sr20 in a n16 almera

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2006, 2:32 pm

what are the challenges can it be done...

what budget we looking at ?

Postby Dave » February 23rd, 2006, 2:44 pm

can be done and shouldn't pose too much of an issue for an experienced mechanic
i go show yuh by mid yr how it is done :wink: :twisted:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 23rd, 2006, 2:47 pm

Patch the swap is the same as done with my car.. I can help you with every detail if you plan to do the swap.

15devils

Postby 15devils » February 23rd, 2006, 4:17 pm

i have the same intentions...bought my SR already.....spoke to various mechs and they all said the same thing "bolt for bolt swap in the n16"...did alot of research
before going down this road....so feel comfortable in doing yuh swap if yuh doing it

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 23rd, 2006, 5:10 pm

its a pretty simple swap...only ting that may concern me is suspension...cuz personally i dont like how the suspension is in that car

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 25th, 2006, 8:53 am

It is not a bolt for bolt drop in doh listen to them idiots, you have to make a left bracket for the big silver engine mount to bolt on to the vehicle and for the tranny or gear box another braket needs to be made. On the cross member you can use back your mounts to get the engine to settle in properly I adjusted the brackets on for both front and back mounts. If you want I can bring my car for you to scope out what was done so you will have a fair ideah of what you need to do b4 you start. DO NOT TRY THE P11 Cross member IT WOULD NOT WORK!!! ( TALK DONE) If you need to get a length for the shifter if you are going with a gear box you can measure mine I used a P11 and had to adjust the length to work back. :|

mr_scotty_buttons

Postby mr_scotty_buttons » February 25th, 2006, 11:25 am

yea, suspension in da car sucks..my '98 b14 hav better suspension and handin! :roll:

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » February 25th, 2006, 12:47 pm

^^^^^

i h8 b14 handling
bouncy bouny bouncy

almera rides reeeeel smooth

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 25th, 2006, 2:23 pm

yes picasso we no it isnt a bolt for bolt swap thats why we said get an experienced mech. cuz he will no where brackets has to be fabricated etc. but its a simple swap not much modification is needed...

15devils

Postby 15devils » February 25th, 2006, 7:48 pm

now why allyuh saying that it won't be ah straight switch.......thats the same headache i was avoiding...i spoke to aprox 7 mechs...3 of which is be in wallers alot(not calling names),and they all said that there wouldn't be any building of brackets or nothin...now yuh makin be worried dred...cause i really wanted to do no big kinda modification...

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 25th, 2006, 8:06 pm

yeah but brackets are no kinda big modification..jus two pieces of iron wit 90 degree bends to hold the mounts in place...

Postby Greypatch » February 26th, 2006, 9:21 pm

keep this discussion going fellas...thx for th einfo BTW picass and dave we guh talk

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 26th, 2006, 11:21 pm

patch check johnny..he in the same yard as qwkwhip...he cud do the swap an rel experienced wit any kinda modification that is needed..

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 27th, 2006, 11:00 am

now why allyuh saying that it won't be ah straight switch.......thats the same headache i was avoiding...i spoke to aprox 7 mechs...3 of which is be in wallers alot(not calling names),and they all said that there wouldn't be any building of brackets or nothin...now yuh makin be worried dred...cause i really wanted to do no big kinda modification...

Man Here wah we can use my car as an example you can look at the swap I did. My vehile is a Nissam Wingroad which came with a QG15DE and currently resides in it a SR20DET. All the infor I stated above is what you need to do. my number is 682-9989 call me leh we link I will pull the bonnet and show you, walk with a sprit level also so you can see that the engine sitting level. :|

15devils

Postby 15devils » February 27th, 2006, 6:08 pm

yeah no scene....will do

JWT

Postby JWT » February 27th, 2006, 8:31 pm

u know all patchie have to do is just ask to see meh primera :lol: :lol: :lol:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 28th, 2006, 7:29 am

u know all patchie have to do is just ask to see meh primera

Unfortunately the mount up for the P11 which came with the QG18DE is different when putting in an SR20. THe conversion is different.

Rx

Postby Rx » February 28th, 2006, 9:38 am

all this talk ....... as long as it's a swap .a lot of conversions has to be done .

IMO ......get a mechanic with some experience , make sure that he works real neat because there are so many swaps out there with some UGLY work done on engine mounts and brackets :?

Postby Dave » March 1st, 2006, 8:11 am

the swap can be done using all original nissan mounts

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 1st, 2006, 9:25 am

STeups Dave tell them to end all this talk I will pull my bonnet and Patch can take notes :?

Postby Greypatch » March 1st, 2006, 1:05 pm

how much yuh conversion cost picasso ?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 1st, 2006, 1:28 pm

PM sent with a number you should call Patch you will get all the info you need to know. The guy will go in detailed and further than me to ensure it is placed in very sturdy :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2006, 7:26 pm

hmmm lets check..i not checkin engine an gearbox cuz that price is very debatable...

ok

axel - 700
shifter an shifter linkage - 300
pedal an clutch cable - 200-300
may need to change radiator - 500
labour for swap - 1500
electrical - 900
a/c - 400
mounts - 500
bigger exhaust - 900

then there are other lil minor stuff like oil,filter etc...

so avg. the swap shud be somewhere in d area of 10-12k

broger53

Postby broger53 » April 4th, 2008, 9:54 am

fellas what i wanna know is, what axles do i need and where can i get them, i have the same swap planned for my N16 and i know johnny too...

need help sah, have a bess project in mind

moti

Postby moti » April 4th, 2008, 1:01 pm

boy go with qr20 not bad mouthing cause i respect the sr.

but the qr20 will be a more uptodate engine for that year car

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 21st, 2009, 10:22 pm

cud you fabricate the mount on the engine side to bolt on to the chassi usin the bolt holes from the qg15 engine or you have to weld it on to the chassi to be fully strengthened

2fast4u

Re: sr20 in a n16 almera

Postby 2fast4u » April 9th, 2011, 4:04 pm

i have a bluebird sylphy 20xj (n16) model. that comes wit a qr20 paired with a hyper cvt m6 tiptronic transmission..but i find that the qr shitty and doesent perform well..i wanna swap out for ah sr..wat u all think? an do u think that it would b a bolt for bolt swap?

2fast4u

Re:

Postby 2fast4u » April 9th, 2011, 4:15 pm

moti wrote:boy go with qr20 not bad mouthing cause i respect the sr.

but the qr20 will be a more uptodate engine for that year car

boy i have ah qr neo di an it shitty performance wise also mods are hard to come by and not many.. there is not much u can do with this engine..das y if u want performance and easy access to aftermarket parts sr is d way to go