AutoSport Drag and Wind: 26.July.15

AutoSport Drag and Wind: 26.July.15

Even though dates for AutoSport events were set way back in December 2014 clashes were abundant on the 26th July, 2015- CPL cricket final, drag racing, car show all on the same day as Drag and Wind? How yuh go do that!? Notwithstanding AutoSport was able to execute a very successful D&W #4 Event with 48 competitors.

Contending 7 different classes these 48 competitors- new and old, battled their way to reach the top in preparation for the upcoming “Bago Drag and Wind” formally known as “Motor Maniacs Wings and Wheels” in our sister isle.


Usual face Alistair Rahamut dominated the familiar course in his Mitsubishi Evolution V as he took win in the Open Class sponsored by Carib Beer and also managed to post the fastest time of the day- as usual, with a time of 52.346s.


Also in Open Class was this weird little thing piloted by Kirk Ho Hing called the Terrapin, which sounds like some sort of anti-inflammatory drug but is actually a space frame  car from back in the day now powered by a 750cc motorbike engine. Kirk managed to secure third in class with this contraption.


Class 59s saw the return of veteran Clive “Professor” Sudgen in his upgraded 2006 Impreza STi- I knew it was a matter of time before he was back in competition, all that talk about getting too old for that… yeah right.

Clearly proven that clashes are no real threat it’s apparent that ARA does have its recipe for these events nicely blueprinted and shall continue to fine tune to perfection. We now have to get a new young crew to learn the operations part and develop future talent in managing Motor Sport Events…

Additional photography by Conrad Baird and Nigel Prudent Sambrano.


Best Reaction Time Sponsored by AdON Construction Ltd.
Rohan Grey: 0.009s

Fastest Car of the Day Sponsored by Chef Cafe
Alistair Rahamut: 52.346s

Class 60+s

1st 790 Daniel Persad Mitsubishi Lancer 1600
2nd 47 Ricky Kahadar Honda Civic 1500
3rd 624 Rohan Grey Mazda RX-7 3rd Gen

Class 59s

1st 68 Ronnie Ramdeo Honda Civic 1800
2nd 909 Terr Rampersadsingh Suzuki 1500
3rd 63 Pete Arrindell Suzuki GTi

Class 58s

1st 19 Troy Sooknanan Subaru GC8
2nd 880 Jairam Nanan Nissan Lucino 2000
3rd 45 Ismail Hosein Nissan B14 1600

Class 56s

1st 337 Dario Jordan Box Lancer 2000
2nd 603 Krishna Nanan Wingroad 2000
3rd 55 Amir Hosein Mitsubishi Evolution 6

Class 55s

1st 54 Anil Mack Honda Civic 1800
2nd 48 Rajendra Singh Nissan Lucino 2000
3rd 26 Joel Jagessar Mitsubishi Evo 3

Class 54s

1st 37 Devi Nath Suzuki Swift Turbo
2nd 228 Shalan Mack AD Wagon 2000
3rd 74 Bunny Kalipersad Subaru STi

Class OPEN

1st 94 Alistair Rahamut Mitsubishi Evo 5
2nd 105 Christopher Kahadar Mazda MX5 2000
3rd 28 Kirk Ho Hing Terrapin 750cc

Video Coverage by MDLR Productions:

Leave a Reply