New Trinidad & Tobago $ money polymer notes

hong kong phooey

Re: New $100 bill revealed

Postby hong kong phooey » December 10th, 2019, 1:24 pm

the rush is probably to give the pee onm voters a christmas present . within the next few days we will see how many people get robbed

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2019, 1:32 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:the rush is probably to give the pee onm voters a christmas present . within the next few days we will see how many people get robbed
Suspect the PNM media houses will keep robbies out of their garbage news propaganda.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » December 10th, 2019, 1:34 pm

So currently what are you getting from the ATM $20 ans $10 and $5?

Postby MaxPower » December 10th, 2019, 1:41 pm

Hi Panzies,

You really think the big fish exchanging their millions in this mess with allyuh?

Them done have new ting even before allyuh eye light up big with the new $100

I spann

Postby I spann » December 10th, 2019, 1:49 pm

Just got the new $100 bills from RBC, ATM in San Juan

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2019, 1:54 pm

MaxPower wrote:Hi Panzies,

You really think the big fish exchanging their millions in this mess with allyuh?

No the very big fish have personal bankers that visit thier homes to conduct bussiness.

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2019, 1:57 pm

Reports of PNM ppl robbing ppl at the banks confirmed

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 10th, 2019, 1:58 pm

No the very big fish have personal bankers that visit thier homes to conduct bussiness.

Also big fish launder well, this ain't no scene for them. Plus many of them deal in US not tt

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » December 10th, 2019, 2:06 pm

Just read in another post guy was held after he robbed a old lady trying to exchanged 100K , the gov't and police knows this will happen , the PNM gov't will continue to show how they don't care about the law abiding citizens safety,from the start they should introduce interac transaction nation wide ,tap and you pay , personally for the past 6 months i have 5 cad and a 10TTD in my wallet , i have no need for cash all my transactions is apple pay or tap with my chip bank card.
plus my monthly payment to keep my savings , checking and USD account is only $4 cad. This will encourage ppl to bank more ,the bank app you can have a daily withdraw limit ,lock your card if lost or stolen ,transfer funds .

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2019, 2:10 pm

PNM rather run down some injun living in Florida for a comment than protect citizens exchanging their cash

Postby Chimera » December 10th, 2019, 2:12 pm

This mrn at fcb they were only exchanging your money if you deposit to your account first then withdraw.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » December 10th, 2019, 2:17 pm

zoom rader wrote:PNM rather run down some injun living in Florida for a comment than protect citizens exchanging their cash

so true :drinking: i think this $100 new bill is to stray the citizens from other serious matter in T&T .

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2019, 2:17 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:This mrn at fcb they were only exchanging your money if you deposit to your account first then withdraw.
Its too keep a record

Postby Chimera » December 10th, 2019, 2:32 pm

i spend a good 3.5 hours in the bank this morning

in that time the teller only took 2 commercial customers
i line up in regular line thinking it would move a bit faster as it had 4 tellers

pressure yes

Postby maj. tom » December 10th, 2019, 2:35 pm

like they counting the money manually or what?

Postby MaxPower » December 10th, 2019, 2:36 pm

Friends, on a serious note.

I would like to thank the public for their assistance to our Venezuelan brothers and sisters in exchanging their very much hard earned and deserved TTD dollars. It feels so good to know that i called my Venezuelan associates offering my assistance only to know that they were assisted already by Trinidadians taking on the role.

My contacts at the banks said they are also offering special assistance to only our Venezuelan/spanish speaking guests i.e - no long lines, no source of funds letters etc.

Thank you T&T

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2019, 2:37 pm

More robbies being carried out reported

Postby redmanjp » December 10th, 2019, 2:42 pm

I spann wrote:Just got the new $100 bills from RBC, ATM in San Juan

dem upgrade already? :shock:

if RBL doh have it by Dec. 31st I guess is RBC ATMs for me
Last edited by redmanjp on December 10th, 2019, 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 10th, 2019, 2:49 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i spend a good 3.5 hours in the bank this morning

i line up in regular line thinking it would move a bit faster as it had 4 tellers

pressure yes

This makes it understandable why so much smaller businesses putting out notices they not accepting the old hundreds within the next few days.

Small businessmen can't go waste hours in the bank everyday now.

Postby redmanjp » December 10th, 2019, 2:49 pm

is some top secret operation going on? is that why they rushing to get rid of the old notes? both d COP and FIU not talking

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/12/10/cop-mum-on-new-100-note/

COMMISSIONER of Police (COP) Gary Griffith on Tuesday opted to not comment on the replacement of the $100 banknote by a new polymer bill.

Last Friday in the House of Representatives, National Security Minister Stuart Young cited alleged criminality to justify the replacement, saying, “Up to recently we cracked a ring where persons were bleaching $1 notes and printing it as blue notes. You can’t do that with polymer notes very easily.”

Newsday asked the law enforcement authorities about any alert they had raised on counterfeiting, but we got little response.

Griffith replied, “No, I am not making any comment on this matter. Sorry about that.”

At the Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU), whose role is to curb illicit money, public affairs/communications officer Heather Baldwin-McDowell told Newsday that by law she was not allowed to discuss any possibility of anything that might be under scrutiny. She referred us to the police. An Hour Ago Sean Douglas

Postby redmanjp » December 10th, 2019, 2:51 pm

pressure yes

This makes it understandable why so much smaller businesses putting out notices they not accepting the old hundreds within the next few days.

i was expecting them to do this but not so soon- at least wait till after xmas then u have time to go to bank to deposit the old notes

Postby rspann » December 10th, 2019, 2:54 pm

l33t2 wrote:

Also big fish launder well, this ain't no scene for them. Plus many of them deal in US not tt

Everything right here in these posts above.

VII

Postby VII » December 10th, 2019, 2:55 pm

pressure yes

Wouldn't it just be like any other trip to the bank to make deposits? If you have business accounts won't it be an automatic change as deposits are made?

Postby pete » December 10th, 2019, 2:58 pm

Well if the trip to the bank takes over 3 hours for a deposit, it's not like any other trip..

Postby rspann » December 10th, 2019, 3:00 pm

My wife spent four yesterday and that's before the exchange started

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 10th, 2019, 3:25 pm

dogg wrote:I have a family member who's an insurance advisor, she says its flabbergasting the amount of cash some people have stored in their homes. Some literally in their mattresses.

All this time I figured it was an urban/rural myth.

These ppl didn't have back accounts so couldn't get some types of insurance coverage...

banking in a bank doh make sense. insurance up to $75000.00. no interest paid to the customer and the bank investing your money to make millions. like like a ponzi scheme so is better to keep yuh money home.

Postby sMASH » December 10th, 2019, 3:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:

pressure yes

i was expecting them to do this but not so soon- at least wait till after xmas then u have time to go to bank to deposit the old notes
U know what pressure it 2oukd be to line up to exchange that?!

Is a million people hadda do that in 15 days in what like 100 outlets. And average 10mins per person.

Just like inspection, they will need and extension

Postby pete » December 10th, 2019, 3:40 pm

You can get 75k of deposit insurance for your account and if you're married in a joint account with your spouse PER bank.

So with 4 banks you can spread out $600k if you are worried about deposit insurance. How much deposit insurance you have at home where theft and fire could completely wipe you out?

Postby stev » December 10th, 2019, 3:46 pm

redmanjp wrote:
I spann wrote:Just got the new $100 bills from RBC, ATM in San Juan

dem upgrade already? :shock:

if RBL doh have it be Dec. 31st I guess is RBC ATMs for me

as far as I know (i could be wrong) RBC doh use Massy Tech for ATM maintenance and upgrades...they do their own thing.

on the other hand...Massy making ah killing on the upgrade.

testing started and was completed yesterday by Massy I think.

Postby Rovin » December 10th, 2019, 3:53 pm

Thief caught after grabbing bag of $100 bills; TTPS urges caution

http://www.looptt.com/content/thief-cau ... V8s-71cNfc

Officers of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) were able to recover a bag of money after it was stolen in Diego Martin today.

According to police, a woman was walking along the Diego Martin Highway walkover, when she was accosted by a man who grabbed a black bag containing a quantity of cash from her.

The man then made his escape on foot into Cuthbert Circular.

The woman reported the incident and officers from the Four Roads Police Station who were on patrol in the area, responded and subsequently apprehended the suspect a short distance away. The bag with the quantity of cash was also recovered from his possession.

A 19-year-old man of La Resource Road, Laventille, was arrested in connection with the incident.

The TTPS reiterated that officers will be conducting frequent mobile and foot patrols in the vicinity of banking institutions to ensure that civilians are able to carry out their transactions safely.

They are also calling on citizens trading in their old $100 bills for the new ones to exercise caution.