so all this talk about k20 swap etc

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 25th, 2006, 12:13 am

^ K20 for NA, B for booost!!!

ALLMOTOR

Postby ALLMOTOR » February 25th, 2006, 12:16 am

Silvermike wrote:^ K20 for NA, B for booost!!!

don't know much about that,just comparing the B and the K...

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 25th, 2006, 12:20 am

^ well thats just the way i see it

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 25th, 2006, 1:54 am

trust me.... k loves boost just as much if not more *cough* K24 *cough* :wink:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 25th, 2006, 9:03 am

i have to speed u there...
the K is not ah boost motor, it a NA motor, if you look at all the turbo kit for the K the most you will see 7 tuh 9 psi, if you look at the B motor u will see 7 to 12.
at the some point...
a new greddy turbo kit 4000

NA
cams 1000
pistons 11.5.1 500
Cam gears 350
Headers 340
CAI intake 250

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 25th, 2006, 9:56 am

but remember at 7 psi a K can be making what a B is at 14 :wink:

most of the kits are for the high compression hense 7 - 9 take a K24 highest compression 10.5 boost it 9 - `12 psi take some small precautions thicker hg bigger injectors by way and water cooling your safe. put some lower comp pistons in a K20 and boost it 15+ then again are we really running that kinda boost on our gas? :roll:

kes, they said B's weren't ment for boost either look at whats going on with turbo b's :twisted:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2006, 12:42 pm

the problem is not the boosting of the K engine yuh know, if you check whenever they boost one in the US, the 6 speed gearbox dont hold up to the extra power.............................................. so all the people change to a 5 speed and then they put the power down. i'd also say what mike said also
...................K=N/A........................ B= boost :D :D :D :D :D
Last edited by HondaB20B on February 25th, 2006, 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 25th, 2006, 4:10 pm

i not sayin that the k will not make more HP, but NA the same parts used in the b and k but the k makes alot more power NA vs turbo...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 25th, 2006, 4:30 pm

Odd ive been under the influence the K series tranny is much much stronger than B... But Id agree with yall to a point K Is a beast N/A, hell stock blocks all stock parts just mixing up, people are seeing 230 - 240 whp and near 200 tq on type R cams. But im waiting to see pacman's 800+ whp K24 / 2.6 build... But so far im not hearing much on trannys getting destroyed.

Kes, K's making more power n/a than boosted is not true at all. Most ive seen on a full race block dynojet figures was 303 whp and 210 tq thats a K24/ k23 high comp pistons, cams and using race gas... im seeing turbo guys by passing these figures by over 100 whp, for 1/3 the price on 93 ron gas :wink:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 26th, 2006, 12:07 am

ur mixin' up the point in the HP K20 na at 268hp = 12 sec....

think, 800hp... how much money u talkin about there...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 26th, 2006, 2:00 am

im not mixing up anything, your saying B is boost or what not. I have read far different and this is just the begining.... Kes if you got the funds to build it, it can be done.

Don't get me wrong Na the K20 and K24 are beasts they have good torque and a good bit of HP stock. Cams, tuning, hell yeah. But if you build the block, tune it for some boost and hit that up its awhole other kinda monster.

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » February 26th, 2006, 8:05 am

DrunkenMaster16, someone brought up in the ole talk forum, the idea of people talking about how this better than that, yet they have no money to prove it. Now here are the complications with boosting a K20A type-r motor with a CR of 11.5:1.

1) Engine management
The USDM and JDM engines use two different ECUs, so none of the boost piggybacks will wire up plug and play like they're made. Only real choice is K-Pro... Good luck getting someone to tune that. yeah, your friend, amazed by the fact that we have Skyline GT-Rs down here can tune the K-Pro, so he's coming. Whenever he buys a house and moves to trinidad, then it will be a tuning option for people in TnT.

2) Gas
"Buy water cooling and you good." You're forgetting a few MAJOR factors here. One, the gas here isn't "california tune" like some people believe it is.. It might work fine on your d15 or d16 with a lil turbo on it. Try doing what those guys in the US do; drop on the turbo kit and push for 10psi!.... Then let me know when you reach "1/3 save up for the k swap" again.
Too many factors are involved, like difference in temperature, difference in gas quality and consistency. What you read in a country like the US won't hold true for somewhere like trinidad at all times.

3) CARS
A lot of people are talking about how they are swapping to K series in their sentra, civic, integra, whatever. You forgot about a few tihngs.. 1) availability of all the parts necessary for the swap 2) labor 3) price. Not everyone has the money to do a K swap. B series engines are a lot more common down here, don't run as high compression and are easier to find.

You're stating the obvious by saying that a K will make more power at 7psi as compared to a B at 10psi. Look at the displacement and the raw horsepower out of the factory. You're comparing a 160hp engine to a 220hp engine. That's almsot like saying "LOL WELL I READ A B18c1 boosted at 6psi will make more power than a d15b boosted at 10psi !!".... Obviously.

The K20A is a highly tuned NA engine that already has trouble running on our gas stock from the factory. You want to slap on a turbo without rebuilding any part of the engine? You go for it.

Moral of the story is, your googletuning is basically pointless in this argument about boosted/na k vs. boosted/na b. You wanna do like the kids in the US and slap on turbo kits to K20As, run 10psi safe as a daily driver. It won't work down here. Think i don't know? I spent 3 months looking for possibilities. Trying to run a boosted K engine on trinidad's pump gas is asking for trouble in my opinion... UNless you're running at about 5psi.. which is pretty much pointless.

Unless your building a K series and building a B along with it, there's no comparison. However, stock for stock with a "bolt on" turbo kit, i think B will definitely be more feasible.

Clerique

Postby Clerique » February 26th, 2006, 8:42 am

Lol @ "Googletuning"
^I like him! :mrgreen:

Val

Postby Val » February 26th, 2006, 9:38 am

spoken by the K20A tuner himself 0X

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 26th, 2006, 1:23 pm

^^ ahahahahahahahahahahah

Ok put it this way, the swap alone is a major upgrade, then to boost it is even more intense. Kes stated B is the sh!t for boost, I beg to differ, now who said anything about boosting a K20aR????? Not me. Google tuning? ahaha good one, ive never tuned and im still waiting to be told who down here has atleast 1 reliable tune thats not pinging its as$ off.

Yes I agree B is more feasable to boost right off the bat, BUT your saving it doesn't make sense to boost a K? what ever....

Postby X2 » February 26th, 2006, 1:36 pm

I've HEARD that the K tranny is not as strong as the old B's.

Dunno if it's true, but the K has more parts in there to go wrong and the B's have already held up to 400+++ hp with the axles being the weak link.

BTW... what happened to the talk about a built up B16 ?!?!?! HERRrrOOO ??

Clerique

Postby Clerique » February 26th, 2006, 3:10 pm

^Nobody know how to do that nah X2, but we could give you some advice on how to boost ur K20/K24 swap and make uber amounts of Horsepowder. :roll:

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » February 26th, 2006, 3:36 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:^^ ahahahahahahahahahahah
Ok put it this way, the swap alone is a major upgrade, then to boost it is even more intense. Kes stated B is the sh!t for boost, I beg to differ,

Thanks for restating what i said

now who said anything about boosting a K20aR

Well, seeing that you only have two choices of K20s in the JDM (bamboo) market.. The K20A and the K20A3. 220hp w/ 6fwd and 160hp w/ 5fwd respectively, what else are you going to boost?

Not me. Google tuning? ahaha good one, ive never tuned

I rest my case

Yes I agree B is more feasable to boost right off the bat, BUT your saving it doesn't make sense to boost a K? what ever....

Do yourself a favor and read what i said a few more times

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 26th, 2006, 3:53 pm

zer0xp wrote:
DrunkenMaster16 wrote:^^ ahahahahahahahahahahah
Ok put it this way, the swap alone is a major upgrade, then to boost it is even more intense. Kes stated B is the sh!t for boost, I beg to differ,

Thanks for restating what i said

yeah well it can be done, its been done locally once but the teg runs like sh!t from yancy.

now who said anything about boosting a K20aR

zer0xp wrote:Well, seeing that you only have two choices of K20s in the JDM (bamboo) market.. The K20A and the K20A3. 220hp w/ 6fwd and 160hp w/ 5fwd respectively, what else are you going to boost?

A K20a2 usdm type S, a K24 accords,crv, element even the k24a2 tsx motor even though it'd be a waste of a good n/a K24, you have the stock oil squirters in the 24a2 id rather use its 10.5:1 plus the oil squirters in a n/a build.

zer0xp wrote:Do yourself a favor and read what i said a few more times

btw so your a pro now, you know everything about K's. its impossible to run them on our gas, right??? what about sti's? They are ment for 100 pon gas, thier down here some are highly modded, so It's impossible to boost a K in trinidad on our local gas, right?

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » February 26th, 2006, 4:18 pm

dm16, we're here to learn. When you say something dumb, you get corrected. Don't get pissed off. Just because I have a type-r doesn't mean you have to get pissed at me. I registered at k20a.org to read a post, not to ask questions. As for me not upgrading my car as yet, anyone will tell you...

A fool and his money shall soon be parted... Or rather, in your case, a fool and his car shall soon be parted.
I do my research properly before I jump into it, especially with an engine like this. So do yourself and everyone else a favor; edit the post, don't prove your ignorance.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 26th, 2006, 4:32 pm

Im blatantly ingnorant to you, when you wanna act high and mighty. I have done minor research and am willing to share my finding's ( rare in the tuner world unles your buddy, buddy kinda deal.) I will leave my post cause I stand by it, your acting like a spoit brat and you will be treated as such until you take it down a notch.

You haven't corrected anything ive stated, just blatantly said no, impossible, not happening in trinidad... WHY NOT?? give details, give reasons, don't just be vaigue, the gas is a known issue for alot of cars and tuners here. People are finding ways around it.... What else? whos gonna tune? great question!!! I don't know who can tune locally, im told the guy who did allmotor's swap knows how to tune with hondata and K-pro.... Have You found anyone? have you tried tuning? your allready in the K game, what have you done thats worked? EXACTLY! you aren't helping anyone learn anything on the topic as yet, just saying no, not happening, that doesn't help!

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » February 26th, 2006, 7:24 pm

Back on topic:
Have I found anyone to tune K pro? If you've read all my other posts in the tech and ole talk, you'll realize i've said no, several times. People have offered to tune it, but I don't trust them. There are people who can tune it, sure. Question is, how well?

Have I tried tuning? I'm not into spending $6000 on a ECU i'm going to try to tune myself by reading what people have done on the internet.

What have I done that's worked? Again, seeing as I've driven my car for a whole 3000km since december 2004, nothing?

As far as i'm concerned dm16, this thread wasn't titled "How to tune and upgrade K series." If it was, i would've talked about upgrade paths and tuning etc etc. It's about forced induction vs na in b series and k series. Now stay on topic or don't post.

Poor2nR

Postby Poor2nR » February 26th, 2006, 7:50 pm

why de rass anyone takin drunken on for??? ent dis is de same man who get make out blatant on bajanboost for bein ah poser? i eh go be suprise if de only ting he ever bolt on is ah spare tyre

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 26th, 2006, 8:40 pm

^^ FACK :lol: :lol: :lol:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 26th, 2006, 11:22 pm

Poor2nR wrote:why de rass anyone takin drunken on for??? ent dis is de same man who get make out blatant on bajanboost for bein ah poser? i eh go be suprise if de only ting he ever bolt on is ah spare tyre

I swap meh rims 2 weeks ago for steelies... hadda swap spare to one of the steelies thnx.

The insodent on bajan boost was me stupidly telling people what I planned do do after saving money. I have since forth learnt to save, people still have a general Idea of what im going to be swaping in my teg. Its true ive only done small mods b4, basic mantinance, built a kinda cai outta pvc but I didn't want water to get in so used a custom short ram.

My car came allready tuned by its previous owner, I have never had enuff money to buy a car then mod it first hand. All of my cars have been modded slightly, some by me, some by my friends, some by the previous owners.

Just cause I didn't fcuk up like some people and do stupid sh!t that's costing them more now, and the fact that I work 5 days a week every week. Holidays too, if im on the shift! I'll be in work tomorrow all day YAY! Enjoy your carnival, im not a fan of it anyway but Id love time off to relax. But I work for my money, im saving and soon. :wink:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 26th, 2006, 11:30 pm

zer0xp wrote:Back on topic:
Have I found anyone to tune K pro? If you've read all my other posts in the tech and ole talk, you'll realize i've said no, several times. People have offered to tune it, but I don't trust them. There are people who can tune it, sure. Question is, how well?

I do not read every post, thats why I asked :wink: , thats why im askin for cars running that are tuned and can prove it.

zer0xp wrote:As far as i'm concerned dm16, this thread wasn't titled "How to tune and upgrade K series." If it was, i would've talked about upgrade paths and tuning etc etc. It's about forced induction vs na in b series and k series. Now stay on topic or don't post.

Then stop tryin to start sheit, im backing the K's for BOTH N/A and Boost ,over the B-series. Yes B's are good but think about the displacement... Think about the possibilites with all the new technology in the K's.. Its simply amazing. 8-)

Pitty you had my post deleted, people need to realise that you, yourself are a google tuner. :lol:

Poor2nR

Postby Poor2nR » February 26th, 2006, 11:41 pm

:roll: people need to realise that you, yourself are full of sh!t

refer to
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... t=#1071606

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 26th, 2006, 11:51 pm

Peoeple need to realise if you take a sheit in one hand, and wish in the other, witch one fills faster? Exactly, lets face the facts people, I have.

Ive stopped wishing, im now planning, saving and goal oriented.

I learnt from my mistake of openly telling the world what I wanted, what I wished to do. Now I plan diferently and have a goal to meet. These are my hard working nuts your trying to touch, stop or you'll get fcuked.

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » February 27th, 2006, 1:03 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Pitty you had my post deleted, people need to realise that you, yourself are a google tuner. :lol:

And then you ask me to stop talking sheit. I am not a google tuner without justification as you put it. I have considered the options, I have bought the parts, i have made the phone calls. My attempt at tuning has led me in this direction--> upgradeless. Seeing as the k20a hasn't had many widespread projects in trinidad, this is a perfectly fine place to be. I chose to spend money wisely.. In this case, that would be spending money on upgrades, and not having to spend MORE money after when sheit hits the fan.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 27th, 2006, 1:53 am

Poor2nR wrote::roll: people need to realise that you, yourself are full of sh!t

refer to
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... t=#1071606

hahahahahahahahha....................... after reading dat one all i coulda tink was Paul Keens douglas coulda use dat in one of his books......................
................CRICK CRACK................... HAHAHAHAHAHAHH

Return to “HONDA”