2009 Suzuki Swift

Kimmy2019

2009 Suzuki Swift

Postby Kimmy2019 » July 15th, 2019, 6:07 pm

Hi guys,

I’m new to this forum but I came here to find out what is the average price a 2009 Suzuki Swift , locally used is being resold for?

I bought the vehicle from lifestyle motors in 2009. I am the one and only owner of the vehicle, thus far. I repainted the car in 2016 but admittedly it was poor quality work, but I’m a female and i really didn’t know better. Since then the car has obtained a few nicks and scratches from the dog, the children at school and the poor averaging of other drivers. Generally when I park my car anywhere people seem to scratch my car with their trolleys , handbags or whatever. Annoying as hell!

But it functions very well. Took me from Arima to POS Six days a week for close to 10 years without any major problems and i think it’s time to give up my baby. I got a full cash offer of $30000 today , on the spot and I couldn’t go through with it because I’m not sure that’s a good offer. I need some good solid advice.

I have fully comprehensive insurance with COLFIRE and this year I was insured for $45,800. The policy expires in January 2020.

Should I really accept $15, 800 less ?????

Is this a reasonable offer for a fully functioning car with some scratches here and there ?

Should you really sell a car after 8 years ?

What are my options ? Help!!!!

Re: 2009 Suzuki Swift

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2019, 4:26 pm

got any pics you can post?
30k sounds low but it really depends on the condition of the car, mileage etc

Kimmy2019

Postby Kimmy2019 » July 23rd, 2019, 6:56 pm

MG Man wrote:got any pics you can post?
30k sounds low but it really depends on the condition of the car, mileage etc

239000 is the mileage. I need to take some pics.

Postby MG Man » July 24th, 2019, 9:27 am

ask 50k and negotiate from there
That mileage will def hurt resale

Postby *KRONIK* » July 24th, 2019, 9:41 am

I had my 2010 model for sale at 147k kms and catch my backside to get 50k for it.
MG Man wrote:ask 50k and negotiate from there

Postby *KRONIK* » July 24th, 2019, 9:41 am

And that was like 3years ago

Kimmy2019

Postby Kimmy2019 » July 24th, 2019, 10:19 am

*KRONIK* wrote:I had my 2010 model for sale at 147k kms and catch my backside to get 50k for it.

What the crimson? I didn't even pay $147k for mine new. LMAO!!! but then again I haven't done any mods to mine, not even new rims.

Postby MG Man » July 24th, 2019, 10:25 am

Kimmy2019 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:I had my 2010 model for sale at 147k kms and catch my backside to get 50k for it.

What the crimson? I didn't even pay $147k for mine new. LMAO!!! but then again I haven't done any mods to mine, not even new rims.

147 is the mileage

Postby *KRONIK* » July 24th, 2019, 10:26 am

I had paid 135k for mine at the time.
It was dealer maintained also
No accidents.
Car was in mint condition.
But ppl dont like dealing with old suzukis as lifestyle motors makes that hard on used car owners.
For a cheap, small car, keeping maintained with oem parts can be a real wallet drainer.

Postby MG Man » July 24th, 2019, 10:39 am

*KRONIK* wrote:I had paid 135k for mine at the time.
It was dealer maintained also
No accidents.
Car was in mint condition.
But ppl dont like dealing with old suzukis as lifestyle motors makes that hard on used car owners.
For a cheap, small car, keeping maintained with oem parts can be a real wallet drainer.

what sort of maintenance tho? My sis has a PDG Swift, and basically oil change, nothing else, granted it probably hasn't done 60k yet
But it's always been start and drive

Postby *KRONIK* » July 24th, 2019, 4:27 pm

Thats it
Car wasnt fussy

5000km oil changes at the company - $900 with oil filter

Brakes pads - $700 for the 1st set, then $900 for the 2nd, 1100 for the 3rd.
Brake shoes were due at 90k kms and was about 800-ish

1pair of rotors at 1700 each

2 stabilizer bushings at 175 each

I had K&N so i never buy air filters

A/c filter was 400-ish

Belts were waaaayyyyy overpriced.

It used regular NGK plugs and mobil 3309 trannyfluid, prices were fair for those.

Lil small items.....car was basically trouble free for the 7years i had it

The only thing i did outside the company was chang the a/c dryer (with an oem) and re-oiled the compressor

But what i trying to get at is that to maintain it at the dealer was financial strain (to me)
And i find for a lil cheap car, service items were way too expensive.
Imagine, a porshe windscreen was cheaper than a swift one.

Kimmy2019

Postby Kimmy2019 » July 24th, 2019, 5:20 pm

Oh right, the mileage was 147,000. Sorry I read that incorrectly. It really isn't a fussy car, you are right about that. In ten years I haven't changed much. An engine mount might be the biggest thing but I like the fact that small items are readily available. A seal that looks like a rubber band might cost you $45, when it's worth 50c but at least you can get it when you need it. At the time of purchase, I got 3yrs warranty or 100,000km and after that I stopped servicing at the dealership. I would buy the parts from them when necessary but have someone else do the work and I saved a lot of money that way. I started scrutinizing my receipt when I serviced at lifestyle and I realized that labour would be more than half the cost of the service, for doing nothing major.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 24th, 2019, 11:03 pm

Yup
Same here

After warranty i only did the major servicing by them

Throttle and injector services and tranny fluid changes.

Other than that was routine stuff.
Gas, oil, brakes

Sorry i sold it now tho. Sometimes i wish i had a lil car to run around with that can actually fit in places.

Postby MG Man » July 25th, 2019, 4:22 pm

kronik dat really eh no wallet drainer tbh
better than 'cheap' cars that eat engine mounts and cradle bushes every year
once warranty done, we never went back for oil change
btw the 1.2 Swift cost more to own re more suspension bits require replacement more often, but I doh really think of those cars as Swifts anyway ...more like basic transport for those who reaaaaaaaly want to just say 'ah buy ah new car"

Postby *KRONIK* » July 25th, 2019, 9:45 pm

At the time i was in UWI, so funds was tight
And was grande to uwi, so plenty kms daily.
MG Man wrote:kronik dat really eh no wallet drainer tbh
btw the 1.2 Swift cost more to own re more suspension bits require replacement more often, but I doh really think of those cars as Swifts anyway ...more like basic transport for those who reaaaaaaaly want to just say 'ah buy ah new car"

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2019, 9:11 am

*KRONIK* wrote:At the time i was in UWI, so funds was tight
And was grande to uwi, so plenty kms daily.
MG Man wrote:kronik dat really eh no wallet drainer tbh

sigh
in my day, sando to curepe taxi every sunday, and foot to everywhere else on campus