WTK:Quartermile time for 2007 Type-R civic

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Postby noshownogo » March 7th, 2007, 1:24 pm

Honda has done lots of R&D on turbocharged engines, after all they already placed one in the new Acura RDX.

"The Acura RDX is equipped with a 2.3-liter DOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder turbo engine capable of 240 horsepower at 6000 rpm with 260 pound-feet of torque at 4500 rpm. Redline is a sports-carish 6800 rpm."

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 7th, 2007, 2:23 pm

i not saying that they don't not...
but do they have the R&D to put it on a TYPE R this year...
i have should that the MDX is a test bed not for performance, put more for production and maintenance.

Postby honda hoe » March 7th, 2007, 2:45 pm

noshownogo wrote:Honda has done lots of R&D on turbocharged engines, after all they already placed one in the new Acura RDX.

"The Acura RDX is equipped with a 2.3-liter DOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder turbo engine capable of 240 horsepower at 6000 rpm with 260 pound-feet of torque at 4500 rpm. Redline is a sports-carish 6800 rpm."

sorry to say but i'm not impressed cuz the F20C is a smaller non turbo engine dat peltin out 250hp@8300rpm. n/a for me

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 7th, 2007, 3:58 pm

NA engines could never beat a Turbo engine on raw power... thats not even a debate woth having :lol:

the question is if NA will be enough

Postby honda hoe » March 7th, 2007, 4:14 pm

steups u talkin real bobol dere pally :fist:

all motor

Postby all motor » March 7th, 2007, 4:30 pm

ingalook wrote:NA engines could never beat a Turbo engine on raw power... thats not even a debate woth having :lol:

Yeah right, It has been proven right here in Trinidad that NA B_Series and K-Series CAN TAKE ON turbo-charged engines of similar displacement.

You guys need to get your hands dirty and install/build/swap/convert something.

honda hoe wrote:
noshownogo wrote:Honda has done lots of R&D on turbocharged engines, after all they already placed one in the new Acura RDX.

sorry to say but i'm not impressed cuz the F20C is a smaller non turbo engine dat peltin out 250hp@8300rpm. n/a for me

Stop looking at peak horsepower at peak rpm :roll: , look at the torque at low rpms :shock:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 7th, 2007, 5:43 pm

we are talking about raw power here... people with NA cars usually running a stipped down tight car on 15" rims... while the turbo guys running 17" and have 200lbs of stereo equipment in their trunk...

Same car, same track - turbo is faster

Unless you can build a 350hp NA B16A, because I sure as hell can't

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » March 7th, 2007, 6:02 pm

u dont need much na power to put down a good 1/4 mile time.
200whp is plenty can land you in 13's.

na is better than turbo.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 7th, 2007, 6:22 pm

stephanweaver wrote:u dont need much na power to put down a good 1/4 mile time.

na is better than turbo.

In ah stripdown CRX :roll:

Postby X2 » March 7th, 2007, 6:28 pm

ingalook, n/a cars make power where turbo cars are crying to spool.

I have been in both iterations... and peak hp to peak hp, both with proper tunes... an n/a car will school the hell out of a turbo car.

I am horrified, however, that the new MSP3 is doing low 14's... :shock: ... You guys SURE it's not the MSP6 you talking about ???

With the death of the SRT-4.... only the VW golf has a chance. I doubt Honda will put such a high hp plant into a civic with the RSX/Integra still sitting on such low hp numbers. The civic, dear pumpkins... is NOT a high hp sports car (you can just make it into one...kinda) The type R badge is not an N/A only proposition either, but typically, honda does ALOT of R&D before jumping into market and the RDX turbo engine is still brand new. Plus iVtec is still in it's infancy as compared to standard Vtec, and from what I understand, the next generation of vtec will no longer be similar to the iVtec units... more like old school vtec with cam phasing. Either way, your typical civic driver will not pay the cash required to buy a turbo 4... that's Integra territory... pricewise.

my $0.02

Postby X2 » March 7th, 2007, 6:35 pm

ingalook wrote:
stephanweaver wrote:u dont need much na power to put down a good 1/4 mile time.

na is better than turbo.

In ah stripdown CRX :roll:

Maybe 220-240whp in a standard civic chassis... 13's possible with a good driver. But it REALLY depends on the know-how of the tuner.

I have personally witnessed an aquaintence put down a 13.6 on slicks at Moroso. He was running a D16 NON vtec SOHC in a 95 coupe chassis. (That's all I'm allowed to tell ya). YES... it's N/A.... NO, N/A does not mean Nitrous Assisted... and YES... it's not even a B.

So to all u non N/a believers... and to the ''fast sohcs'' out there.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 7th, 2007, 7:45 pm

this is the one i love... at any rpm u hit that throttle, ur moving...

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 7th, 2007, 9:44 pm

An how much does it cost to go 260hp all motor as opposed to 260hp turbo?

Postby X2 » March 7th, 2007, 10:56 pm

JEEEBUS... look at the torque ! 150+ all the way to 9....

Overall... without going over any of the factors... the answer you're fishing for is turbo will make 260hp a bit cheaper than n/a.

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » March 8th, 2007, 6:50 am

The MDX is not the first from the factory boosted power plant honda/acura made by the way.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_City_Turbo

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » March 8th, 2007, 7:20 am

kes_vtec wrote:Image

nice, but where you getting gas to run that in a d/d?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 8th, 2007, 7:27 am

i don't say it was the first, but you where right to bring it up, note the turbo is full of new tech... even the turbo is high tech

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » March 8th, 2007, 7:33 am

kes_vtec, it's for the newbz shhhh!!!!

neilspeed___

Postby neilspeed___ » March 9th, 2007, 12:04 am

ingalook wrote:NA engines could never beat a Turbo engine on raw power... thats not even a debate woth having :lol:

a turbo engine can never be classified as raw power.. if ur N/A, then you can speak of RAW power...any assistance from a Turbo or NOS and ur no longer talking about 'RAW' power....
jus thought i'd say that

Postby X2 » March 9th, 2007, 5:36 pm

good point.... the usdm domestic guys would love to hear that... :mrgreen:

isgarali

Postby isgarali » March 9th, 2007, 10:42 pm

dred.......alyuh even read the man thread topic????????????????

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 11th, 2007, 11:00 pm

isgarali wrote:dred.......alyuh even read the man thread topic????????????????

Yeah we did... nobody knows... so it turned to a general discussion about the next type-r

If it is renamed to "2007 Type-R civic" it would be cool... or we could jusc start another thread... but we too flickin lazy

what else you want to know?

neilspeed___

Postby neilspeed___ » March 12th, 2007, 11:04 am

ingalook wrote:
isgarali wrote:dred.......alyuh even read the man thread topic????????????????

Yeah we did... nobody knows... so it turned to a general discussion about the next type-r

If it is renamed to "2007 Type-R civic" it would be cool... or we could jusc start another thread... but we too flickin lazy

what else you want to know?

type_r_teggy

Postby type_r_teggy » March 16th, 2007, 12:05 pm

260hp N/A is PLENTY better than 260hp turbo
throttle response in a N/A is unbelieveable
while ur turbo wastin time spoolin my N/A gone

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 16th, 2007, 6:45 pm

You can spend about 15gran and hit 260hp turbo easy... try 260 NA and you watching 30gran

NA is by far the most expensive HP

Yeah it is more responsive... but a 260hp turbo motor can get buy using regualr cams and a normal CR

You 260hp NA would barely idle and use an insane CR... i.e. it would be a motor on the edge of its ability

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » March 17th, 2007, 2:21 pm

^^^ true that!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2007, 9:17 am

some very interesting info i found on the new JDM Civic TypeR...

This I can give you though, it's as close as I can get to laptimes. Actually this might be even better. It's official info from the Civic Type R dealer manual (the training material used to teach the salesmen about a new model):

Actual laptimes (at Tsukusa) are undisclosed but...
laptime is 1.7sec faster than DC5-R
it's about 1.9sec faster than S2000 (I'm assuming it's AP1)
about 2.75sec behind the NSX-R

This is a lap of Tsukusa in comparison to Integra R (DC5):
Front straight top speed +3km/h
First corner minimum speed +4km/h
First hairpin entry +2km/h
First hairpin exit +3km/h
Second hairpin entry +2km/h
Back straight +1km/h
Last corner +9km/h

It's 1.7 seconds faster than Integra R (DC5) and almost a full second faster than NSX (NA2) at Tsukuba.

wa alyuh think?

Lord Sensi

Postby Lord Sensi » April 6th, 2007, 10:34 pm

nice info there man! ^^^
where do u all get these things?!?!?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 31st, 2007, 10:26 am

bump

Return to “HONDA”