WTK:TS---WRX---STi

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

JJ16

WTK:TS---WRX---STi

Postby JJ16 » November 1st, 2007, 1:32 pm

okay sorry guys hope this question not odd..

But i was thinkin of buying a subie sometime soon, as i am looking for a new car, but i wasnt sure whats the difference with some of the things.

1) my friend told me the TS body and the WRX body is the same...is that true???

2) what are the different sizes in engines and HP outputs?

3) Whats the general price difference between a WRX and a STi..

4) Does that "dup dup dup dup" sounding exhaust get annoying after a while??

and how hard is it 2 convert a TS to a WRX.cause he was saying that it works out cheaper..but i actually wanted to know that fact that i own a WRX and not a TS at the end of the day...

so what do u all think is the better option??

sorry i aint really know much about subies nah.

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » November 1st, 2007, 1:41 pm

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 1st, 2007, 1:51 pm

anyone with a proper answer thanks...

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » November 1st, 2007, 1:53 pm

:lol: yeah yeah.. da was a sh!tty answer fuh real..... jus joking though

:google:

barejakdotcom

Re: WTK:TS---WRX---STi

Postby barejakdotcom » November 1st, 2007, 3:03 pm

Visit us at www.Scoobytnt.com

TS - EJ16 - 1600cc
WRX - EJ20 - 2000cc Turbo TD04
STI - EJ20 - 2000cc to 2500cc Bigger Turbo and more aggresive MAPS with several upgrades to the suspension etc.

The body Shapes are the same. Most parts are bolt ons which makes it easy to upgrade from TS to WRX, from WRX to STI.

The EJ15 and EJ16 Wagon have a different body shape but the lights etc are the same.

We have a member on www.scoobytnt.com that turbo charged his EJ16 TS

www.subaru.com
www.subarutt.com
www.scoobytnt.com

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 2nd, 2007, 6:20 pm

and in terms of prices..is it better to turbo a TS or jus buy a WRX??

15devils

Postby 15devils » November 2nd, 2007, 7:22 pm

it'll cost about the same price as a roro wrx...for the full conversion...that doh make sense..just buy ah wrx....I was thinking bout do it but in the long run its just too much stuff that needs to be done....turboing the ts would be easier,but don't expect wrx like performance.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 4th, 2007, 8:57 am

Most parts are bolt ons which makes it easy to upgrade from TS to WRX, from WRX to STI.

Really? how so?

jj16:

Power is as follows:

TS

Somewhere in the dismal 95-105 bhp range. :roll:

WRX

SDM puts out 227 bhp at 13.5 psi. Has no AVCS, and an opendeck block with 8.0:1 compression.

JDM puts out 246 bhp at circa 14 psi. Has AVCS, Semiclosed deck (02 models) and an 8.5:1 compression.

STi

SDM puts out 265 BHP. Basically a detuned JDM Sti engine for emissions stads and lower quality gas. Still pings on local gas though.

JDM puts out 280+ bhp (conservative estimate) at circa 18 psi. Requires 98RON or higher definitely. GC8 and 02 models come with full forged internals stock. 03 models and onwards carry hyper eutectic pistons and internals etc (weaker).
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on November 4th, 2007, 9:27 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 4th, 2007, 9:00 am

and how hard is it 2 convert a TS to a WRX.cause he was saying that it works out cheaper..but i actually wanted to know that fact that i own a WRX and not a TS at the end of the day...

Well, it'll cost almost the same thing. People most times only think in a straight line.....they believe they'll put in an EJ20T and magically get a WRX from their TS.
Wrong-o.

They'd need drivetrain upgrades, brake upgrades, and most of all, lightened body panel and SUSPENSION upgrades....most of which TS drivers aren't going to go out and buy anyways......you might as well have bought a WRX or an STi to start with.

Postby Maserati » November 4th, 2007, 12:26 pm

Knight1,good info.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 4th, 2007, 1:07 pm

^Thanks :twisted:

Rx

Postby Rx » November 4th, 2007, 1:15 pm

4) Does that "dup dup dup dup" sounding exhaust get annoying after a while??

WTF !!!!! :shock:

Hoss , that Scooby grumble is a trademark !!!!! :!:

:arrow: Do u get tired of drinking STAG Beer because of it's green label? :lol: :lol: :lol:

btw .. great info there , knight1 :!:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 4th, 2007, 1:22 pm

WTF !!!!! Shocked

Hoss , that Scooby grumble is a trademark !!!!! Exclamation

Well.....it is, but not all of them have it.

Remember, TS guys, and 04/5+ STi's don't have as "deep" a rumble sound as the 02 Bugeyes. Reason? The newer cars have EQUAL length headers for the twin scroll setup, and TS's always had equal length headers.......which kinda kill the heaviness of the tone, and give it a more.."raspy" note.

I'm not sure if the 03 WRX's are exempt from this.....as I figure they may still have UNequal length headers for the single scroll setup, meaning the "dup dup" sound!??

Maybe Havokk or someone else can correct me here if I'm wrong.......

obeiron

Postby obeiron » November 4th, 2007, 3:26 pm

Some great info Knight1. Do you know what mods would have to be done to a JDM STi to run safely on our gas? Also, any ideas on the cost of doing it?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 4th, 2007, 7:49 pm

Some great info Knight1. Do you know what mods would have to be done to a JDM STi to run safely on our gas? Also, any ideas on the cost of doing it?

Easy.

You can run an EMS or an ECU Reflash (ECUTEK or Opensource).

The folks at www.subiecrew.com have their tuner from Bbdos coming in end of Nov to do retuning.

PM for more info.

west_minist

Postby west_minist » November 4th, 2007, 11:19 pm

Good stuff here.

The rumble does not, but you will have to decide on that.

Subaru lovers love that sound.

Me, I prefer the Equal length sound, but I always dream of the rumble Strange isn't it. lol

I would say to research, collect all necessary parts and then make the move.

I am not sure of anyone else, but Gobin has sell many parts to Barbados and other places for full swaps. Check him for additional information

obeiron: No mods is need for running a car safe on gas, except retuning. Once a car is well service and treat well, good performance can be had.

obeiron

Postby obeiron » November 4th, 2007, 11:47 pm

Thanks for the info west_minist & Knight1.

Postby Maserati » November 5th, 2007, 12:30 am

that rumble is sweet music :twisted:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 6th, 2007, 1:35 pm

yea i fine so but i heard ppl who own subies say after a while it may get a bit annoying..like certain times..a subie looks like a beast i think, hence the reason i want one..plus it sounds like a beast as well..another reason i want one..so the sound wont be a problem to me..but i guess alot of ppl love the grumble of the subie..but i heard ppl said it gets annoying so i was jus asking..
thanks.

saw a big group of subie men in Price Plaza i believe it was Friday night, allyuh looking gooD!

west_minist

Postby west_minist » November 6th, 2007, 5:35 pm

That may have been the subiecrew. All STI's and WRX's?

I am there tuner from Barbados.

The rumble for a love will never be annoying.

For those that like a quiet car, well, it can be disturbing.

For me, when I tune a fair bit of Subaru's, I hear that noise alot in any environment. it can be disturbing sometimes.
Last edited by west_minist on November 8th, 2007, 7:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 8th, 2007, 7:12 pm

in bdos do u all buy foreign used subies or do u all buy them new?

west_minist

Postby west_minist » November 8th, 2007, 7:33 pm

Both.

For the legacies B4 Turbo's, there are all imported.

bong

Postby bong » November 9th, 2007, 1:54 am

knight 1 scoobybizkit was referin to the body styles can be changed by simply boltin on which stylin changes u want from respective years an models :roll:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 9th, 2007, 12:37 pm

what is the approx price for the bug eye type WRX / Imprezza or wahever u call the model

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2007, 3:18 pm

a bug eye TS impreza around 90k
bug eye wrx - about 150k
bug eye sti - 170k perhaps

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 9th, 2007, 8:43 pm

isnt their 2 new models after the bug eye? like the one before this new one that came out??

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 9th, 2007, 8:57 pm

a bug eye TS impreza around 90k
bug eye wrx - about 150k
bug eye sti - 170k perhaps

Try:

TS = 90-05K

WRX - 160-65K and up.

STi - 190K and up.

isnt their 2 new models after the bug eye? like the one before this new one that came out??

Yep.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 9th, 2007, 8:58 pm

so arite. the one after the bug eye.how much is it for the WRX version in that??

whats the cheapest WRX it have ??

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 9th, 2007, 9:00 pm

saw a big group of subie men in Price Plaza i believe it was Friday night, allyuh looking gooD!

If it were Saturday evening, then yes, we were there.

whats the cheapest WRX it have ??

Cheapest?

Buy a TS....get a WRX badge and scoop, stick them on, and tell people you have a WRX. It's what lots of guys do.......

.....oh and don't forget to tell folks how amazingy fast the 1.6 is too. :lol:

(P.S. only certain TS drivers do this. Not all. SO don't flame me.).

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 9th, 2007, 9:04 pm

nah pal...nah well when i mean cheapest i mean...isnt the bug eye one suppose 2 be cheaper than the one after that??

and well i saw some WRX for 150k RORO>and it was the one after the bug eye one..

lol nah sir i dont want a TS..i prefer buy a civic yes..tha 1.6 B16a wud do it 2 that TS engine..lol...i prefer not 2 put a scoop and a sticker on a TS..for all kinda lancer men to wet me up and feel nice lol i prefer not!

Return to “SUBARU”