken and would be mid tier at best.

Postby hydroep » June 13th, 2019, 6:24 am

Soul Collector wrote:
hydroep wrote:Sylvie's boi...dem still around? Shrimp roti was the must-have item on their menu... 8-)

Yeah man, once I passing through that side I always get a curry craving lol :lol:

Doh make joke, ah go pop in next time I'm up there.

Another option in Sando is Gooptar's Cuisine on Gomez Street...roti does be big and silky. Sometimes they does scrimp on the filling but it tastes pretty good... 8-)

Postby zoom rader » June 13th, 2019, 7:03 am

How times have changed

Years ago when injun kids brought their roti to school as lunch, they had to hid it in a paper bag and eat it out of site. It was level ridicule. Now the very same kids that ridicule them are the one that have to buy.

Injun food come a long way

eitech

Postby eitech » June 13th, 2019, 7:08 am

zoom rader wrote:How times have changed

Years ago when injun kids brought their roti to school as lunch, they had to hid it in a paper bag and eat it out of site. It was level ridicule. Now the very same kids that ridicule them are the one that have to buy.

Injun food come a long way

What decade u speak of?