MASSY to unveil $125,000 car

Hyperion

MASSY to unveil $125,000 car

Postby Hyperion » August 30th, 2019, 9:48 pm

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 2b9c5.html

Massy will be selling the Hyundai Atos from September.

1.1 Litre 4 cylinder engine, for $125K.

I think it will sell like hot bread.

Re: MASSY to unveil $125,000 car

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 30th, 2019, 9:49 pm

aqua/note competitor?
will sell because "brand new from firm" pips

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 30th, 2019, 9:55 pm

Same way people actually spend money on Prius-C and Chevy spark, this will sell quite well

I hope nobody with a daily highway commute buy that yes, it looks like a deathtrap.

Postby maj. tom » August 30th, 2019, 10:06 pm

Also known as the Grand i10 in the India market, also launched in 2019 there. It's pretty bad for a car. I could just hear Clarkson's abusive commentary on this thing like a Peugeot 407 if Top Gear was still a thing. :lol:

Price kind of ridiculous considering it's not hybrid. Who in their right mind would pay that price for that crap when you can get a hybrid 4 year old Honda Grace or even a hybrid Toyota Fielder for less?
(btw the max. offering price in India at 7.59 lakh {₹759,000 INR} is about $70-75k TTD).

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 30th, 2019, 11:28 pm

If you see how ugly this thing is eh, who in their right mind would buy that?

You can get a Honda City with CNG used for less money. Or a Hybrid, I mean there are so many options, you can get a TCZ Diesel Hilux in like new condition for way less money than that and it still outlasting that car easily.

You can Get a Toyota Aqua boy the amount of things you can get for that money eh.

Any Toyota Corolla RORO for $125k is going to outlast that pile of sh!t. Nobody in their right mind going to buy this shitty Atos over a RORO Corolla or Yaris
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 3rd, 2019, 5:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dave » August 31st, 2019, 6:48 am

There is also the Toyota Agya something for just over 100k. Been seeing quite a few of those of late.

Postby hydroep » August 31st, 2019, 7:01 am

Every car has its buyer.

An Ignis is something I would never buy but other people do and are quite happy with it. They want something small, affordable and "new", the perception being that new equates to "trouble-free", "reliable" etc. This offering from Massy may be targeting that niche as well.

Postby A172 » August 31st, 2019, 7:44 am

financing is what sells cars

plenty people would not qualify for 100% financing for 5 years on roro but they will qualify for it on a new car for 7/8 years so them aint studying wah kinda car it is once they gt

kinda like the posters here crying down this car but bank still owning their pos cerato/corolla/jetta/crossover

Postby ismithx » August 31st, 2019, 6:43 pm

disgusting. tiny and 1.1L engine???? waste of money

Postby sMASH » August 31st, 2019, 6:54 pm

Somebody should come up with a nitrous upgrade package for when u hadda put on the ac.

This weather ain't easy.

Postby Les Bain » August 31st, 2019, 7:15 pm

I doh mind it for what it is, but that horsepower seems like a problem.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 31st, 2019, 7:39 pm

A172 wrote:financing is what sells cars

plenty people would not qualify for 100% financing for 5 years on roro but they will qualify for it on a new car for 7/8 years so them aint studying wah kinda car it is once they gt

kinda like the posters here crying down this car but bank still owning their pos cerato/corolla/jetta/crossover
I agree ( to the financing, not commenting on the posters bit). This lil putput will definitely appeal to some females who like compact cars. Already a cuz of mine fixing up her CS Lancer for a sale to buy one because it's 125k 'brand new'.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 31st, 2019, 7:41 pm

sMASH wrote:nitrous... for when u hadda put on the ac.

Postby gastly369 » August 31st, 2019, 7:42 pm

*load up trunk and car with family.. maracas beach we go... Rip engine
ismithx wrote:disgusting. tiny and 1.1L engine???? waste of money

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » August 31st, 2019, 8:04 pm

My lawn mower have more hp

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 31st, 2019, 8:22 pm

It is what it is.
An urban/city/hway commuter. Pretty much exclusively.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 31st, 2019, 8:30 pm

Let's be honest, if that had a Toyota badge, it selling easy like them Prius C... If they grey market would import them Hyundais and sell it cheap, throw in alternator, big battery.. real hard pong fitting in dat

Postby ismithx » August 31st, 2019, 10:46 pm

gastly369 wrote:*load up trunk and car with family.. maracas beach we go... Rip engine
ismithx wrote:disgusting. tiny and 1.1L engine???? waste of money

you forget the AC

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 1st, 2019, 12:03 am

Here is a small snapshot of small hatchbacks available locally and the output ratings. You all be the judge as to what can really make it to Maracas or not.

Mazda 2
1.5L DOHC 16V SV-T in-line 4 cylinder
106hp @ 6000rpm
139Nm or 102.5ft-lbs of torque @ 4000rpm

Toyota Prius C Hybrid (Aqua)
1.5L DOHC 16V VVTi in-line 4 cylinder
99hp combined output with electric motor

Kia Rio
1.4L DOHC 16V DCVVT in-line 4 cylinder
99hp @ 6000rpm
133Nm or 98ft-lbs of torque @ 4000rpm

Chevrolet Spark
1.4L DOHC 16V ECOTEC DCVCP in-line 4 cylinder
98hp @ 6200rpm
128Nm or 94ft-lbs of torque @ 4400rpm

Honda Fit
1.3L DOHC 16V i-VTEC in-line 4 cylinder
98hp @ 6000rpm
119Nm or 88ft-lbs of torque @ 5000rpm

Suzuki Swift
1.2L DOHC 16V VVT in-line 4 cylinder
82hp @ 6000rpm
113Nm or 83ft-lbs of torque @ 4200rpm

Nissan March
1.2L DOHC 12V in-line 3 cylinder
76hp @ 6000rpm
104Nm or 77ft-lbs of torque @ 4400rpm

Hyundai Atos
1.1L SOHC 12V in-line 3 cylinder
68hp @ 5500rpm
99Nm or 73 ft-lbs of torque @ 4500rpm

Toyota Agya
1.0L DOHC 12V VVTi in-line 3 cylinder
64hp @ 6000rpm
90Nm or 66ft-lbs of torque @ 4000rpm

Postby ismithx » September 1st, 2019, 12:14 am

Wait wait wait

Issa inline-3? *Pelts toilet paper at Hyundai*

This is garbage, at least Ford had the decency to put a turbo on their inline-3

Postby Spitfir3 » September 1st, 2019, 2:00 am

*googles Hyundai Atos *

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 1st, 2019, 3:01 am

with this heat and bad road that car wouldn't survive long...
i not judging nobody but i eh driving anything lower than 1.8L

Postby maj. tom » September 1st, 2019, 6:50 am

Postby 88sins » September 2nd, 2019, 8:25 am

List of the biggest problems with that matchbox on wheels
1-it small
2-it ugly
3-it weak
4-it overpriced
5- last but most important, is a friggin hyundai

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 2nd, 2019, 8:33 am

CroCro, 'You and your small car'

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » September 2nd, 2019, 9:27 am

Na i will stick with my Aqua.Then parts might be a problem for that rubbish.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 3rd, 2019, 6:04 pm

A172 wrote:financing is what sells cars

Eh...

I rather save that money ban my belly and buy a TCZ Hilux for $90K than this crap for 125K

The Hilux is LIFETIME, this crap is buy and dump after 7 years.

Hilux is Diesel Engine which means insane reliability, no need coil pack/distributor, no spark plugs no computer crap to go bad.
The Hilux is 4x4 so it going through that nasty dutty water when POS flood out.

10 year old Hilux easily outlasting that brand new crap for $125K.

Have you seen the tiny shitty wheels on this 125k car? that mashing up the first pothole it hit and Trinidad has worse roads than Africa.

Postby eliteauto » September 3rd, 2019, 6:09 pm

ED you always know what to buy....... but when you actually going to buy?

Postby SR » September 3rd, 2019, 6:13 pm

Mic drops........

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 3rd, 2019, 6:17 pm

eliteauto wrote:ED you always know what to buy....... but when you actually going to buy?

I have a PAY 101 corolla a while now. No issues whatsoever and it was made in 1992, gives less problems than most of these new model vehicles and maintenance is near non existent, the vehicle is built so simple that I do most of the mechanic work on it myself with the help of youtube, all my extra earnings from overtime I putting it towards building a house that I want to rent out. To me I found this pathway to be better than buying a new vehicle and forever paying the bank.

Next vehicle has to be a Diesel Hilux a TCA or something that I would like to have until I die. Not because of fuel economy but because of Diesel Reliability and superior torque which is inherent in Diesel

I am just pointing out something, one has to be well informed and smart about buying a vehicle, not run down something just to have the latest license plate. If money is the issue learn to cook food home, ban your belly and buy something cash so the bank doesn't own you.

Let us get a better perspective of this let us compare

$125K for this which will mash up the first pothole it hits or have to be dumped in 7 years with 0 resale value or will float away when rain falls in POS

Or $76K NEGOTIABLE for this Hilux which is DIESEL and a purchase for life that you will eventually hand down to your children and grand children.

Yeah me thinks the Hilux is the way to go.