So soon yuh can’t cut yuh lawn before 9 ?

Re: So soon yuh can’t cut yuh lawn before 9 ?

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2019, 11:32 am

eliteauto wrote:
MG Man wrote:anybody ever use an electric whacker? How does the noise compare, and how powerful are they vs 2 stroke?

quieter but way less powerful, if however you're doing a small yard they work quite fine

Sounds good
My yard takes about 20 minutes if so much, of continuous operation
I'd be more inclined to cut regularly if I didn't have to deal with fuelling, pulling cord etc (yes I am THAT lazy)

Postby *KRONIK* » July 2nd, 2019, 12:22 pm

I have the dewalt 20v cordless
Really quiet
Runs about the 20min on high speed with a full battery.
About 35mins on low speed
Has a “bump head” too so its just to throttle and tap for string feed
eliteauto wrote:
MG Man wrote:anybody ever use an electric whacker? How does the noise compare, and how powerful are they vs 2 stroke?

quieter but way less powerful, if however you're doing a small yard they work quite fine

Sounds good
I'd be more inclined to cut regularly if I didn't have to deal with fuelling, pulling cord etc (yes I am THAT lazy)

Postby crazybalhead » July 2nd, 2019, 12:53 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Sounds good

My corded one paid for itself the first time used. It is really a good choice for a small space.

Postby crazybalhead » July 2nd, 2019, 12:56 pm

eliteauto wrote:people now are so sensitive to everything, once the sun is up the day has begun

Agreed. When you come home four o clock this morning blasting despacito, nobody didnt say nothing. Enjoy the song of my people now....

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2019, 1:16 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I have the dewalt 20v cordless
Really quiet

where'd you buy it?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 2nd, 2019, 1:39 pm

Its for sale if you interested
Really quiet

where'd you buy it?

boxy

Postby boxy » July 2nd, 2019, 1:41 pm

Op breathing a sigh of relief his stupidity is being masked by wacker specs.

Postby adnj » July 2nd, 2019, 1:50 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Sounds good
For when you get serious about quiet cutting.Image

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2019, 1:56 pm

lol how much land you feel I have O_o

Postby SMc » July 2nd, 2019, 2:02 pm

Really quiet
eliteauto wrote:

Sounds good

I have Ryobi 18V battery powered system-for the garden I have a whacker, lawn mower, hedge trimmer & chainsaw, all pretty quiet and very effective.

On the same system I have a circular saw, jig saw, hammer drill, 90 degree drill, angle grinder &hand vacuum cleaner thing- I have 3 batteries and 2 chargers and never run out of power even though I only charge the batteries when needed.

i now realise why I have no money :(

Postby Les Bain » July 2nd, 2019, 7:24 pm

Got one from Pricesmart when we realized the corporation or whoever wasn't maintaining the area anymore. It pay for itself the first time I cut the front and back yard. The string makes a difference as the one it comes with is for ideal grass. I've been using the 0.8 string that is recommended for gas powered cutters and there's less breakage when I push the fire break back and venture into the tougher grass. I noticed that the 0.8 cord cuts the normal type grass way faster though.

*edit:* Way less noise than a grass powered. The electric motor rev is preferable.

Postby 88sins » July 2nd, 2019, 10:34 pm

Swiper and spray can crew checkin een

Postby MG Man » July 3rd, 2019, 8:56 am

epic useless ched has become super informative!
Methinks I will be investing in an electric whacker

Postby *KRONIK* » July 3rd, 2019, 9:54 am

Buy mine nah bai
MG Man wrote:epic useless ched has become super informative!
Methinks I will be investing in an electric whacker

Postby MG Man » July 3rd, 2019, 10:17 am

lol I like to buy new ting wid warranty

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » July 4th, 2019, 1:07 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Fake news.
It was a satirical article by The Rundown, meant to be comedy.

Grass cuts better early in the morning?
Correct, saw that also.

ORION007

Postby ORION007 » July 4th, 2019, 1:28 am

boxy wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:But i could get on board with that tho....

This sunday, man hug up wife sleeping, a/c blowing cold, room nice and dark
6:59am wacker start up to cut the empty lot next door.

:(
Would u prefer them not cut it? Cause the cooperation definitely not doing it.
The corporation is NOT responsible for cutting the lawn on private property Sir...

Zetski

Postby Zetski » July 4th, 2019, 2:54 am

Electric wacker just as noisy but they not as powerful.. i had a black and decker that i bought just for around the plants in front but the spool was made out of a thin plastic.. after a little time using the spool break up inside and i had to buy more online.. even with more the same thing keep happening i buy 6 spools and blow out all so i take out d motor for an rc boat :|

Just dont buy any black and decker electric wacker with the spool thing to attach

boxy

Postby boxy » July 4th, 2019, 6:30 am

ORION007 wrote:
boxy wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:But i could get on board with that tho....

This sunday, man hug up wife sleeping, a/c blowing cold, room nice and dark
6:59am wacker start up to cut the empty lot next door.

:(
Would u prefer them not cut it? Cause the cooperation definitely not doing it.
The corporation is NOT responsible for cutting the lawn on private property Sir...
Yes that's what I meant

Postby adnj » July 4th, 2019, 7:13 am

Zetski wrote:

Electric wacker just as noisy but they not as powerful..

Just dont buy any black and decker electric wacker with the spool thing to attach

In general, an electric trimmer will be about 10 db less noisy than a similar fueled trimmer.

For example, a 1 kW Stihl electric is around 93 dB with a gasoline about 103 kW.

JayJayA

Postby JayJayA » May 5th, 2020, 2:46 am

Really quiet
eliteauto wrote:

Sounds good

From my experience, you can't go wrong with Dewalt, which is mentioned here, I have lawn trimmer and leaf blower backpack of this brand, both are quiet and reliable 8-) Though I heard that Echo trimmer is a good option too.
Last edited by JayJayA on May 15th, 2020, 3:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 5th, 2020, 2:52 am

csb time: The wacker man in my area that many neighbors use has a gas blower with no exhaust. It’s loud af and sounds like a chainsaw. I mean I like engine sounds but that noise at 6am on a Sunday morning is a bit much. He claims he will fix it but it’s been years now.

Postby 16 cycles » May 5th, 2020, 4:40 am

guy might probably go deaf...so it affects him less and less ....so why bother getting an exhaust?

Postby SR » May 5th, 2020, 6:45 am

Lots of trinis have suffered damaged hearing permanent and temporary due to common day bad practices

Postby De Dragon » May 5th, 2020, 7:19 am

SR wrote:Lots of trinis have suffered damaged hearing permanent and temporary due to common day bad practices

Earplugs, glasses, face shield and sturdy footwear is standard for when I use a string trimmer. I cringe when I see the rubber slippers, "ways dat yuh say" crew :?

Postby MG Man » May 6th, 2020, 11:36 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:csb time: The wacker man in my area that many neighbors use has a gas blower with no exhaust. It’s loud af and sounds like a chainsaw. I mean I like engine sounds but that noise at 6am on a Sunday morning is a bit much. He claims he will fix it but it’s been years now.

cur muffler off Lancer and start / rev every morning...when neighbours complain, tell them deal with theirfucking wackerman

Postby Les Bain » May 6th, 2020, 11:58 pm

I maintain a fire break behind the house that used to be maintained by CEPEP. Find the dry season conditions cause really tough spots of grass, so I real caching my ass lately, having to regularly stop to replace broken strings on the electric whacker. Would gladly switch to a gas powered but I doh have the space to keep one.

I kinda doubtful i have the talent to maintain a gas wacker too.

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2020, 12:19 pm

Les Bain wrote:I maintain a fire break behind the house that used to be maintained by CEPEP. Find the dry season conditions cause really tough spots of grass, so I real caching my ass lately, having to regularly stop to replace broken strings on the electric whacker. Would gladly switch to a gas powered but I doh have the space to keep one.

in the ten years I've had mine, I had it serviced by a small shop twice
What I learned is don;t store it with fuel...drain after each use and let motor run till dry
Now I use VP smll engine 2-stroke premix: doesn't go stale, can be left in the wacker, and no need to buy oil and mix...not cheap but for my twice-a-month, it's worth it for the convenience

Postby De Dragon » May 7th, 2020, 1:05 pm

Les Bain wrote:I maintain a fire break behind the house that used to be maintained by CEPEP. Find the dry season conditions cause really tough spots of grass, so I real caching my ass lately, having to regularly stop to replace broken strings on the electric whacker. Would gladly switch to a gas powered but I doh have the space to keep one.

What I learned is don;t store it with fuel...drain after each use and let motor run till dry
Now I use VP smll engine 2-stroke premix: doesn't go stale, can be left in the wacker, and no need to buy oil and mix...not cheap but for my twice-a-month, it's worth it for the convenience

Where to get and cost please, I fed up of this drain whacker sheit.
Les Bain, it is not hard to maintain, Stihl even has free service days at Ramlagan's Farfan etc. Just drain the gas, use the proper mix of oil/gas, store out of the weather, wipe down/wash after use.

Postby Les Bain » May 7th, 2020, 11:17 pm

Where to get and cost please, I fed up of this drain whacker sheit.
Les Bain, it is not hard to maintain, Stihl even has free service days at Ramlagan's Farfan etc. Just drain the gas, use the proper mix of oil/gas, store out of the weather, wipe down/wash after use.

Very informative, both of you. Plenty thanks.