ES2 - ES8 models civic is the....?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

roydan

ES2 - ES8 models civic is the....?

Postby roydan » August 19th, 2008, 8:05 am

want hear you guys opinion on something. With the models shown in the subject some come with CVT transmission, so my question is Are there any faults or draw backs when it comes to this type of tranny in those models?

sinnas

Postby sinnas » August 19th, 2008, 12:40 pm

I think thats a long debated and battled question. On tuner you'll find people saying they never going cvt or buying that again is only headache. And youll find people that saying they have a cvt for years with no problems , it even have people competing in solodex etc with it and is just maintainence.

from personal experience I have 1 pardner with an Es1 and he his cvt was giving a little trouble(shuddering). we found out that it was actually Honda's own cvt fluid causing the problem. They released a new one he changed and flushed out the old and all the problems went. I have a cvt about 1 3/4yrs now, no issues (knock on wood) and I change every 15000km (just to be safe it suppose to be longer I think). I say just doh rough up the damn thing, maintain and you should be good. O and make sure if it second hand there are no issues to begin with.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 19th, 2008, 1:17 pm

ES5...4 speed auto...lol

roydan

Postby roydan » August 19th, 2008, 1:42 pm

ok thanks fellas will take it in consideration. :)
but if it that i want to change it from cvt is that possible?
cause ah fella tell me that the EK3 tranny could work on it. Is that true or false?

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » August 19th, 2008, 4:01 pm

false

roydan

Postby roydan » August 20th, 2008, 7:54 am

^^^^ ok thanks man

Return to “HONDA”