Clash of Champions International – Guyana Circuit Racing

Clash of Champions International – Guyana Circuit Racing

Rains couldn’t spoil the weekend fun when the Guyana Motor Racing and Sports Club hosted its Clash of Champions International race meet on Sunday in Guyana.

Trinidad’s Daryl Singh and Aaron Achan, who made the trip with their respective machines, entered the event full of confidence and by the end of the day, they were both satisfied.

They were joined by surprise entry Haresh Nanan, who drove Rafeeq Khan’s Honda CRX.

Singh said, “I came here to compete and I had a good time. Had a good battle with Haresh [Nanan] for the second spot in group the Sports Tuner event and I ended up second. A good result at the end of the day.”

“I got a call this week that said I have a car waiting for me here to drive and I took up the offer. Must say I’m glad to end up on the podium. Thanks to Rafeeq Khan,” Nanan told

Trinidad was represented in the Radical SR3 class by Kristian Boodoosingh and Luke Bhola.

“Yeah, I picked up a second and I think it was a good day for me here,” Luke told TriniTuner.

Boodoosingh on the other hand was elated at the result, thanking his sponsors while adding, “Zane [Maloney] is on another level, but it was great to race him today.”

Nanan had a scrap with Singh for the second spot in the second Sport Tuner race of the day, the duo going head to head for just over five laps. In the end, Singh, who had the position was able to keep Nanan at bay with eventual Sports Tuner Champion 2019 Mohamed F. Ahmad finishing in first.

The other sport Tuner events were won by Raymond Seebarran and Mohamed S. Roshandin.

In group two, things did not go the way of Achan, who finished off the podium in all three races. At the front of the pack, the wins were shared by Guyana’s Rameez Mohamed, Barbados’ Ahmed Esuf who made his racing debut here and Paul Vieira.

“I think we had a good weekend, not the results we wanted but still a learning curve,” Achan said.

On the group three front, the battle waged between Stefan Jeffrey, Vishok Persaud, Danny Persaud and Barbados’ Suleman ‘Sol’ Esuf.

Mixed in the CHOKE starlet cup, this was arguably one of the biggest grids to race on the day with Sol Snagging two wins and Stefan Jeffrey one. Jeffrey had a hard-fought battle with Sol in race two, sol eventually falling out with mechanical troubles.
The CHOKE Starlet cup also shared wins among Anand Ramchand, Motilall Deodass and Mohamed S. Roshandin with lots of drama there. The last race of the day occurred under damp conditions and traction was a struggle for most of the drivers. Still, Roshandin managed it well to come up on top.

The group four was plagued again by lack of participation, a total of seven cars joining the day including Barbados’ Mark Maloney. However, none had an answer for Andrew King, who clean swept the competition with three wins from as many races.
A first corner incident between Maloney and Kristian Jeffrey ruled the latter out of the day with a broken rear differential while his father Kevin’s issues continued.

The SR3 Radicals was blown away by Zane Maloney who snagged all three races as well, leaving the pack to battle for second place finishes only.

It was a good day to be Trini with Bhola snagging second in the first race after managing to hold off Maloney for two laps before losing the lead. Jamaica’s William Myers finished third with Kristian Boodoosingh finishing eighth after a spin.

In the second race, it was all Maloney again but Boodoosingh managed to get up to second in this race while in race three, Boodoosingh could only manage fourth, pushed out by the Maloney brothers of Mark and Stuart respectively. However after the race Zane and Mark were excluded for failing to come to the weigh station, putting Boodoosingh in second place in the official results.

The superstock bikes class was swept by team Mohamed’s Enterprise and their rider Dan Linfoot with Harry Truelove second on all occasions ahead of the returning Nikhil Seereeram in races one and two and Matthew Vieira and race three.

Only one super sport bike, Richard Cooper competed.

Leave a Reply