Valve seals

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » March 23rd, 2007, 7:26 am

dont forget, have the engine cool before working on it.

check cspeed racing for help on removing the head.
if u need any more articles, u can ask me and ill ppst it up.

good luck cleriq.

slap in some cams 1 time

Clerique

Postby Clerique » March 23rd, 2007, 7:42 am

stephanweaver wrote:dont forget, have the engine cool before working on it.

check cspeed racing for help on removing the head.
if u need any more articles, u can ask me and ill ppst it up.

Uh...ok!

BTW I burn a qt every 400-500kms.

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » March 23rd, 2007, 1:02 pm

I wouldn't attempt removing the head if I was doing it for the first time and I couldn't afford something breaking.....

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » March 23rd, 2007, 1:07 pm

Cleriq,

just a thought, try changing your PCV if you haven't yet

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 23rd, 2007, 3:44 pm

summit have some nice tools b-series tools you guys should look at... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby X2 » March 23rd, 2007, 7:53 pm

Spyrogyra wrote:I wouldn't attempt removing the head if I was doing it for the first time and I couldn't afford something breaking.....

Nah... dunno if cleriq has done it before, but he's quite capable of doing it.... is the internals one has to be careful with.... losing or damaging a valve keeper and it's tears ! :lol:

BTW... if the cams getting the boot....... um... PM... :oops:

dizzEK3h

valve seal replacement

Postby dizzEK3h » March 26th, 2007, 9:50 am

you can replace the valve seals without removing the head,the procedure
requires that you apply air pressure to the cylinder through the spark plug
hole(there,s an adapter avaliable fof this). the air pressure keeps the valves
closed while you disassemble the valvetrain assembly and replace the valve
seals. please note that the seals are colour coded : white-intake, : black-
exhaust. :D

Sunrise City Rider

Postby Sunrise City Rider » April 2nd, 2007, 5:48 pm

Man, you do what you feel you know what to do, but you will have to fill the cylinder with compressed air to keep the valves from dropping into the combustion chamber...

Me??? I would pull the head and send it to machine shop for cleaning, a 3 angle valve job, new seals and reassemble...Then, just get a new headgasket, new head bolts or ARP Head Studs, and a torque wrench...You shouldn't do things like this that have to be done once every couple of years in a half ass way...
Do it right the first time...Its not like you are wasting money to do it like I would do it...

Save your money to do it right and in the meantime, always keep a quart of oil in the car to top off...

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » April 23rd, 2007, 11:57 pm

valve guides, you looking for that cleriq?

Clerique

Postby Clerique » April 24th, 2007, 6:06 am

^nope!

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » August 14th, 2007, 12:37 pm

so what's the latest with this? yuh stop burning 1qt of oil every 500km?

jerome

Postby jerome » July 18th, 2008, 9:56 pm

i have a manual d15b started smoking after i make the conversion from automatic. valve seals gone completely d car consuming ah quart ah oil per week

jerome

Postby jerome » July 18th, 2008, 10:00 pm

i due to change d seals but was curious as to if anything else damage cuz d car smoking wen i run first an second gear hard

Postby r3iXmann » July 18th, 2008, 10:35 pm

so why are you still driving the car? :?

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » July 19th, 2008, 9:59 am

jerome wrote:i due to change d seals but was curious as to if anything else damage cuz d car smoking wen i run first an second gear hard

i would do a compression test.
sounds more like piston rings shot.

ksimon

Postby ksimon » July 31st, 2008, 9:51 am

spyro can u link me with that service manual???

W2J

Postby W2J » July 31st, 2008, 11:00 am

I have Ferrea valve seals instock for the b16a/b18

ksimon

Postby ksimon » July 31st, 2008, 12:32 pm

price

W2J

Postby W2J » July 31st, 2008, 2:02 pm

ksimon wrote:price