Trinidad on Wall Street: we ring a bell. Jamaica? They get "best economy" interview...

Postby Monk BANzai » November 7th, 2019, 1:41 pm

WHAT ARE WE DOING WRONG? ...steups..... and doh tell me we win some stupid tourist award (come in second)....

Marlene Street-Forrest, Managing Director of the @jamstockex, speaks on Bloomberg about the performance of the exchange and growth of the Jamaican economy ...There is no US-based ETF (Exchange-traded Fund) that gives investors easy access to investing in the #Jamaican stock market, the best performing one in the world.

Re: Trinidad on Wall Street: we ring a bell. Jamaica? They get "best economy" interview...

Postby Les Bain » November 7th, 2019, 1:50 pm

Seeing how youth culture deepthroats Jamaica hard, maybe this is a good thing for Trinidad.

Re: Trinidad on Wall Street: we ring a bell. Jamaica? They get "best economy" interview...

Postby Monk BANzai » November 7th, 2019, 1:52 pm

Les Bain wrote:Seeing how youth culture deepthroats Jamaica hard, maybe this is a good thing for Trinidad.

listen.....man...... smh.. i done..

Postby hydroep » November 7th, 2019, 1:56 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:WHAT ARE WE DOING WRONG? ...

We does take on other people problems...like Air Jamaica; pay to build other people infrastructure and then either get payback with rice or forgive said debts while we ketching we arse. Buh say what, money eh no problem...:|

Postby zoom rader » November 7th, 2019, 2:00 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:WHAT ARE WE DOING WRONG? ...steups..... and doh tell me we win some stupid tourist award (come in second)....

Marlene Street-Forrest, Managing Director of the @jamstockex, speaks on Bloomberg about the performance of the exchange and growth of the Jamaican economy ...There is no US-based ETF (Exchange-traded Fund) that gives investors easy access to investing in the #Jamaican stock market, the best performing one in the world.

What we doing wrong?

oh boy I don't know how else to spell it out for you and the rest

Postby bluefete » November 7th, 2019, 2:05 pm

I told you all already - when the IMF could praise J'ca's economic growth, you know things are real.

Ragnor

Postby Ragnor » November 7th, 2019, 2:16 pm

The problem is mainly two things.

1) Trinidad has an issue with people revealing their financials publicly. There is this cultural issue for many people especially those who have businesses and keep rolling over debt. Also those companies in money laundering.

2) The more financial reason has to do with something called the "WACC." Theoretically, the Cost of Equity (issuing shares to shareholders) supposes to be higher than the Cost of Debt (borrowing or issuing bonds). However, in Jamaica, they have the HIGHEST lending interest rates regionally (mainly due to inflation). So it is cheaper for companies to list on the exchange b/c of the tax benefits and the cost associated with doing so.

Postby matr1x » November 7th, 2019, 2:35 pm

Crime...reveal your wealth, get robbed or kidnapped. Pnm. Pnm bring over louse from other islands to voter pad. Pnm drain the treasury. Squander the 2 oil booms.

Postby Monk BANzai » November 7th, 2019, 2:41 pm

Ragnor wrote:The problem is mainly two things.

1) Trinidad has an issue with people revealing their financials publicly. There is this cultural issue for many people especially those who have businesses and keep rolling over debt. Also those companies in money laundering.

2) The more financial reason has to do with something called the "WACC." Theoretically, the Cost of Equity (issuing shares to shareholders) supposes to be higher than the Cost of Debt (borrowing or issuing bonds). However, in Jamaica, they have the HIGHEST lending interest rates regionally (mainly due to inflation). So it is cheaper for companies to list on the exchange b/c of the tax benefits and the cost associated with doing so.

agreed...... like Trinidad in ICT...we have tended to respond to its poor ranking in such indices with kneejerk efforts to raise the perception of activity instead of the measured, focused work that Jamaica has been putting in to develop a robust ICT governance infrastructure. The same applies across the board.

You get there, apparently, by going there, rather than trying to go everywhere.

Postby Redman » November 7th, 2019, 2:51 pm

Well Jamdown paid their dues.
Made the corrections change many things and did the work.

We have not learned or modified we needed to.(What mods were made to the financial system after CL?)

The system has been buffered by oil and gas revenue-with the population guided by 5 year cycles and 3 letters instead of a National Vision and a long term and progressive march....a little rum a little roti, and a 10 days.
Vote for me, I will set you free

Rangors point is valid-but with respect SYMPTOMATIC of the lack of cohesion, more of the manifestation of our issues in the capital markets....our differences with Jamdown run deeper and wider than the financial system

Postby Monk BANzai » November 7th, 2019, 3:08 pm

Redman wrote:Well Jamdown paid their dues.
Made the corrections change many things and did the work.

We have not learned or modified we needed to.(What mods were made to the financial system after CL?)

The system has been buffered by oil and gas revenue-with the population guided by 5 year cycles and 3 letters instead of a National Vision and a long term and progressive march....a little rum a little roti, and a 10 days.
Vote for me, I will set you free

Rangors point is valid-but with respect SYMPTOMATIC of the lack of cohesion, more of the manifestation of our issues in the capital markets....our differences with Jamdown run deeper and wider than the financial system

always on point Reddo.....always... #knowledge

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » November 7th, 2019, 4:07 pm

Red and Ready doh complain , nice that you observed the symptomatic incompetence from Eric straight up to Rowlee. (and all in-between as me eh no Yellow Team fan either).

Postby rspann » November 7th, 2019, 5:35 pm

Our financial system is too intertwined with the politics.

Postby The_Honourable » November 7th, 2019, 6:07 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:WHAT ARE WE DOING WRONG?

The root of all this is that Jamaica had to humble themselves and go to the IMF for relief in 2013. Because of those austerity policies, Jamaica had no choice but to institute reforms where today they are in a far better place.

Oct 2018 - https://www.worldpoliticsreview.com/art ... -this-time

Sept 2019 - http://www.loopjamaica.com/content/jama ... -takeaways

Nov 2019 - https://www.economist.com/the-americas/ ... ppy-ending

Trinidad? Reform? LOL... we'll politicize that to death until we have no choice. We had no choice back in the late 80's, and although it made economic sense back then where we saw the fruits of those reforms in the 90's, it costed the NAR politically. Good economics is bad politics as some say.

We running on fumes with the fragile energy sector and haven't reached the point where we have no choice, so we'll continue with our old ways until...

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » November 7th, 2019, 6:23 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:WHAT ARE WE DOING WRONG? ...steups..... and doh tell me we win some stupid tourist award (come in second)....

What we doing wrong?

Let me spell it out....PNM

Re: Trinidad on Wall Street: we ring a bell. Jamaica? They get

Postby Monk BANzai » November 8th, 2019, 12:46 pm

toyota2nr wrote:

What we doing wrong?

lol...smh..everything comes down to the Classism polarity in this place eh......

Postby zoom rader » November 8th, 2019, 1:19 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

What we doing wrong?

lol...smh..everything comes down to the Classism polarity in this place eh......
Yes!

During the NAR and Panday era we was on the right track.

But PNM ppl wanted a change for the worst .

Postby MaxPower » November 8th, 2019, 1:36 pm

Tourist award on WHAT planet?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 8th, 2019, 2:16 pm

Many tourists who come here, leave very sad and disillusioned, but they shame to admit, because they know they were warned from before, and it would be a case of "I told you so"

Les Bain wrote:Seeing how youth culture deepthroats Jamaica hard, maybe this is a good thing for Trinidad.

Nah dan.
Trinis only deepthroat the dregs of Jamaican/others culture.
Any positive things coming out from Jamaica will be seen as "Not badman enough" or "fassyman/fassyhole ting"

VII

Postby VII » November 8th, 2019, 4:10 pm

When you went through what Jamaica did you can only 'grow'..

What about T&T's stability during all those years Jamaica was in decline...

It's like comparing a teenager with an adult,of course the teenager will have 'growth',but who owns their house and who weathered the storm without going to the IMF and having their citizens go all over the place in need of basic survival...

of course they would get a pat on the back from Massa....

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 8th, 2019, 6:20 pm

We need to get our murder count (not rate) as high or close to Jamaica's before we start seeing any progress.

Postby Les Bain » November 8th, 2019, 11:36 pm

MaxPower wrote:Tourist award on WHAT planet?

Musbe where the gnuyamyams from.

Postby sMASH » November 9th, 2019, 1:37 am

what is the difference? instead of rocking back in their 10k office chairs collecting the paycheck, they went out and actively managed the affairs of the country. they encouraged more participation and reassured the people to take the risk, its not that much of a risk. and to them to increase thier business, while bringing in more people into those business...

like she took some i m live seminars.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 9th, 2019, 5:18 am

Meanwhile if Singapore knew about the existence of Trinidad, they wouldn't know if to laugh or cry about how stupid Trinidad is.

All trinis who make a million excuses for Trinidad could eat grass and dogchit. (Or continue eating)

Postby zoom rader » November 9th, 2019, 12:17 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Meanwhile if Singapore knew about the existence of Trinidad, they wouldn't know if to laugh or cry about how stupid Trinidad is.

All trinis who make a million excuses for Trinidad could eat grass and dogchit. (Or continue eating)
Blame the stupid people that vote for this jackarse of a goverment that have we in the pits

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » November 9th, 2019, 12:41 pm

Digitisation and technology drive Jamaica’s improvement

https://www.guardian.co.tt/article/digi ... 735133e527

Hoping those in charge of T&T economy take note of what was done.

Postby zoom rader » November 9th, 2019, 12:44 pm

shaneelal wrote:Digitisation and technology drive Jamaica’s improvement

Nope , not with this goverment they dont have the vision for dat

Postby rspann » November 9th, 2019, 2:19 pm

Still, Jamaica ain't get to ring de bell doh.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 9th, 2019, 5:53 pm

shaneelal wrote:Digitisation and technology drive Jamaica’s improvement

Of course they taking note.
How else you think they know what NOT to do?

Once something can have a positive effect on their fowlchit-for-brain supporters, they will stay as far as they can, from that.

The supporters seem to like that way of life too, so it is a win-win for both sides.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 9th, 2019, 10:11 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:WHAT ARE WE DOING WRONG?

The root of all this is that Jamaica had to humble themselves and go to the IMF for relief in 2013. Because of those austerity policies, Jamaica had no choice but to institute reforms where today they are in a far better place.

Oct 2018 - https://www.worldpoliticsreview.com/art ... -this-time

Sept 2019 - http://www.loopjamaica.com/content/jama ... -takeaways

Nov 2019 - https://www.economist.com/the-americas/ ... ppy-ending

Trinidad? Reform? LOL... we'll politicize that to death until we have no choice. We had no choice back in the late 80's, and although it made economic sense back then where we saw the fruits of those reforms in the 90's, it costed the NAR politically. Good economics is bad politics as some say.

We running on fumes with the fragile energy sector and haven't reached the point where we have no choice, so we'll continue with our old ways until...

Yup, they ate the humble pie under the IMF, but it worked.
Glad that they've rebounded stronger