Flow Internet Thread

chupacabra

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby chupacabra » July 18th, 2019, 12:07 am

bossmann wrote:If ping is that important to you then invest in a server and host your site yourself. Solved

Hi,
you asked about the 7 layers.
This guy explains it quite good: https://youtu.be/3b_TAYtzuho
Here also info about 'ping':
The ping utility was written by Mike Muuss in December 1983 during his employment at the Ballistic Research Laboratory, now the US Army Research Laboratory. Created as a tool to troubleshoot problems in an IP network, Mike Muuss was inspired by a remark by David Mills on using ICMP echo packets for IP network diagnosis and measurements.[2] The author named it after the sound that sonar makes, since its methodology is analogous to sonar's echo location.[1][3] The first released version was public domain software while all subsequent versions were licensed under the BSD license. Ping was first included in 4.3BSD [4].
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ping_(networking_utility)#History
Hope you like it!
Anybody with an IT background knows Mike Muuss is a legend!...remember when Macintosh had no ping! ...shiiite
Last edited by chupacabra on July 18th, 2019, 12:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

chupacabra

Postby chupacabra » July 18th, 2019, 12:33 am

Also a little remarkable that FLOW needs 17 hops to reach Google.com and Digicel only 9
Then amazon.com is only 13 hops with Flow but it still slow and digicel 30 hops but speedy

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 18th, 2019, 8:58 am

I'm aware of the 7 layers of the OSI model and 5 being TCP/IP, not 7. You indicated 7. I'm not sure if you understand what has been stated so far in the thread about routing. C&W and Telia is not going to change their routing to facilitate one user in a portion of their smaller customer base.

chupacabra

Postby chupacabra » July 18th, 2019, 2:25 pm

bossmann wrote:I'm aware of the 7 layers of the OSI model and 5 being TCP/IP, not 7. You indicated 7. I'm not sure if you understand what has been stated so far in the thread about routing. C&W and Telia is not going to change their routing to facilitate one user in a portion of their smaller customer base.

You don't seem to understand it is not one user it is any user, how can you think it would only effect me?
Perhaps when you have an ecommerce site where all FLOW customers from TnT get routed from Miami to London to Zurich to back to London to Arizona you might understand, I'm spending money at Adsense and website is many times not responsive enough = wasting US dollars.

Go ahead do a tracert you'll see you'll get the same result.

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » July 18th, 2019, 3:38 pm

E commerce yuh say....................post link leh we see na.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 18th, 2019, 6:29 pm

Lol. You are of the opinion I am not familiar with e-commerce sites. I can guarantee you I am. US and Locally hosted and still no issue with customer access

Postby redmanjp » July 18th, 2019, 7:39 pm

lchan485 wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/flow-wifi
Get 200MB of data every 24 hours
Flow Wi-Fi offers speeds of up to 10Mbps download and up to 3Mbps upload

you can do better than this flow
Yeah speeds Good, but data cap too low.
Should be checked Monthly maybe 1Gb.

well it free, cyah complain. some ppl who doh use data much can actually cancel their data plan and just use this if needed, provided it has widespread availability

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » July 18th, 2019, 8:18 pm

Not see any Flow Wifi in PoS yet. Anybody seeing it?

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » July 18th, 2019, 8:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:
lchan485 wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/flow-wifi
Get 200MB of data every 24 hours
Flow Wi-Fi offers speeds of up to 10Mbps download and up to 3Mbps upload

you can do better than this flow
Yeah speeds Good, but data cap too low.
Should be checked Monthly maybe 1Gb.

well it free, cyah complain. some ppl who doh use data much can actually cancel their data plan and just use this if needed, provided it has widespread availability
I guess only the account holder with the Flow ID can use it. Hope they look in to having a paid one to compete with mobile data provides

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 19th, 2019, 7:59 am

interesting article on "flow wifi"
https://technewstt.com/bd1206/

Postby Gem_in_i » July 19th, 2019, 8:15 am

lchan485 wrote:Not see any Flow Wifi in PoS yet. Anybody seeing it?

I picked up one last week by the bridge down the road by Sando Lic Office.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 19th, 2019, 5:55 pm

i used it alot today but more in Barataria and maraval

Postby Rovin » July 25th, 2019, 11:10 am

so i jes get a call from flow about special offer with faster speeds , a bunch of channels , dvr & features .... blah blah

seems like i have been selected for this best deal , now all i have is internet $234 so they wanna link me up with free install for tv & phone for $350\mth

i feel so special to be chosen :oops: , but i tell them nah i good with jes internet

anybody else get that special offer from flow ? .... :mrgreen:

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 25th, 2019, 2:43 pm

Do you currently have the wifi modem? I suspect they are trying to "upgrade" customers to facilitate their free wifi.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2019, 4:39 pm

This country has no competition in mobile data that is why Digicel and Bmobile are conspiring together to rape poor people.
Everyday Digicel raising their blasted prices and nothing you or anybody can do about it.

Thank god Flow come out with this yes

Postby Rovin » July 25th, 2019, 4:40 pm

they come like red n yellow

at home i have non-wifi , direct plug from comp to their non wifi modem

dont really need wifi as i dont use phone for net , got my laptop plugged in directly ...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2019, 4:56 pm

I does only need that Flow WIFI on the go to do lil small updates when I am around the country it comes in handy to check some wats app message, reddit threads and stuff like that I just open it in a new tab and keep it stored which lasts me until a next stop

Stopped paying that outrageous fee for mobile internet where they lie and sell you a few GB of LTE and the "unlimited" is actually 2G

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » July 25th, 2019, 5:30 pm

I have the Old Black modem with blue lights , with Wi Fi off. And my router as Wi Fi Ap. Yet still I'm getting the Flow Wi Fi strong on the same Channel as my network. So I'm guessing they can still force the service.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 25th, 2019, 6:35 pm

Rovin wrote:so i jes get a call from flow about special offer with faster speeds , a bunch of channels , dvr & features .... blah blah

seems like i have been selected for this best deal , now all i have is internet $234 so they wanna link me up with free install for tv & phone for $350\mth

i feel so special to be chosen :oops: , but i tell them nah i good with jes internet

what the name of that special hoss

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 25th, 2019, 6:36 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This country has no competition in mobile data that is why Digicel and Bmobile are conspiring together to rape poor people.
Everyday Digicel raising their blasted prices and nothing you or anybody can do about it.

Digi actually have a great offer now 10 days unlimited data for $35

Postby Rovin » July 25th, 2019, 6:44 pm

fred1266 wrote:
Rovin wrote:so i jes get a call from flow about special offer with faster speeds , a bunch of channels , dvr & features .... blah blah

what the name of that special hoss

i stop flow tv about 6yrs ago so i guess somebody going thru a list trying to woo back customers who left them out , same with direct tv last yr when i done with them too ... btw i have no cable or direct tv , antennae picks up for me to watch d local tv news & i stream shows\movies from d net

maybe u can call & ask , they might off u some kinda special ....

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 27th, 2019, 7:44 am

ok thanks

brickman

Postby brickman » August 16th, 2019, 9:47 pm

Internet outage in belmont tonight?

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » August 16th, 2019, 10:48 pm

Nah. I'm still up

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 18th, 2019, 5:52 pm

fred1266 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This country has no competition in mobile data that is why Digicel and Bmobile are conspiring together to rape poor people.

This is a lie I asked them and they said that no such thing exist.

In any event good thing for this free wifi on the go, no need to spend $300 a month, just need Flow land line is all.

Postby adnj » August 19th, 2019, 2:30 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
fred1266 wrote:

This is a lie I asked them and they said that no such thing exist.

In any event good thing for this free wifi on the go, no need to spend $300 a month, just need Flow land line is all.

Digicel has/had targeted promotions for 10 days/$35 Unlimited. It simply wasn't available to just anybody asking about it.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 20th, 2019, 8:43 am

Flow change their basic channel line on August 13th 2019

Removed A&E , ESPN 1 and ESPN 2, E TV, HD TV

Replaced with Darut Tarbiya and Sankhya .

Who do we complain to ?

Postby gastly369 » August 20th, 2019, 8:54 am

cornfused wrote:Flow change their basic channel line on August 13th 2019

Who do we complain to ?
Nalini Ramai is pleased

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » August 20th, 2019, 6:21 pm

cornfused wrote:Flow change their basic channel line on August 13th 2019

Who do we complain to ?

seriously what package you have though

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 20th, 2019, 6:51 pm

Basic or TV Essential many of the channels on that package on their website are also not available.