Solodex 4 – 5th July 2015

Solodex 4 – 5th July 2015

One AutoX, two AutoX, three AutoX, four AutoX… Four AutoX? Already? Yep 2015 is flying by and so is  CARS as they hosted their fourth Autocross for 2015 on the 5th July with the assistance of’s sponsorship.

Even though an overcast morning progressively improved throughout the day, the deceptive course didn’t as even the most seasoned competitors struggled with the course designed by Garry Bennett. Tight corners and a lack of straightaways claimed quite a few DNFs and forced drivers to hone their skill in finding the proper lines.


Claiming the fastest time of the day was Mr. Amir Hosein in his Mitsubishi Evolution 6 (Open Class) with a time of 47.973s, following Amir closely was Alistair Rahamut in his  Mitsubishi Evolution 5 (Open Class) at 48.831s. Of course third place is also a Mitsubishi Evolution- piloted by Daniel Lee this Evolution put down a time of 49.45s. Also in Open Class was Jason Ramsaran in his Mazda RX7 fresh off the recently paved Wallerfield track.


EP Class saw 7 competitors with various types of vehicles such as AWD, RWD and FWD. Christopher Ramnauth placed first class with his Suzuki Ignis Sport with a time of 48.037s followed by Neil Gopeesingh in his LiquiMoly sponsored Swift GTi, placing third was Olatunji Rudder in his Subaru Impreza Hybrid branded TSi. Gerrard Edwards also managed to improve his times each run in his WRX.


Dominating SS class was Moses Moonsie (Honda Civic Hatch) and Chris Ragoobar (Nissan Cefiro) as they placed first and second with times of 48.503s and 49.087s respectively. Taming the turbo swift and securing third position was Peter Arindell. New to SS class was Seyeed Amin (Subaru Forester) and Uttam Jogie (Peugeot 206 Hatch).


Moving on to ESP class Adrian Persad placed first with a time of 49.671s in his Honda Civic Hatch, novice Hammath Sookdeo driving his first event managed to place second with a  time of 52.014s in his Mazda Miata, thus pushing Ramon Rabathaly and his Toyota Corolla to third place.

ES class saw Bishen Gopaul place first  in his Mazda 323 with a time of 51.119s. Course designer Gary Bennett came in second in with 51.129 s driving the Kia Cerato and Kristopher Lucky placed third, also driving the Kia. Another novice joined ES class for this event – Vernon Paradath in his Mazda Miata.

The club’s next event is Autocross 5 which will be held on August 9th 2015 at the Arima Race Club car park. See you there.

Article written by Moses Moonsie and editted by Kasey Ramoutar (Facebook | Instagram | E-Mail)


Leave a Reply