R.I.P 80s Singer EDDIE MONEY ... RIC OCASEK of THE CARS died too ....

Postby Rovin » September 13th, 2019, 12:45 pm

THREAD TITLE UPDATED

Ric Ocasek age 75 , famed front man for The Cars rock band, has been found dead by his ex wife in a Manhattan apartment.

The New York City police department said there was no sign of foul play and that the medical examiner was to determine a cause of death.

allyuh younglings wont know him but he had some good songs back in d 80s ...

https://people.com/music/eddie-money-dead-70/

Eighties hitmaker Eddie Money died on Friday following complications from stage 4 esophageal cancer. He was 70 years old.

“The Money family regrets to announce that Eddie passed away peacefully early this morning,” his family said in a statement to PEOPLE. “It is with heavy hearts that we say goodbye to our loving husband and father. We cannot imagine our world without him. We are grateful that he will live on forever through his music.”
The “Two Tickets to Paradise” singer’s death came less than a month after he announced that he had been diagnosed with the disease.
“I thought I was just going in to get a checkup and [the doctor] told me that I got cancer,” Money said in a clip from season two of his reality show Real Money. The show follows the daily lives of the musician, his wife Laurie and their five children.

Last edited by Rovin on September 16th, 2019, 5:55 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Re: 80s Singer Eddie Money Dies ...

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2019, 2:17 pm

I wonder if he wants to go back and do it all over

Postby Dizzy28 » September 13th, 2019, 4:21 pm

Young uns would probably know him from the Geico ad where he runs a travel agency.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PWTgwvh4v1w

Postby maj. tom » September 13th, 2019, 4:29 pm

Oh Gosh.
R.I.P. Edward Mahoney.

Postby Rovin » September 13th, 2019, 5:39 pm

ay i 4get bout dat 1 , 7yrs ago but even at that time d youngsters who wouldnt know must be wondering who is dat crazy looking man & wud have no clue what was d reference there ....

Dizzy28 wrote:Young uns would probably know him from the Geico ad where he runs a travel agency.

hold a few more of his songs

man even had a song named TRINIDAD ...

Last edited by Rovin on September 13th, 2019, 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 13th, 2019, 5:43 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Young uns would probably know him from the Geico ad where he runs a travel agency.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PWTgwvh4v1w
Guilty.... But I was aware of the songs... They're on my *beach drive home* playlist

Postby The_Honourable » September 13th, 2019, 5:53 pm

Take Me Home Tonight and Love and Affection by Nelson puts me in that 80's mode... the guitar startup nah...

R.I.P.

Re: 80s Singer EDDIE MONEY Dies ...

Postby K74T » September 15th, 2019, 9:38 pm

Another one

20190915_213757.jpeg

Re: 80s Singer EDDIE MONEY Dies ...

Postby The_Honourable » September 15th, 2019, 11:35 pm

Wow damn another one...R.I.P

Re: 80s Singer EDDIE MONEY Dies ... RIC OCASEK of THE CARS dies too ....

Postby Rovin » September 16th, 2019, 4:14 pm

thread title updated ***

another good 1 gone from that generation of quality timeless music

though DRIVE was their biggest hit it was sung by another member of d group

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drive_(Cars_song)

"Drive" is a 1984 song by the Cars, the third single from the band's Heartbeat City album released in March 1984 and their biggest international hit. Written by Ric Ocasek, the track was sung by bassist Benjamin Orr[1] and produced by Robert John "Mutt" Lange with the band.[2] Upon its release, "Drive" became The Cars' highest charting single in most territories. In the United States, it peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart; on the Adult Contemporary chart, the song went to No. 1.[3] It reached No. 5 (No. 4 on re-entry in 1985) in the United Kingdom, No. 4 in West Germany, No. 6 in Canada and No. 3 (No. 5 on re-entry in 1985) in Ireland.

Benjamin Orr was a good singer in his own right too - died since 2000 ...