Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes
47%
No
53%

Total votes: 191

Re: Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2019, 10:56 am

matix wrote:
hydroep wrote:

Young: No ‘boatloads of Venezuelans’
Julien Neaves

NATIONAL Security Minister Stuart Young has rubbished claims that Venezuelans are coming to TT by boat in the “thousands.” He was contributing to Senate debate yesterday on a private Opposition motion calling on Government to implement a strategic crime prevention plan.

He said in efforts to secure the nation’s borders a decision was taken to upgrade the radar system and it is operational. He recalled he saw the system in action last Friday.

“Despite all of the noise, all of the untruths, all of the attempts to mislead the population of TT with persons coming in on our southern coast the day after the 14th of June when the registration process came in the radar system – and I met with the analyst and the technician and I saw it for myself – one vessel, one vessel that tried to come into our borders from Venezuela.”

He said Siparia Regional Corporation chairman Dr Glenn Ramadharsingh has said “thousands were coming in” and another councillor “of no worth whatsoever” was “screaming, ‘Boatloads of them coming.’”

Young said these claims were completely untrue and the technology had proved it. He explained the technology was being used to analyse the data and look at pathways that were being repeatedly used and this was where the limited resources were being driven. He said a lot of illegal arms were being picked up and yesterday there was a big find of marijuana.

He said the intake of illegal drugs in this country has been reduced and this has resulted in some murders “because people can’t pay for the consignments their drugs and then the gangs deal with each other that way, unfortunately.”

He said a lot of illegal firearms and ammunition were available in TT and this was not only because of porous borders on the sea front but issues at Piarco Airport. He stressed the dismantling of some of the equipment at Piarco between 2010 and 2015 “allowed porous entry both in our legal airports and also at our ports.”

He said scanners were being used at the sea ports, Point Lisas and Port of Spain: “Despite all of the noise and all of the lies told, they are in use.” He added the dismantling of equipment at Piarco by the previous administration allowed the entry of illegal arms.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/26/young-no-boatloads-of-venezuelans/

These people really have no shame
So guns fly into the airport?
How these ppl know guns come in the airport, do they have stats for this?

Customs always using the large scanners at the passenger section. So looks like coustoms needs firing.

The cargo section seems to have lazy customs.

Maybe stewy little should spill the beans on his yatch club bros

Postby Ben_spanna » June 26th, 2019, 2:04 pm

So i suppose the lady who was held at Piarco with over $60,000.00 USD came here empty handed and earned that in a few weeks?
The smell of Illegal Guns and drugs is so blatent in this case...………..

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2019, 2:28 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:So i suppose the lady who was held at Piarco with over $60,000.00 USD came here empty handed and earned that in a few weeks?
The smell of Illegal Guns and drugs is so blatent in this case...………..
How many illegal guns have be found at piarco?

Are there any stats to show this or is it the Minster shooting his mouth ofg

Postby Ben_spanna » June 26th, 2019, 2:38 pm

Not the illegal guns at Piarco,- im sure it came it some other method, but there has to be a way once they are sold to make the moneys way out!

Postby MaxPower » June 26th, 2019, 2:45 pm

I hope those TTPS pigs keep their filthy hands off of her.

Charge her, dont touch her.

Postby hydroep » June 26th, 2019, 3:27 pm

CoP dismisses ‘rumshop talk’ of mass migration
Shane Superville

Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith said the police were working with their regional and international partners in performing thorough background checks and ensuring the safety of citizens, in relation to the influx of migrants from Venezuela. He dismissed reports of criminals being among the immigrants as "rumshop talk."

Griffith made the remarks during this morning's weekly media briefing at the Police Administration Building on Sackville Street, Port of Spain.

He said while the police were aware of the influx, contrary to the perception of some, there was no mass immigration to TT through illegal ports.

Referring to a television screen in the briefing room of the building, Griffith showed a photo showing Havelock Street, outside the Queen's Park Oval, empty. He said this was taken before the deadline for the registration of Venezuelan migrants and asserted that reports of a large-scale movements of migrants were untrue.

"Where are the tens of thousands? This (photo) was way prior to the deadline on Friday at the Queen's Park Oval, so why would people flock here in their numbers through ships, boats, submarines and hovercraft, but don't register?

"The wrong perception we continue to have where people love to give rumshop talk...I wish to assure the citizens that there is no such situation that took place or is taking place with respect to this mass influx of people entering illegal ports of entry."

Griffith also said while there was no cause for panic surrounding an influx of migrants, there were plans for the police to do their part in securing borders, which would involve assisting the Defence Force on interceptor vessels around the coast and in swamplands.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/26/cop-dismisses-rumshop-talk-of-mass-migration/

Postby toyolink » June 26th, 2019, 3:55 pm

I am still hopeful the COP could make a difference but sometimes the kinda nonsense that comes out of the mouth leaves me shaking my head.
Indiscipline of the mouth is our COP weakness and would only serve to make his life more difficult.
Watson Duke who recently asserts he his 'running his water to blood' still remains the master of the mouth out of control syndrome.

Postby RedVEVO » June 27th, 2019, 12:44 am

matr1x wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:Anyone here did geography? Especially the part with urban planning and development and the chapter on erosion and flooding.

Read and then talk about how "harmless " an influx of over 50,000 vene will be

Yes but the Vene come to work and progress

Trini only know how to lime and digress .

Maybe you. But don't lump us in your boat.

Few as lazy and good for nothing as vene. Good for groceries. Not much else

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/26/cop-on ... nied-bail/

Join this group ?

Postby RedVEVO » June 27th, 2019, 12:48 am

toyolink wrote:I am still hopeful the COP could make a difference but sometimes the kinda nonsense that comes out of the mouth leaves me shaking my head.
Indiscipline of the mouth is our COP weakness and would only serve to make his life more difficult.
Watson Duke who recently asserts he his 'running his water to blood' still remains the master of the mouth out of control syndrome.

COP is a politician .

Problems with Trini society is very very deep and troubled .

Trinidad is dead .

Again my audience is the young educated people .

Get out and go abroad , study, work and live a prosperous life .

Postby hydroep » June 27th, 2019, 4:09 am

UNC: Moves to get V’zuelans to vote
Carol Matroo

CONCERNS were raised by Opposition leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar on the possibility that Government will to issue ID cards to Venezuelans and other non- Commonwealth citizens to enable them to vote in upcoming local and general elections.

Speaking at the UNC’s Monday Night Forum at Aranguez North Secondary School, Persad-Bissessar said Government has filed what is known as Immigration Regulations in the Parliament, which they have applied to have annulled. This, she said, could be done with a simple majority.

She said the Immigration Regulations were filed a few days before government’s amnesty registration process for the Venezuelan migrants.

She said it was only brought to the Opposition’s attention a few days ago because the way the law was framed, it has to be laid in Parliament.

The regulations took effect immediately upon publication in the Gazette.

Persad-Bissessar said that a few months ago, at least one person highlighted that a Venezuelan person had a TT ID card with the same number as hers.

She said the changes of the Immigration Regulations will give power to the National Security Minister to regularise and naturalise aliens, that is, non-Commonwealth citizens.

“If you are a Commonwealth citizen there is a certain process to become a resident and/or become a citizen, but if you are an alien such as from Venezuela, you are not included in the law. This is giving power to a politician and a member of the present Government, the power to give these 14,000-20,000 Venezuelans residency, then citizenship.”

In a report in the Newsday on June 9, Venezuelan Ambassador to TT Carlos Perez said he welcomed Government’s registration process for Venezuelans in TT. He said the process will give Venezuelans an opportunity to regularise their status, get an opportunity to work for a year, and be protected by the country’s laws.

Persad-Bissessar said without creating a single new job, Government has now added thousands of Venezuelan migrants to the job market.

She said the competition for the few remaining jobs has now become very difficult.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/27/unc-moves-to-get-vzuelans-to-vote/

Postby hydroep » June 27th, 2019, 5:02 am

‘No citizenship for registered migrants’
Anna Ramdass

Venezuelan ambassador Carlos Perez got it wrong when he said the registration process will provide an opportunity for Venezuelans to regularise their status and apply for residency or citizenship, says National Security Minister Stuart Young.

The Minister also disclosed that the total number of Venezuelans registered over the two-week period was 16,523.

Young knocked the United National Congress (UNC) for “creating xenophobia” and dismissed its claim that the People’s National Movement (PNM) would use Venezuelans to steal the local and general elections. He was speaking on the debate on Tuesday at the Senate sitting of a private motion moved by Opposition Senator Wade Mark which sought to annul the The Immigration (Amendment) Regulation 2019.

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar on Monday drew reference to a Newsday report dated June 9, 2019, in which Perez said Venezuelans who are legally registered will have another opportunity to apply for residency or citizenship in Trinidad and Tobago or get a legal work permit.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/no-citizenship-for-registered-migrants/article_f97f665c-9877-11e9-bfcd-473789a91ba3.html

Postby matr1x » June 27th, 2019, 10:49 am

RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:Anyone here did geography? Especially the part with urban planning and development and the chapter on erosion and flooding.

Read and then talk about how "harmless " an influx of over 50,000 vene will be

Yes but the Vene come to work and progress

Trini only know how to lime and digress .

Maybe you. But don't lump us in your boat.

Few as lazy and good for nothing as vene. Good for groceries. Not much else

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/26/cop-on ... nied-bail/

Join this group ?

Point? Police officers haven't been disciplined in a long time. Blame Gary

Postby zoom rader » June 27th, 2019, 2:07 pm

hydroep wrote:
UNC: Moves to get V’zuelans to vote
Carol Matroo

CONCERNS were raised by Opposition leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar on the possibility that Government will to issue ID cards to Venezuelans and other non- Commonwealth citizens to enable them to vote in upcoming local and general elections.

Speaking at the UNC’s Monday Night Forum at Aranguez North Secondary School, Persad-Bissessar said Government has filed what is known as Immigration Regulations in the Parliament, which they have applied to have annulled. This, she said, could be done with a simple majority.

She said the Immigration Regulations were filed a few days before government’s amnesty registration process for the Venezuelan migrants.

She said it was only brought to the Opposition’s attention a few days ago because the way the law was framed, it has to be laid in Parliament.

The regulations took effect immediately upon publication in the Gazette.

Persad-Bissessar said that a few months ago, at least one person highlighted that a Venezuelan person had a TT ID card with the same number as hers.

She said the changes of the Immigration Regulations will give power to the National Security Minister to regularise and naturalise aliens, that is, non-Commonwealth citizens.

“If you are a Commonwealth citizen there is a certain process to become a resident and/or become a citizen, but if you are an alien such as from Venezuela, you are not included in the law. This is giving power to a politician and a member of the present Government, the power to give these 14,000-20,000 Venezuelans residency, then citizenship.”

In a report in the Newsday on June 9, Venezuelan Ambassador to TT Carlos Perez said he welcomed Government’s registration process for Venezuelans in TT. He said the process will give Venezuelans an opportunity to regularise their status, get an opportunity to work for a year, and be protected by the country’s laws.

Persad-Bissessar said without creating a single new job, Government has now added thousands of Venezuelan migrants to the job market.

She said the competition for the few remaining jobs has now become very difficult.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/27/unc-moves-to-get-vzuelans-to-vote/
Well looks like back door voting.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » June 27th, 2019, 3:50 pm

Express wrote:“We have seen a large number of Venezuelans in Penal Debe and they are obviously looking for employment wherever and whatever they get to do. There are a number of them who have been employed in the area and what we have noticed is that their work ethic is different from Trinidadians. They are doing a fair days work for a fair days pay.”

He said the migrants were willing to “do anything” for money.

Sieuraj said Venezuelans can be found in bars, supermarkets, retail outlets and construction sites throughout the district.

The language barrier, he said, prevented them from better opportunities.

Sieuraj denied that the migrants were being paid salaries below minimum wage. He said, “They are being paid minimum wage. I have heard one or two people in the construction sector saying they were paying a little more than that.

The employers are comfortable with their work ethics, they are prepared to work 7am to 4pm or 7am to 5pm or whatever hours they are asked to work. And employers give extra money for extra hours.”

The migrants, he said, may actually improve the construction sector in Trinidad and Tobago.

“We find that some employers are more willing to take them on than Trinidadians. And there is a lesson to be learnt from that because of the fact that for too long Trinidadians seem not to be prepared to work. They prepared to stand up on a shovel for two hours and get pay or come to work in an office at 9am and leave at 3pm and take two hours lunch,” he said.
Sieuraj said there were few stories of migrants being deceitful and conniving. But most employers, he said, were pleased with the workers.

“These people are prepared to work longer hours. So a job that would take a group of Trinidadians seven days to complete, these Venezuelans would do it in three or four days. So they are prepared to work longer hours and more assiduously with greater productivity,” he said.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/trinis-the-venes-are-not-taking-your-jobs/article_5f9936ac-98dc-11e9-9bac-871ec5dc3d64.html

Man said the same thing I said a few pages back.

Blaze d Chalice wrote:And definitely get in the habit of waking up early so you can reach to work on time.
Because when Jose or Juan loud you up for reaching 10:00 instead of 8:00 you will want to cry about how "look how we take them in when they was in trouble, and now they want to rule we"
&
I could just imagine years from now when Isabella loud up Kwami and Baboolal because is 1:30pm and them still on lunch and the work from the previous day not finished, and they will go to their lil whatsapp group and want to plan to kidnap and rape the woman and then say she was prostituting.

Postby MaxPower » June 27th, 2019, 4:19 pm

I know ALOT of business owners who are actually paying the Venezuelans more than what they would pay a Trini.

Most are very understanding and sympathetic and give a little more.

So allyuh failure trinis jus sit down dumb and jobless and feel that all Venezuelans getting low wages and being treated like sheit. The tables turn.

Postby Gladiator » June 27th, 2019, 8:08 pm

MaxPower wrote:I know ALOT of business owners who are actually paying the Venezuelans more than what they would pay a Trini.

So allyuh failure trinis jus sit down dumb and jobless and feel that all Venezuelans getting low wages and being treated like sheit. The tables turn.

Its truly amazing how much you hate yourself (assuming that you are Trinidadian).

Postby paid_influencer » June 27th, 2019, 8:26 pm

Gladiator wrote:Its truly amazing how much you hate yourself (assuming that you are Trinidadian).

pay should be based on performance, not nationality.

/not a real trinidadian

Postby De Dragon » June 28th, 2019, 12:02 am

Gladiator wrote:
MaxPower wrote:I know ALOT of business owners who are actually paying the Venezuelans more than what they would pay a Trini.

Its truly amazing how much you hate yourself (assuming that you are Trinidadian).

MaxCax doing this sheit long time. Ask the dumbarse to go Venezuela and live nah, and see how fast he changes his tune.

Postby MaxPower » June 28th, 2019, 12:09 am

When allyuh jealous AF suffering Trini boys going to wake up?

De Dragon you still ketchin yuh little kant to put food on the table for yuh children?

Get to work na....Venes outperforming allyuh. Only then will you win our respect.

Postby MaxPower » June 28th, 2019, 12:11 am

Gladiator wrote:Its truly amazing how much you hate yourself (assuming that you are Trinidadian).

Its truly amazing where you are in society?

It still eating you up Venes are the preferred?

Actin like a lil panty man cuz u cannot accept that other Trinidadians are no longer tolerating allyuh scum Trinis.......get with the times soldier.

Postby 88sins » June 28th, 2019, 8:16 am

Gladiator wrote:

MaxCax doing this sheit long time. Ask the dumbarse to go Venezuela and live nah, and see how fast he changes his tune.

When the year is up & these ppl leave & go home lewwe see what local employers go say & do.
Or better yet, when these same Vene's get comfortable & secure & they know they not being deported, when their productivity drops in comparison to when they were newly arrived & they demanding more $$ for their labor, you go hear how these same fools that were so quick to sing & praise cheap Vene migrant labor gonna be in a real hurry to decry them, deport them if possible, or simply stop hiring them

No matter where you go, most times migrants tend to work harder than citizens. Vene ain't unique in this regard.
& no matter if whoever believes it or not, history has proven that the moment a migrant realizes that they have almost all the same rights & privileges as a citizen & no fear of deportation, or they become a citizen, productivity drops off. Sometimes slowly, sometimes suddenly, but the usual end result is that it tends to closely match the productivity of the born citizen labor force.

Postby MaxPower » June 28th, 2019, 10:22 am

^ i fully agree with you 88, i mean it.

But its better than what we have now and we have to make the best of it. Its just a matter of time for exactly what you stated to happen....but we embrace it while it lasts.

I hope the average Trinidadian can learn from this. Adopt a similar work ethic and apply it.

Postby matr1x » June 28th, 2019, 10:59 am

The reality is management doesn't care about family life of workers. They love a slave like work conditions and hours.

Broken homes come from parents who struggle to be able spend time with their kids.

What can trinis do? Light up the businessmen who are hiring alot of venes. These act as beacons for more illegal immigrants.

Postby MaxPower » June 28th, 2019, 11:42 am

Hello Matr1x,

Can you specify “lighting up”?

It is very unfair for you to challenge these businessmen who seek better service for their establishment.

If Trinidadians had a positive mentality, it would be the Venes that would find it hard to get jobs, and not a crying Trini.

How boldfaced is it for Trinis to get angry when businesses and the paying public are realizing/noticing/preferring a better service?

Do not feel that ALL businessmen promote slave work conditions. These are the business owners that are pieces of sheit, treat both trinis and venes like sheit, and expect the Venes to turn around sales and also taking advantage of them. These are the type of employers that should and will be dealt with.

Jeez, allyuh jus getting more and more depressed and frustrated and your voices are rightfully going unheard because WE dont want to hear it. Get with the times.

Postby 88sins » June 28th, 2019, 12:44 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ i fully agree with you 88, i mean it.

But its better than what we have now and we have to make the best of it. Its just a matter of time for exactly what you stated to happen....but we embrace it while it lasts.

I hope the average Trinidadian can learn from this. Adopt a similar work ethic and apply it.

Embrace it, or reject it, or put it in bread with kuchela & call it a sandwich. it's all up to the individual business owner who they prefer to hire. But it is VERY wrong for business owners to attempt to absolve themselves & say that the Trini work force is overpaid & does not produce, when in fact they themselves are partly to blame for some Trinis slacker mentality. I does tell ppl. you can expect ppl to produce to $50 million in labor for $50 pay, but if you do you should also expect to be disappointed. A fair & reasonable wage matched with a fair & reasonable work load is the balance they should strive for, but nah, they want workers to work from 7am - 5pm and if they see a way to make more money, that worker must stay till 10 pm & work for free. no OT, not a subsistence ration, not even a half-assed thank you or bs promise of 'ah go fix u up in d week'. So, a good worker starts off happy to put in the extra for his job. But after some abuse, neglect, financial pressure, they become unmotivated to perform and after some exposure to these things, he realizes, he can't ajdust his salary upward to meet his performance, but he can adjust his performance downward so it'll be in line with his paycheck.

Now, don't get this wrong. I am not saying do not hire Venes. to leave them out, would be to subject them to a fate worse than what they fled from to come here. But I cannot advocate local the piranhas calling themselves businessmen and their penchant for cheap labor by exploiting workers, be they Vene migrants or Trinis, or the preferential hiring of Venes over Trins, solely on the basis of the cost of labor, for multiple reasons.
Trinis according to these business ppl are paid more but Trinis still ketchin they rass, in many instances living literally paycheck to paycheck on a $1K/wk salary. Paying a Vene even less than a trini, how well they go make out? & how long before said vene decides to demand more for their labor? What the employer (who don't want to pay more) gonna do? dismiss them? How long before these venes to turn to criminal activity to make up the difference?
And what happens to the hard working Trini youths that want a job but can't get one because of this preferential hiring practice? They are then forced into a corner with very few options of finding a source of income that they can use live on. Some might start their own business (easier said than done without capital or financial aid when you broke as a joke), lean on state welfare (a burden that will sooner rather than later be passed on to the rest of the population, businesses & their owners included in that btw) or turn to criminal activity (& you can guess easily enough who's gonna be among the first targets)

this will not end well, for anybody.

Postby nemisis » June 28th, 2019, 12:54 pm

This is the work ethic Trinidad business love, EXPLOITATION! Take what abuse we have to dish out and be happy to not be unemployed. If it was possible they would take a percentage of your salary as “tax” for the privilege of not being unemployed.

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2019, 12:56 pm

Level beat up over venes, yet still we have a caricom crime problem greater than ever.

Postby nemisis » June 28th, 2019, 12:57 pm

The beat up in reality isn’t about the vene, it’s the fact that these vene being exploited will inversely affect trinis as well.

Postby nemisis » June 28th, 2019, 12:59 pm

Most of the issues employers want to complain about in their work force is primarily caused at a management level.

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2019, 1:11 pm

nemisis wrote:The beat up in reality isn’t about the vene, it’s the fact that these vene being exploited will inversely affect trinis as well.
That's why they had to get registered in order for minimum wage to apply to them . They will get some level of exploitation, but they are free to switch jobs at any time.