Aquatic Center, Cycling Arena, Childrens Hospital. will they?

BRZ

Aquatic Center, Cycling Arena, Childrens Hospital. will they?

Postby BRZ » August 10th, 2016, 10:59 am

Such wonderfully built venues in Trinidad, the National Aquatic center looks very impressive, the Cycling Arena, and our Newly Built Children's Hospital, will they ever be used or will we have to wait until the government changes hands?

This is some really petty sh1t- well we didn't built it so it wont be used, what a load of crap, Its OUR money(taxpayers) We should demand that these facilities be made available to the public as its OUR OWN, whats the point of them sitting idle for a few years and then the new govt will have to justify spending money to Refurbish due to lack of use because of former govt.

This is the red tape BS that has plagued Trinidad for years and it must STOP now regardless of who is in power.
We have Stadiums that are going unused and unmaintained and we have so many talented youths that could profit from being able to use these facilities.

Wheres the minister of Sport? probably too busy taking a selfie and posting to facebook.

Sundar

Re: Aquatic Center, Cycling Arena, Childrens Hospital. will they?

Postby Sundar » August 10th, 2016, 11:17 am

Sadly there's nothing we can do about it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 10th, 2016, 12:33 pm

Thats Trinidad for you pal, small minded politicians who will allow billions of tax payers money to go down the drain because of their own personal ego, sadly nothing we can do about this

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 10th, 2016, 12:48 pm

Under a rock are we?

Postby K74T » August 10th, 2016, 1:00 pm

Time to migrate OP, this country isn't for you.

baigan

Postby baigan » August 10th, 2016, 1:16 pm

Id love to ride on the new track someday

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 10th, 2016, 1:22 pm

Tickets selling for a meet at the cycling center right now, saw an add on le book of faces. At least that's starting to be used.

Postby K74T » August 10th, 2016, 2:20 pm

Postby Team Loco » August 10th, 2016, 2:22 pm

i just came from the aquatic centre about an hr ago. decided to pass by. security at the stadium say fix up. its truly sad and from what i can see there is no intention to open that aquatic centre soon. although i have seen signs erected recently off highway, directing you to the centre. sadly all the main doors, pump room doors are open. valuable furniture etc are open to the public. uncut grass and all air condition systems are running. most of the glasses on the building are stained. why allow these magnificent places to run down? the pools are in order though. there is still work to be done. saw some unpainted handrails. the kiddy area is super impressive. really nice

i hope we dont allow these places to deteriorate further

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 10th, 2016, 2:42 pm

whats the point of them sitting idle for a few years and then the new govt will have to justify spending money to Refurbish due to lack of use because of former govt.

You answer yourself dey.

baigan

Postby baigan » August 10th, 2016, 4:25 pm

PapaC wrote:Tickets selling for a meet at the cycling center right now, saw an add on le book of faces. At least that's starting to be used.

Thx :) I'll look out for that

Postby Kenjo » August 10th, 2016, 6:52 pm

It has some big regional meet for cycling that they advertised just yesterday on news so OP I kind of off. Read the newspapers nah

Postby De Dragon » August 10th, 2016, 8:12 pm

Some cyathole will come on during a press conference to say that they are "construction sites". yet months after with no construction being done, they will be declared ready. By then, the new Government will hope that they will be credited for it because of Trinis 9 day memory span.

Postby K74T » September 13th, 2019, 12:14 pm

FB_IMG_1568391132088.jpeg

Postby rspann » September 13th, 2019, 12:16 pm

The PNM ,working for you! We opening it soon. January or early February please God.

Postby zoom rader » September 13th, 2019, 12:36 pm

The recent vast improvements of TT track cyclists was all due to the UNC for providing a world class velodrome.

But it's really sad that the TT cycling body are 90% pro PNM.

Since PNM stole office funding for cycling has been drastically cut where cyclists have to pay for their own way in representing TT abroad.

Postby rspann » September 13th, 2019, 1:25 pm

Boy you mad? Is de PNM open the cycling and aquatic center.

National Aquatic Centre now open LOOP NEWS CREATED : 1 OCTOBER 2016 SPORT
Share to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to LinkedInShare to WhatsAppShare to MessengerShare to EmailShare to TelegramShare to More60
Minister of Sport Darryl Smith wants the new National Aquatic Center in Couva to be a hub of sporting, social and cultural activities.

The Minister declared the spanking new facility open on Friday evening and said he wanted corporate Trinidad and Tobago to get involved.

“We don’t want to just be good hosts or just to maintain it well; we want to have events happening here all the time," said Minister Smith.

"Not just swimming, water polo and diving events, but we want corporate Trinidad and Tobago to rent the facility for their Christmas functions, weddings—at this fantastic facility,” he added.

Yona Knight-Wisdom, the first Jamaican male diver to qualify for the Olympics, was on hand for the opening ceremony to perform exhibition dives.

When he addressed the crowd at the National Aquatic Center, he said he hoped that he would have the opportunity to compete one day at the venue.

“Hopefully, this will be the start of the growth of the sport (of diving) in Trinidad and Tobago. Maybe in the future we can host some competitions here,” he told the audience at Couva.

In addition to the diving exhibition, there were also male and female water polo games, involving teams from Puerto Rico, Bahamas, and hosts Trinidad and Tobago.

President of the Amateur Swimming Association of Trinidad and Tobago (ASATT) Joseph McLeod said he hoped that the country can use the facility to show the world the talent that Trinidad and Tobago has.

The National Aquatic Centre is one of three mega-projects undertaken by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago, and constructed by Shanghai Construction Limited.

The other two major projects have already been handed over to government, the National Racquet Centre and the National Cycling Velodrome.

The National Aquatic Centre is designed for swimming, diving, water polo and synchronized swimming.

It has a 50-meter pool designed for hosting and training for international events, a 50-meter warm-up pool, a 25-meter diving pool and seating for 700 persons.

Postby rspann » September 13th, 2019, 1:27 pm

I know allyuh build it, but opening it more important. It coulda stay closed like the hospital.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 13th, 2019, 1:37 pm

Funny thing is that one day those same politicians or their children will suffer and die because of the lack of medical facilities and resources in this country...

Anybody remember where Patrick Manning death bed was? San Fernando General... Couldn't reach Cuba in time...

Postby Ben_spanna » September 13th, 2019, 2:41 pm

Would be nice if our polishitians get their heads from so far up their behinds and just open whatever the prior administration started. We are the people that will stand to benefit from better infrastructure regardless of which party did what, I dont know why the egos of our ministers are so over inflated that they would put false pride before country and people.
You were elected to do a job, then get off your worthless behind and do your job. Stop pointing fingers and diverting blame.

Postby The_Honourable » September 13th, 2019, 3:54 pm

Wait, dey paint off the flag and the color blocks? lol

As mentioned in another topic, we shut down or rename projects that was done by your political opponent.

A few weeks again, they might have named it the Linda Baboolal Hospital.

Postby De Dragon » September 15th, 2019, 10:33 am

rspann wrote:Boy you mad? Is de PNM open the cycling and aquatic center.

National Aquatic Centre now open LOOP NEWS CREATED : 1 OCTOBER 2016 SPORT
Share to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to LinkedInShare to WhatsAppShare to MessengerShare to EmailShare to TelegramShare to More60
Minister of Sport Darryl Smith wants the new National Aquatic Center in Couva to be a hub of sporting, social and cultural activities.

The Minister declared the spanking new facility open on Friday evening and said he wanted corporate Trinidad and Tobago to get involved.

“We don’t want to just be good hosts or just to maintain it well; we want to have events happening here all the time," said Minister Smith.

"Not just swimming, water polo and diving events, but we want corporate Trinidad and Tobago to rent the facility for their Christmas functions, weddings—at this fantastic facility,” he added.

Yona Knight-Wisdom, the first Jamaican male diver to qualify for the Olympics, was on hand for the opening ceremony to perform exhibition dives.

When he addressed the crowd at the National Aquatic Center, he said he hoped that he would have the opportunity to compete one day at the venue.

“Hopefully, this will be the start of the growth of the sport (of diving) in Trinidad and Tobago. Maybe in the future we can host some competitions here,” he told the audience at Couva.

In addition to the diving exhibition, there were also male and female water polo games, involving teams from Puerto Rico, Bahamas, and hosts Trinidad and Tobago.

President of the Amateur Swimming Association of Trinidad and Tobago (ASATT) Joseph McLeod said he hoped that the country can use the facility to show the world the talent that Trinidad and Tobago has.

The National Aquatic Centre is one of three mega-projects undertaken by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago, and constructed by Shanghai Construction Limited.

The other two major projects have already been handed over to government, the National Racquet Centre and the National Cycling Velodrome.

The National Aquatic Centre is designed for swimming, diving, water polo and synchronized swimming.

It has a 50-meter pool designed for hosting and training for international events, a 50-meter warm-up pool, a 25-meter diving pool and seating for 700 persons.

Bamsee Squeezers gon' bamsee squeeze..................

Postby j.o.e » September 15th, 2019, 11:50 am

vaiostation wrote:Funny thing is that one day those same politicians or their children will suffer and die because of the lack of medical facilities and resources in this country...

Anybody remember where Patrick Manning death bed was? San Fernando General... Couldn't reach Cuba in time...

News flash.
All the medical facilities in the world not gonna keep you alive forever. Yuh gonna dead.
People die.

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2019, 11:57 am

We get a cycling world record so far

Postby zoom rader » September 15th, 2019, 12:19 pm

pugboy wrote:We get a cycling world record so far
Yup and all thanks to UNC/PP for building not one but TWO veledromes

Who can name the other veledrome besides the National veledrome that was built by the UNC?

Postby zoom rader » September 15th, 2019, 1:07 pm

Rohan spann answer the question nah^^^

Postby rspann » September 15th, 2019, 1:35 pm

I sure you want to say is Palo Seco. But Me eh even know where that is. Once I cross Caroni bridge I lost.

Postby zoom rader » September 15th, 2019, 2:02 pm

rspann wrote:I sure you want to say is Palo Seco. But Me eh even know where that is. Once I cross Caroni bridge I lost.
Nah not Palo seco, but it in South.

Postby rspann » September 15th, 2019, 2:05 pm

PNM musbe build it and UNC open it? This is PNM country.

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2019, 2:13 pm

Siparia