T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

StefanH2

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby StefanH2 » November 12th, 2019, 6:38 am

The new 2019 Ertiga is bigger and wider than the previous model from my research. It's a true 7 seater now. Pretty spacious in the 3rd row with even space to recline the seat with boot space that have a collapsible floor..
carluva wrote:Great feedback on the Ertiga.

Tell me smtgh... Is the Ertiga still being registered as a 7 seater? I heard some time ago that even though it has 7 seats, licensing office was only allowing it to be registered as a 4 passenger + driver not 6 passenger + driver.
IMG_20191012_133923.jpeg
IMG_20191012_133849.jpeg
IMG_20191012_133901.jpeg
IMG_20191106_144211.jpeg
IMG_20191012_133806.jpeg

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 12th, 2019, 6:40 am

Much thanks and congrats on the purchase. Regardless of what it says, you made a good choice.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » November 12th, 2019, 8:03 pm

StefanH2

Postby StefanH2 » November 12th, 2019, 8:31 pm

This looks sweet.
Shalom Vanamson wrote:Image

rebound

Postby rebound » November 12th, 2019, 8:48 pm

Would that be the replacement for the Optima?

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » November 13th, 2019, 1:25 am

Yup 2021 Optima dont study the K5 name thats what they call it in Korea

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » November 13th, 2019, 6:32 am

PariaMan wrote:
jasp wrote:Jeep wrangler Sahara $820 000
Jeep wrangler Rubicon $820 000
Jeep wrangler Sport $675 000
imagine the taxes on these vehicles the poor owner will mostly be buying a tax

Coming with a 2.0T now.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 14th, 2019, 12:03 am

Leasing options here are driven by the company car market. Its quite expensive as the big corporations can shell out big dollars and write it off as an expense. The stealership wins cause they can charge ridiculous prices and the companies win cause of the tax write off.

So why would they rock the boat?

wing

Postby wing » November 14th, 2019, 11:09 pm

Shalom Vanamson wrote:Yup 2021 Optima dont study the K5 name thats what they call it in Korea
Nice car. But why do they continue to blatantly copy Audi? Peter Shreyer (former Audi designer now with Kia) can't design anything else?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 15th, 2019, 1:15 am

Good review but from my experience owing both a toyota and a suzuki from brand new straight from the firm ....the toyota is the better buy by far in the long run.....
Reliability and resale value....suzuki cant even compare to toyota....

Had both cars for same length of time.....
Never did anything apart from normal service in the toyota...
In the suzuki....I had to do alot more...

Thats just my pov...

Enjoy the suzuki !!!
Congrats...!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 15th, 2019, 10:43 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Good review but from my experience owing both a toyota and a suzuki from brand new straight from the firm ....the toyota is the better buy by far in the long run.....
Reliability and resale value....suzuki cant even compare to toyota....

Had both cars for same length of time.....
Never did anything apart from normal service in the toyota...
In the suzuki....I had to do alot more...

Thats just my pov...

Enjoy the suzuki !!!
Congrats...!
Care to elaborate on what had to be done on the Suzuki over the Toyota

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 15th, 2019, 1:15 pm

I should point out that the Aisin supplied automatics in stuff like the Ciaz, S Cross and Vitara are superior to many Jatco CVTs found in many Nissans today. So whilst I myself am no fanboy of Suzuki, I won’t be so quick to write them off. They still give us some options that are non CVT and that is a huge plus in my book.

Mazda is another jap brand that is doing well where reliability is concerned today, ironically, it’s another company that sells mostly non CVT vehicles.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » November 15th, 2019, 4:12 pm

wing wrote:
Shalom Vanamson wrote:Yup 2021 Optima dont study the K5 name thats what they call it in Korea
Nice car. But why do they continue to blatantly copy Audi? Peter Shreyer (former Audi designer now with Kia) can't design anything else?

I wont say blatantly copy Audi. The only thing that looks Audi ish on this car are the taillights

telfer

Postby telfer » November 15th, 2019, 5:01 pm

Tuners...is Sterling still the Sanyong dealers???

StefanH2

Postby StefanH2 » November 15th, 2019, 6:57 pm

I believe so.. Still seeing some recently registered Actyon Sport pickups these days. Actually tbh, I'm seeing an increased sighting of them as of late.
telfer wrote:Tuners...is Sterling still the Sanyong dealers???

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 16th, 2019, 8:44 pm

PariaMan wrote:

Dealer Keep citing the taxes on these vehicles is the reason for the high price ... DO we actually know what the taxes are on these?

I feel they just blowing smoke up our rears to cover up the greed .....

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 17th, 2019, 1:43 am

drchaos wrote:
PariaMan wrote:

Dealer Keep citing the taxes on these vehicles is the reason for the high price ... DO we actually know what the taxes are on these?

I feel they just blowing smoke up our rears to cover up the greed .....
In the states it's 38500 us

would really like to see the maths for it to reach 800000 tt

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 17th, 2019, 1:52 am

Imagine a vehicle costing 100000tt and you paying 150000 in tax

I will never agree to that
Screenshot_20191117-014705.jpeg

rebound

Postby rebound » November 17th, 2019, 9:24 am

And imagine the CIF is the cost of the vehicle plus insurance and freight, which is then double taxed via Duty and VAT separately...crazy..
PariaMan wrote:Imagine a vehicle costing 100000tt and you paying 150000 in tax

I will never agree to that
Screenshot_20191117-014705.jpeg

agent007

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby agent007 » November 17th, 2019, 11:59 am

$ 38,395. 2019 Jeep Wrangler Sahara 2.0T (showroom price)
$ 1,600. Shipping
$ 39,995. CIF
$ 13,998.25 Duty @ 35% of CIF
$ 53,993.25 subtotal USD
$383,352.08 subtotal TTD (TTD 7.1:1 USD)
$ 30,000. MVT @ $15. Per cc
$413,352.08 sub total
$ 2,500.00 broker fee
$ 500.00 licensing registration fee
$ 60.00 insurance cover note
$ 100.00 plastic plates
$ 250.00 petrol
$416,762.08 sub total
$ 52,095.26 VAT @ 12.5%
$468,857.34 TOTAL

This figure does not include dealer markup which varies from as low as 33% to 100% locally.

Now please note, that $38,395. cost figure above is not the price LSM would have paid for the vehicle from Chrysler. It would be way less. So if that $820,000. TTD price stands true, then you assume the profit margin per sale based on those figures above.

All I can say is, the state collects $181,982.84 at the very minimum in that proposed sale and calculation above since if you want to get granular, there’s VAT on the insurance cover note and fuel costs already included in those figures paid for by the dealer.

Lastly, if that $38,395. is for the 3.6 version then by applying the same calculations above, the new final cost without markup can hover around $670,000. So in the end, if that $820k is for a well equipped 3.6L version then when compared to the over priced Fortuner and Prado, it may not be so bad after all.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 18th, 2019, 6:27 pm

Doh give dem dealers a bligh by calculating USD to TT at 7.1 ...

Most of them have banking arms and USD allocations/dealer permits (Massy has multiple). The international dealerships also have links with their international banks to give them USD at the market rate.

They paying 6.8 for their usd.

Also if the vehicle price is listed at 38K in the US the local dealers probably paying low 20K's for that vehicle.
That 38K price tag in the states also includes us taxes added on the vehicle.

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 18th, 2019, 11:26 pm

Makes sense. Today on the LDY road, I saw a PDY black Nissan Pathfinder aka ‘Mallfinder’. It appears even at $750k for a Nissan, there is still a buyer out there for such a vehicle. In that case, expect more true SUV Wranglers to sell regardless of price.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 19th, 2019, 8:27 pm

Don't forget, most of those "high tax bracket" vehicles are purchased by people with tax exempt status or as business purchases for tax write-offs.
:mrgreen:

carluva

Postby carluva » November 19th, 2019, 9:55 pm

Got these quotes last month but forgot to post.

Subaru Forester

Forester 2.0i-L (Fabric) - $399,000

Forester 2.0i-S (Leather) - $439,000

Forester 2.0i-S (Leather & Eyesight) - $459,000

How do those prices compare to other vehicles in this segment? I think that it's better than the RAV4 in features and amenities....

Always loved the Forester!!

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 19th, 2019, 10:53 pm

The highest trim RAV4 we get at TTTL is the 2.0 2WD with 18” rims, leather seats and sunroof which goes for $419k. I was told you can order the 2.5 awd model which has 19” rims for around $600k. The 419 model has manual folding wing mirrors.

Permit me to act as a Toyota sales rep:
the value proposition of a RAV4 is in its name combined with the best Reliability and resale value in its class. You do not need awd or power folding mirrors because we took note of the high probability of losing said wing mirror on a narrow main road where a ph wetman would side swipe your vehicle eventually. We are saving you the replacement cost for a mirror which power folds. Awd adds weight and reduces power and fuel economy. 2WD will take you safely to fete, cinema, grocery, work, relatives, kfc and back home.

So that’s less drivetrain maintenance than the Subaru Forester and we $40k cheaper.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 19th, 2019, 11:19 pm

Actually, power folding mirrors prevent you from losing your mirrors on a narrow road.

1 button and the mirrors safely tucked away from de wetmen.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » November 20th, 2019, 2:32 pm

New Accord arrived for 399k with the 1.5 turbo engine. Android auto and Apple carplay Remote start etc.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 20th, 2019, 3:31 pm

Shalom Vanamson wrote:New Accord arrived for 399k with the 1.5 turbo engine. Android auto and Apple carplay Remote start etc.
Smaller engine cheaper price?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 20th, 2019, 8:57 pm

PariaMan wrote:Smaller engine cheaper price?

Wishful thinking !

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » November 20th, 2019, 9:49 pm

PariaMan wrote:
Shalom Vanamson wrote:New Accord arrived for 399k with the 1.5 turbo engine. Android auto and Apple carplay Remote start etc.
Smaller engine cheaper price?
To me it could of been cheaper because of that engine but oh well it isnt bad I guess