UNILEVER Retrenches / 600 To Go at UNIPET

Postby bluefete » December 4th, 2019, 5:52 pm

Unilever retrenched staff this afternoon (still to get the total figures).

At Unilever, the Latin American managers have a problem that the TT factory workers are well paid. They are also fedup of dealing with the OWTU.

Unipet announced that 600 staff will go home.

More to come.

Re: UNILEVER Retrenches / 600 To Go at UNIPET

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2019, 6:08 pm

So dem wait till after elections to announce job cuts

This would have been more yellow in the bag

I hope you all take note for next elections.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 4th, 2019, 6:23 pm

Unipet trying to pull a page from Proman/IPSL
book awa? Trying to put blame on government to force negotiations in their favour?

Postby Redman » December 4th, 2019, 6:33 pm

Certainly better than the board taking responsibility for over staffing the co.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 4th, 2019, 6:54 pm

zoom rader wrote:I hope you all take note for next elections.

Nope, we will forget in one week!

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » December 4th, 2019, 7:44 pm

ADONI wrote:

That 34 million from life sport, 1 billion from a failed waste water treatment plant build by hand picked financiers and 6 million paid to wreck a fire truck would have helped ease the burden of these workers; but who cares friends and family had to get rich under Kams and the PP at any cost net Zoom

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2019, 7:51 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
ADONI wrote:

That 34 million from life sport, 1 billion from a failed waste water treatment plant build by hand picked financiers and 6 million paid to wreck a fire truck would have helped ease the burden of these workers; but who cares friends and family had to get rich under Kams and the PP at any cost net Zoom
No wonder why you all lost Grande and San Do on the brink of collapse.

Don't worry next year is PNM last

Postby paid_influencer » December 4th, 2019, 8:03 pm

UNILEVER is a multinational. they are in Trinidad to make profits that will be sent overseas to their head office. The head office does not want TT$, it is like garbage to them. The head office would rather be paid upfront - in US$ - than deal with manufacturing, currency and economic deficiency in Trinidad.

This is evidence of our status. A few more years of this PNM economic policy and we will become Venezuela.

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2019, 8:08 pm

paid_influencer wrote:UNILEVER is a multinational. they are in Trinidad to make profits that will be sent overseas to their head office. The head office does not want TT$, it is like garbage to them. The head office would rather be paid upfront - in US$ - than deal with manufacturing, currency and economic deficiency in Trinidad.

This is evidence of our status. A few more years of this PNM economic policy and we will become Venezuela.

Unilever should have relieve all this before elections.

Would have helped to rid this country of PNM garbage

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 4th, 2019, 8:21 pm

bluefete wrote:Unilever retrenched staff this afternoon (still to get the total figures).

At Unilever, the Latin American managers have a problem that the TT factory workers are well paid. They are also fedup of dealing with the OWTU.

Unipet announced that 600 staff will go home.

More to come.
Source to the unipet info?

Postby wagonrunner » December 4th, 2019, 8:46 pm

political parties take the blame for the actions taken by corporate entities
don't mind political opponents have done NOTHING to put in place / enforce protections from such.

Postby goalpost » December 4th, 2019, 8:56 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
ADONI wrote:

Yeah. Terrible things.

That's why they were voted out.

PNM repeating.

Time to vote them out?

Postby Dave » December 4th, 2019, 9:02 pm

Np just had a huge million dollar lawsuit payout and they are not profitable. Unipet continues to make them unprofitable so remove Unipet from the equation and voila, all available goes to Np. There is also the question about the evaporative charge that Np is excused from that Paria is pushing on Unipet to pay when this originates at Paria. Clearly someone wants Unipet to shutdown it's operations.

Sateesh

Postby Sateesh » December 4th, 2019, 9:29 pm

result of an economy collapsing. business not thriving here in T&T. yuh can't even get foreign exchange.
Ah red draws tight and squeezing yuh. Allyuh take jam . :fist:

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2019, 9:33 pm

Sateesh wrote:result of an economy collapsing. business not thriving here in T&T. yuh can't even get foreign exchange.
Ah red draws tight and squeezing yuh. Allyuh take jam . :fist:
PNM failed as usual

Postby redmanjp » December 4th, 2019, 10:01 pm

What other companies names start with Uni ? We hadda watch out.

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2019, 10:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:What other companies names start with Uni ? We hadda watch out.
It simple bro

If your work place trade union is OWTU then your job is in danger.

Petrotrin
TCL
UTT
Unilever

OWTU sold out bro, they in bed with PNM

Postby The_Honourable » December 4th, 2019, 10:45 pm

paid_influencer wrote:UNILEVER is a multinational. they are in Trinidad to make profits that will be sent overseas to their head office. The head office does not want TT$, it is like garbage to them. The head office would rather be paid upfront - in US$ - than deal with manufacturing, currency and economic deficiency in Trinidad.

Unilever should have relieve all this before elections.

Would have helped to rid this country of PNM garbage

The did but decision wasn't final

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/union-- ... 87bb478cb2

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 5th, 2019, 1:03 am

so they close down the manufacturing plant and will import the products?
what is a list of unilever products ?
time to bycott all their products and buy local.
no more blue ban- i see it have a butter made by "roberts" dont know if it local
no more breeze/ squezy - langston roach products instead
no more cif, lifeboy,dove,comfort,suave,sunlight,walls,vaseline an i think the parent company is some spanish cuntry also so even more reason to boycott they mc products. at least the 1% like matooks and others hire locals in they plants.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 5th, 2019, 1:05 am

redmanjp wrote:What other companies names start with Uni ? We hadda watch out.
It simple bro

If your work place trade union is OWTU then your job is in danger.

Petrotrin
TCL
UTT
Unilever

OWTU sold out bro, they in bed with PNM

mite be a gimmik, next ting the union open a butter factory, just like they open a refinery and want the steel plant.

Postby hydroep » December 5th, 2019, 1:53 am

screwbash wrote:so they close down the manufacturing plant and will import the products?
what is a list of unilever products ?
time to bycott all their products and buy local.
no more blue ban- i see it have a butter made by "roberts" dont know if it local
no more breeze/ squezy - langston roach products instead
no more cif, lifeboy,dove,comfort,suave,sunlight,walls,vaseline an i think the parent company is some spanish cuntry also so even more reason to boycott they mc products. at least the 1% like matooks and others hire locals in they plants.

Sufferer here. Left them out years ago because their products are relatively expensive. The quality is good eh, just not worth the premium IMO...:|

Postby matr1x » December 5th, 2019, 3:48 am

randolphinshan wrote:
ADONI wrote:

Pales into comparison to the pnm repeated rape of the treasury. You might even say pnm Daryl Smith the treasury

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2019, 6:29 am

matr1x wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
ADONI wrote:

Pales into comparison to the pnm repeated rape of the treasury. You might even say pnm Daryl Smith the treasury
He forgot to mention PNM project pride where 600million was spent and not even a loan of sand to show for it.

Postby SR » December 5th, 2019, 6:33 am

A couple of unilever products are already being distributed by another company....months now

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2019, 7:22 am

them roadside vendors selling chinese soap powder and other liquid detergents contribute to them losing plenty revenue

Postby Ben_spanna » December 5th, 2019, 7:27 am

The FACTS are that Trinidad is not a profitable place to manufacture again, costs have gone up over the years , you have terrible access to foreign exchange, labour in Trinidad is Very unproductive and inefficient.

What else did you all expect to happen?

bess the NJAC come back out this xmas with Crocus stockings for promotion...

Postby RedVEVO » December 5th, 2019, 11:49 am

$#@&

PNM working for YOU ..

And TT people paying the bill .. i.e. salary PM, trips, food, tampons etc.

So sad ..

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 5th, 2019, 12:46 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:The FACTS are that Trinidad is not a profitable place to manufacture again, costs have gone up over the years , you have terrible access to foreign exchange, labour in Trinidad is Very unproductive and inefficient.

What else did you all expect to happen?

bess the NJAC come back out this xmas with Crocus stockings for promotion...

This, it's our due to a combination of high labour costs (also blame our over valued currency) and very unproductive workforce.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 5th, 2019, 3:23 pm

Blaming workers is always the easiest way to divert blame from management's own failures since workers have no one to defend them. The business sector has been doing that for decades. That's why they were pushing for workers from caricom, then they was pushing for illegal Venezuelan workers. Who next they go be pushing for slaves? After they replace everybody with robots, who would they blame again?

The way some people does talk here, workers should be working for minimum wage for the rest of their lives with no benefits, while the suits at the top continue to make their millions.
No wonder we have so much self hate in this country.
74692436_2497728553646539_8554170180282875904_n.jpg

Postby Gladiator » December 5th, 2019, 3:56 pm

Don't forget rapid "fail" rail. 500 Million spend and two 3" binder reports to show for it...

PNM memory can't go back more than 5-7 years.

matr1x wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
ADONI wrote:

He forgot to mention PNM project pride where 600million was spent and not even a loan of sand to show for it.