How Much Does A Root Canal Cost?

Postby bluefete » June 29th, 2019, 8:29 am

Dentist is quoting $5,000.00 for a relative to get it done over 3 visits.

Is this a true refection of the cost and number of visits?

Feedback appreciated. Thanks.

Re: How Much Does A Root Canal Cost?

Postby maj. tom » June 29th, 2019, 8:35 am

More like $7k. Yes it takes several follow up sessions to get everything done. A root canal is a complicated procedure:

Gfycat Video - Click to Play or Pause
Last edited by maj. tom on June 29th, 2019, 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2019, 8:38 am

Yeah from what I have heard they have to make sure everything take out over more than one visit

Postby hydroep » June 29th, 2019, 8:44 am

Another option is to just do an extraction and done the story. Usually it's about 1/2 the price of a root canal.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2019, 8:44 am

Tbh, depends on the establishment...Caribbean Smiles in cunupia are probably the cheapest around and they do good work...I know a few of them very well...message me if you serious

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2019, 10:25 am

But you loose the tooth
And well and implant is plenty more money and also a 2-3 step process

hydroep wrote:Another option is to just do an extraction and done the story. Usually it's about 1/2 the price of a root canal.

Postby Rovin » June 29th, 2019, 10:38 am

its not a pleasant experience at all & yes 2-3 visits + big $$$

if u ever went thru 1 or go watch it on youtube , u will know why they charge so much

did 1 few yrs ago & trini dentists charge exactly what they charge in us cause i had googled it back then

make sure u do d cap\capping which is d final procedure or all what u did to d tooth b4 wont last , tooth will decay out in a few yrs ... i learn dat d hard way

extraction is waaaay cheaper of course nobody wants to lose any teeth ...

kstt

Postby kstt » June 29th, 2019, 11:07 am

https://rootcausemovie.com

Dentists say it's false. What else do you expect them to say when it affects their pocket.

Our evidence might be that Manning died right after doing one. You decide if you want to save the tooth or your life.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 29th, 2019, 11:25 am

Mine cost around 5k
3 visits

They wanted a next 5k for a crown tho
They still waiting for it....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2019, 12:04 pm

Op...spoke to my peeps...price depends on type of tooth

Molar $2600
Premolar $2200
Incisor $1700

If you need more info...message the I...

Extraction $200-$700 (simple- surgical)

VII

Postby VII » June 29th, 2019, 1:19 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Op...spoke to my peeps...price depends on type of tooth

Molar $2600
Premolar $2200
Incisor $1700

If you need more info...message the I...

Extraction $200-$700 (simple- surgical)

Those are damn good prices.

And implants ?

Have two broken root canal teeth top back on either side I wanna replace..bottom jaws perfect thank god..those two broke eating at different times..no pain no seepage or infection ,not visible but eating can be a lil tricky at times depending on food and well they're fugly..and sometimes yuh know we like to open we mout big ..and I don't wanna just extract them because you know they stil supporting and stabilizing other teeth..
Last edited by VII on June 29th, 2019, 1:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby X_Factor » June 29th, 2019, 1:34 pm

I paid 2700 about 3 yes ago for a molar
Done over 2 visits

VII

Postby VII » June 29th, 2019, 1:39 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Mine cost around 5k
3 visits

Go easy on that tooth ok...experience talking here.. 8-)

Postby *KRONIK* » June 29th, 2019, 1:40 pm

Lol

Yea
I figured that much
VII wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Mine cost around 5k
3 visits

Go easy on that tooth ok...experience talking here.. 8-)

Postby hydroep » June 29th, 2019, 2:12 pm

Once you do a root canal the tooth is dead and the enamel will get brittle and deteriorate — cap or no cap. So, I asked my dentist about going to implants one time instead of "wasting" money on a root canal since I will end up there anyways.

Man hit me a figure of $ 18,000 because yuh need titanium rod and all kinda shyte...:shock:

Is all right, I go live with the space between meh teeth.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2019, 2:18 pm

hydroep wrote:Once you do a root canal the tooth is dead and the enamel will get brittle and deteriorate — cap or no cap. So, I asked my dentist about going to implants one time instead of "wasting" money on a root canal since I will end up there anyways.

Man hit me a figure of $ 18,000 because yuh need titanium rod and all kinda shyte...:shock:

Avg of 12k for implants by my peeps

Postby hydroep » June 29th, 2019, 2:24 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
hydroep wrote:Once you do a root canal the tooth is dead and the enamel will get brittle and deteriorate — cap or no cap. So, I asked my dentist about going to implants one time instead of "wasting" money on a root canal since I will end up there anyways.

That's a good price man. Is foreign used parts they using or what?...:lol:

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » June 29th, 2019, 2:36 pm

funny enough just this morning wife & i went by dentist and i gotta get one done. she said its 3 visits and depending on what exactly needs to be done its around 5k-7k

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2019, 2:40 pm

a root canalled tooth is very hollowed out so any biting pressure is off the edges holding it up
like trying to pong a brick with a solid piece of wood vs a hollow bamboo

a padna had to do a root canal on a front bottom incisor, the temp cap and associated work was real expensive compared to a molar
he tell me his cost was $21k, and that is with his energy company insurance, so it must cost close to $80k

implant work could be real tricky too, if the bone below not solid sometimes they does pack in some human bone powder and leave it for a few weeks to set before installing the screw.

Postby maj. tom » June 29th, 2019, 3:07 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2019, 3:17 pm

hydroep wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

That's a good price man. Is foreign used parts they using or what?...:lol:

Tbh the owner has a good business head...why buss people head...he has the lowest prices in central and probably the most clients....if they were doing questionable work, I don't think it would have been possible for him to open 3 branches..

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » June 29th, 2019, 3:18 pm

About 4 years ago I remember a man said around $1500-2000 for the procedure and about $3000 for the crown.

Also for reference I think a man say in the US they wanted $3000USD but I can't remember if that was crown only, or whole procedure, or if that was even true.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2019, 4:08 pm

Just pray allyuh doh end up by a maxfax to do anything...

Postby K74T » June 29th, 2019, 4:10 pm

Did one last year, cost was $4400 with crown. Did it in two visits.

Postby rollingstock » June 29th, 2019, 6:15 pm

About 7k for root canal and Crown by gentle Dentistry. Crown alone was 5k

Postby zoom rader » June 29th, 2019, 6:25 pm

pugboy wrote:a root canalled tooth is very hollowed out so any biting pressure is off the edges holding it up
like trying to pong a brick with a solid piece of wood vs a hollow bamboo

a padna had to do a root canal on a front bottom incisor, the temp cap and associated work was real expensive compared to a molar
he tell me his cost was $21k, and that is with his energy company insurance, so it must cost close to $80k

implant work could be real tricky too, if the bone below not solid sometimes they does pack in some human bone powder and leave it for a few weeks to set before installing the screw.
I had the bone marrow done, did two implants at 15k each about 4 years go.

I takes 6 months to do, cause they drill your bone and screw in the socket. Man was using a hammer to set the socket in place. It shakes up your jaw bones. The bone then has to grow in to socket making a permanent bond that takes 6 months to heal. Once that is done then they screw in the post and set the new tooth in. Was a good, but costly.

Postby Rovin » June 29th, 2019, 6:27 pm

excellent post by peter shilling a few posts above

most ppl dont have a clue what a root canal is if they never researched it

& some like me learn d hard way by not getting d cap\crown put on : u will loose that tooth , if u already reach so far take d remaining presha & expense to put d crown .... otherwise expect & learn to live with a missing tooth

VII

Postby VII » June 29th, 2019, 10:40 pm

Rovin wrote:excellent post by peter shilling a few posts above

most ppl dont have a clue what a root canal is if they never researched it

& some like me learn d hard way by not getting d cap\crown put on : u will loose that tooth , if u already reach so far take d remaining presha & expense to put d crown .... otherwise expect & learn to live with a missing tooth

Your ever seen what they do to a tooth to crown it ? its hardly a tooth after they trim it,sometimes the crown breaks off at the gum line and your're left with half a tooth and roots..some dentists try to work with it as it still may be better than implants..depends on how much remains above the gum line..

I think we just have to be more careful how we biting as we get older yes...man I used to strip the hardest cane including biting off the knots with and peeling with my front teeth.. not ti mention crushing kmots with my molars !

Aging sucks ! lol..

VII

Postby VII » June 29th, 2019, 10:42 pm

What about gum grafting for receeding gums ? anyone does that?

Postby Ben_spanna » June 29th, 2019, 11:11 pm

There are a lot of dentists who do root canals that are not properly qualified to do so, and then you end up in serious complications and further expenses.