Do you take any offense to when youre called..............

Postby Ben_spanna » June 14th, 2019, 12:08 pm

Just curious, but when you do not at all know someone and they watch you can address you by your ethnicity do you take any offense?
IF they look at you and just say Aye Indian, or Aye NEgro ….. do any of you take offense? taking into consideration its someone of a different ethnic background to yourself?

Or should we address each other as SIR, Mr... etc?

Re: Do you take any offense to when youre called..............

Postby maj. tom » June 14th, 2019, 12:15 pm

you shouldn't because only people with lesser education and intellect would address another person that way. It's not to look down on another person, but understand that he/she didn't have the same privileges as you did to understand why that's inappropriate. So instead of responding, just walk away. It's not like you are going to change any racist behaviour in a single rage speech whim.

I noticing how these petty things always bothering you OP, in your endless posts about inconsequential nonsense where you imagine yourself to be a Batman type vigilante over other people's behaviours.

Postby MaxPower » June 14th, 2019, 12:16 pm

In their presence i would address them as sir, mr, mrs, ms etc regardless of their class.

But behind their backs i use words like nhigga boy and khoolie boy etc

Postby Ben_spanna » June 14th, 2019, 12:18 pm

Im not about to go postal one anyone, but theres a line when its just unacceptable, and it happens all the time, sometimes im just going about my daily business and out of nowhere comes a comment for No reason other than someone looking to get a response out of me.
Yes at times id like to simply correct them with a good speech off, but I choose to ignore it, but that doesn't make it right on either side.

Postby 88sins » June 14th, 2019, 12:19 pm

Depends. That is very subjective wrt who's calling, the person being called, the words used, the tone & context .
The overly sensitive will have an issue with it, persons that have had a very close friendly long term relationship will think nothing of it.
at the end of it all, it ain't about what they call you, it's about what you answer to.

Postby Ben_spanna » June 14th, 2019, 12:20 pm

88sins wrote:Depends. That is very subjective wrt who's calling, the person being called, the words used, the tone & context .
The overly sensitive will have an issue with it, persons that have had a very close friendly long term relationship will think nothing of it.
at the end of it all, it ain't about what they call you, it's about what you answer to.

Exactly why i said in the first Post- someone you do NOT know at all.... i have loads of friends who address me by my ethnicity but thats completely different .

Postby De Dragon » June 14th, 2019, 12:25 pm

I can't pass for either Indo or Negro, but the most frequent stranger "hail outs" I get are Rasta or Ras, Fari, Spanish and Reddo/Redman.

Postby zoom rader » June 14th, 2019, 12:26 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Just curious, but when you do not at all know someone and they watch you can address you by your ethnicity do you take any offense?
IF they look at you and just say Aye Indian, or Aye NEgro ….. do any of you take offense? taking into consideration its someone of a different ethnic background to yourself?

Or should we address each other as SIR, Mr... etc?
I get called injun everyday on tuner.

Postby 88sins » June 14th, 2019, 12:28 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:
88sins wrote:Depends. That is very subjective wrt who's calling, the person being called, the words used, the tone & context .

Exactly why i said in the first Post- someone you do NOT know at all.... i have loads of friends who address me by my ethnicity but thats completely different .

yuh kno, some ppl just overly friendly/casual too eh. so what they used to they will try to pass on to others.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 14th, 2019, 1:13 pm

Yup.
</thread>

Postby rspann » June 14th, 2019, 1:57 pm

Oh mih ni99a !

Postby zoom rader » June 14th, 2019, 2:01 pm

Only on tuner I get called injun and labelled a Hindu.

Then rspann say I am an old Creole.

Postby rspann » June 14th, 2019, 2:09 pm

Plus you living Embacadere and does hang out yuh laundry in yuh gallery.

Postby K74T » June 14th, 2019, 6:21 pm

OP like you getting fed up of people calling you 'Chinee'

Postby pugboy » June 14th, 2019, 6:30 pm

It’s against the law a while now eh
Equal opp law or something like that

Postby zoom rader » June 14th, 2019, 6:41 pm

pugboy wrote:It’s against the law a while now eh
Equal opp law or something like that
Yeah as with everything nobody takes it serious or up holds the law.

Postby j.o.e » June 14th, 2019, 7:57 pm

Where do you guys hang out that strangers refer to you by race ? I’m confused

Postby Rovin » June 14th, 2019, 8:11 pm

anybody who calls a unknown person by his\her race well u hadda be a illiterate , ignorant or had no broughtupsee ....

Postby eliteauto » June 14th, 2019, 8:17 pm

Rovin wrote:anybody who calls a unknown person by his\her race well u hadda be a illiterate , ignorant or had no broughtupsee ....
This just about sums it up

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » June 14th, 2019, 8:33 pm

zoom rader wrote:Only on tuner I get called injun and labelled a Hindu.

Then rspann say I am an old Creole.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 14th, 2019, 8:36 pm

Nope...no offense what so ever...small minded petty issues if you ask me

Postby RedVEVO » June 15th, 2019, 3:44 am

eliteauto wrote:
Rovin wrote:anybody who calls a unknown person by his\her race well u hadda be a illiterate , ignorant or had no broughtupsee ....
This just about sums it up

98 % Trini ignorant

And angry .

Postby pugboy » June 15th, 2019, 5:28 am

what about calling somebody by a race specific name ?
eg "aye mamoo"

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 15th, 2019, 6:10 am

pugboy wrote:what about calling somebody by a race specific name ?
eg "aye mamoo"

neither

Postby eliteauto » June 15th, 2019, 6:38 am

I don't find mamoo offensive, I grow up calling older East Indian men in homes Mamoo and Papi

Postby zoom rader » June 15th, 2019, 7:03 am

eliteauto wrote:I don't find mamoo offensive, I grow up calling older East Indian men in homes Mamoo and Papi

Its not , it just mean "Uncle" or mothers brother that's if its your moms bother. If its your Dads brother they will use "Cha Cha" Its the proper way to address elder injun folk. Look at any Bollywood film and they use Uncle, Anutie, for auntie they use "Poowa, Mousee or Cha Che"

Hope dem Spanish learning dis

Postby K74T » June 15th, 2019, 10:20 am

mamoo rader

Postby bluefete » June 15th, 2019, 10:52 am

Mamoo is NOT a 'race' specific name. it is culturally orientated.

pugboy wrote:what about calling somebody by a race specific name ?
eg "aye mamoo"

eliteauto wrote:I don't find mamoo offensive, I grow up calling older East Indian men in homes Mamoo and Papi

Its not , it just mean "Uncle" or mothers brother that's if its your moms bother. If its your Dads brother they will use "Cha Cha" Its the proper way to address elder injun folk. Look at any Bollywood film and they use Uncle, Anutie, for auntie they use "Poowa, Mousee or Cha Che"

Hope dem Spanish learning dis

Postby Rovin » June 15th, 2019, 6:10 pm

injuns uncles & grandpas wont mind being called mamoo but i advise only say it to ppl u know since its really a hindu word so dont assume u will get a favorable response from non hindus

as for cha cha & cha chi : as a child i mostly heard it being used around guyanese hindus not much really from local hindus , then again i grew up mostly in d city not country side where they wud probably use it more ....

Postby zoom rader » June 15th, 2019, 6:40 pm

Rovin wrote:injuns uncles & grandpas wont mind being called mamoo but i advise only say it to ppl u know since its really a hindu word so dont assume u will get a favorable response from non hindus

as for cha cha & cha chi : as a child i mostly heard it being used around guyanese hindus not much really from local hindus , then again i grew up mostly in d city not country side where they wud probably use it more ....
Cha cha and cha chi, is used by Madrass Indos same as kha kha and Kha khi. Heard it being use in st James many years ago as a kid.