b16a , how much psi safe

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

speedfreak44

b16a , how much psi safe

Postby speedfreak44 » February 4th, 2010, 9:30 pm

thinking abt putting a lil boost on my stock b16, i was adviced from a well kno honda boost tuner that 5psi is good, 7 could be nice but 5 more safe, and limit the rpm to around 8000rpm...

as i said engine is completely stock... he also said to use a t28

Pinky

Postby Pinky » February 4th, 2010, 9:46 pm

Just for your intercooler to be usefull you have to see 6lbs

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » February 4th, 2010, 10:29 pm

which is safe right

Postby X2 » February 5th, 2010, 12:12 am

7-8 psi from most turbos with proper fuel and modest ignition timing would work.

Postby Rooki3 » February 5th, 2010, 12:34 am

Image B20VTEK

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 5th, 2010, 7:28 am

X2 wrote:7-8 psi from most turbos with proper fuel and modest ignition timing would work.

X2 has spoken

main thing is the health of the engine

Postby X2 » February 5th, 2010, 8:53 am

Hmmm... ah wonder if this go wuk....

BRING ME ALL OF YOUR WOMEN FROM 18-40

.... I shall choose accordingly....

red_dragon wrote:X2 has spoken

:wiggle:

Postby honda hoe » February 5th, 2010, 9:02 am

BRING ME ALL OF YOUR WOMEN FROM 18-22

fixed :P

Postby SUPAstarr » February 5th, 2010, 12:14 pm

honda hoe wrote:
BRING ME ALL OF YOUR WOMEN FROM 13-22

FIXED FOR BRENT

terry_b20

Postby terry_b20 » February 5th, 2010, 12:16 pm

I have tuned alot of turbo b16a that run on average 8psi as daily drivers

The stock rods can handle 12psi
Stock pistons same once the engine does not detonate and the fuel mixture is right
check this link for some good info http://beesandgoats.com/boostfaq/g2icturbo.html
G2IC Turbo Guide

Postby X2 » February 5th, 2010, 12:21 pm

B20VTEK

Re: b16a , how much psi safe

Postby B20VTEK » February 5th, 2010, 12:54 pm

speedfreak44 wrote:thinking abt putting a lil boost on my stock b16, i was adviced from a well kno honda boost tuner that 5psi is good, 7 could be nice but 5 more safe, and limit the rpm to around 8000rpm...

i might be willing to sell my setup

fully built b16a...
we can work out smtn.

Postby honda hoe » February 5th, 2010, 1:48 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:
honda hoe wrote:
BRING ME ALL OF YOUR WOMEN FROM 13-22

FIXED FOR BRENT

wdmc

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » February 5th, 2010, 2:39 pm

8 is the safe boundry

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » February 5th, 2010, 5:14 pm

terry_b20 wrote:I have tuned alot of turbo b16a that run on average 8psi as daily drivers

Stock pistons same once the engine does not detonate and the fuel mixture is right
check this link for some good info http://beesandgoats.com/boostfaq/g2icturbo.html
G2IC Turbo Guide

i think das d best link i ever find on this forum

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » February 5th, 2010, 8:35 pm

exia_sir wrote:
terry_b20 wrote:I have tuned alot of turbo b16a that run on average 8psi as daily drivers

G2IC Turbo Guide

very nice read

haydn28

Re: b16a , how much psi safe

Postby haydn28 » February 6th, 2010, 10:43 am

speedfreak44 wrote:thinking abt putting a lil boost on my stock b16, i was adviced from a well kno honda boost tuner that 5psi is good, 7 could be nice but 5 more safe, and limit the rpm to around 8000rpm...

the limit on ur engine will be the rods and cylinder walls , the amount of boost the engine can take is decided by the tuning and octane gas used .

get a tuner who knows about tuning high compression turbo engines.
>>shinakuma on these forums.
give him a pm

Postby Rooki3 » February 6th, 2010, 11:28 am

Don't mean to spam, is there anyone locally who can sleeve a block

speedemonz

Postby speedemonz » February 6th, 2010, 11:32 am

speedfreak44 wrote:
exia_sir wrote:

G2IC Turbo Guide

very nice read

One of the best links indeed a must read i believe for anyone wanting to turbo their car properly

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » February 7th, 2010, 7:21 pm

All you guy's fooling you'll self. It don't matter on how much psi because you'll don't know the size of the turbo. The size on the turbo depends on the psi to make x number of power. The B16 can handle 300 whp all day long on Stock internals. So if you have a 45 trim turbo you cam pump 20 psi to make 300whp or if you have a 57 trim you can pump 14 psi to make the same 300 whp. so psi don't mean sheit. It all depends on the tune, the size of the turbo and fuel setup. Most important always check the compression on the motor first before boosting a stock internal motor. Also keep in mind if you going to boost more than 11 psi you will need to put a 3 bar map sensor so tunning will be at ease.

Remember tunning is the key and the size of the turbo, to make the power goal you need... You must always know what your power goal is before boosting.

This is just a comment not a argument so please don't take my comment the wrong way. :)

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 7th, 2010, 10:21 pm

G2IC Turbo Guide

sweet stuff :lol: :lol:

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 8th, 2010, 9:45 am

speedfreak44,isnt your car auto?

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » February 8th, 2010, 2:38 pm

yep...

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 8th, 2010, 3:17 pm

Just heard that its really hard to tune auto cars for boost, and the tyranny do not stand up.

Postby X2 » February 8th, 2010, 5:07 pm

he also said to use a t28

As mentioned... any reasonable turbo at 8psi would be fine. You can barely feel most turbos at below 5psi. Even a GT35 at 8psi will be doable with a stock b16 block/head once you make the necessary tuning and other adjustments like fuel/injectors/plugs, etc...

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » February 8th, 2010, 9:34 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:Just heard that its really hard to tune auto cars for boost, and the tyranny do not stand up.

i never said that i was boosting with a tranny :? :?

Return to “HONDA”