any duty/tax on cellphones?

DevilZ

any duty/tax on cellphones?

Postby DevilZ » April 6th, 2010, 9:38 pm

my gf is goin back to trini tmr and i'm sending a couple phones for my family, does she have to pay anything if the phones are declared?
the customs website not really helpful and dem doh reply to email

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » April 6th, 2010, 10:10 pm

remove it from the boxes

put it in handbag

or

pay 20% duty and 15% vat

TK!

Postby TK! » April 7th, 2010, 12:17 am

put two in yuh pocket.. evry1 has 2 phones.. they wont fuss

Postby foss » April 7th, 2010, 1:13 am

tell her... put on a jacket thing with pockets.. and keep them there when she lands..

and put the accessories in her suitcase (well hidden of course)

Polydor

Postby Polydor » April 7th, 2010, 11:54 am

foss wrote:tell her... put on a jacket thing with pockets.. and keep them there when she lands..

^^^you really think you can hide anything in the airport :?:

Postby SUPAstarr » April 7th, 2010, 11:55 am

RapToR wrote:remove it from the boxes

put it in handbag

or

pay 20% duty and 15% vat

[/ched]

Postby foss » April 7th, 2010, 12:00 pm

Polydor wrote:
foss wrote:tell her... put on a jacket thing with pockets.. and keep them there when she lands..

^^^you really think you can hide anything in the airport :?:

i did :roll:

what she has to do.. get rid of the boxes, pack the accessories for the phones in the suitcase (between clothes, etc) keep the phones in her carry on until she reaches T'dad. When she lands as she makes her way to customs, she takes them out and puts them in her pockets and that is it.

depending how much phones she is bringing, she may need a jacket to put the others.

or just do what RapToR said and pay 20% duty and 15% vat (if she wants to bring in the complete set with boxes)

Postby SR » April 7th, 2010, 1:59 pm

do like plenty of them people selling cel phones

disassemble them and bring them in as parts

re assemble and voila
new unlocked phone for sale

trini know racket

Postby pete » April 7th, 2010, 3:47 pm

Unrelated: Why do families of 5 with 15 large suitcases go through the green line? Customs will always send them to the red line because it just looks suspect.

Postby Greypatch » April 7th, 2010, 8:42 pm

depends on how many fones you bringing in

Postby Chimera » April 8th, 2010, 1:33 am

Give the customs officer one, and you dont pay any taxes

Applicable up to 200 brand new cellphones in boxes.