2006 Honda Civic reviews

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Swisha

2006 Honda Civic reviews

Postby Swisha » January 19th, 2007, 9:38 pm

any owners on the forum?

looking to purchase a new car and considering all my options. and honda's sedan offering is certainly way ahead of it's competitors like nissan, toyota and mitsu in terms of design and technology.

so i'm jus looking for some feedback on if it's a good investment or not.

thanks.

ingalook

Re: 2006 Honda Civic reviews

Postby ingalook » January 20th, 2007, 2:01 am

mitch wrote:any owners on the forum?

looking to purchase a new car and considering all my options. and honda's sedan offering is certainly way ahead of it's competitors like nissan, toyota and mitsu in terms of design and technology.

so i'm jus looking for some feedback on if it's a good investment or not.

thanks.

way ahead in price as well... :?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 20th, 2007, 2:31 am

$165K for the 1.6

how much is a brand new 1.6 tiida/corolla/lancer?

Postby noshownogo » January 20th, 2007, 8:47 am

good cars, most of the competition is more affordable however, recently mazda launched the 2.0 mazda3 which has similar power to the 1.8 civic, if not just a little more. I really think the ford focus and the mazda3 both have better handling with less body roll.
The 1.6 civic (125hp) is 165k on the road without sunroof which is 175k, the 1.8 civic (140hp) is 195k on the road with sunroof standard. They are well built cars with the usual top class honda n/a engine technology. The new civic has a presence, albeit sometimes good or bad depending on the onlooker, very good fit and finish, the gaps/seams on the body are very small and of a much higher standard than you'd expect for this class. Even the door shutting was tuned for a more upscale sound and the fender to tire gaps are claimed to be closer than the BMW 5 series. I think mitch you should do like me and drive everything in your price range but leave the car you will sway towards to test for last.

Zim

Postby Zim » January 20th, 2007, 1:35 pm

Hmm, if yuh lookin tuh selll back after a while, dont buy it new, u'll losea lot. If yuh keeping fuh ah few yaers well, go d extra & buy d 1.8L. IMO a 1.6L with only 125HP in a car dat big & heavy eh go go anywhere anytime soon.. otherwise roro fuhit we, nuthin beats saving tens of thousands :D :D

Postby 3stagevtec » January 20th, 2007, 2:20 pm

ent the new civic won car of the year from motor trend magazine AND another car of the year title from a combined set of car magazines...

i read a few reviews of them from the net and there are great cars from what i have seen. but no matter how good the car is, i would never buy brand new.. roro is the way to go :wink:

Zim

Postby Zim » January 20th, 2007, 2:30 pm

yea, note daz US market, we always get d base model versions (no Si)

Postby 3stagevtec » January 20th, 2007, 3:19 pm

^ so true, i would love to see a new Si civic down here though
but the motor trend car of the year title was given to the entire civic line up, not just the Si.. i not sure about the other title though

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 21st, 2007, 1:34 am

so if u had to choose between a brand new 2006 1.6 civic exi and a roro 2003 1.6 vti, which would u choose? money not being an issue...

i personally found the suspension in the previous model civic to be soft. didnt test drive the new one yet, but i'll be doing that soon. btw, are they bringing the current model foreign used yet?

thanks for the comments.

r_4sr

Postby r_4sr » January 21st, 2007, 9:30 am

the 2003 vti (1.6 auto) is very sluggish in my opinion. anyone knows the specs for this model civic?

Postby noshownogo » January 21st, 2007, 8:40 pm

the new civic has a proper rear suspension (multilink) making it much easier to toss into corners, don't expect it to be no go kart tho, you'll need to get a mini cooper to have that kinda fun. "money not being an issue..." go with the new civic, better overall car with 5speed auto or maunal available, standard four wheel disc brakes, 160watt stereo mp3 cd/cdrw playback.

Speaking of which, will andy at minicity bring in a k&n panel filter for a 2006 civic? I need one for the 1.8.

Zim

Postby Zim » January 22nd, 2007, 10:17 am

Money not being an issue I'd go with an Accord Euro R. K20 engine, 220HP, six speed manual an four doors, all fuh less dan d price of a new model Civic :shock: Wah more cud u ask 4?

so if u had to choose between a brand new 2006 1.6 civic exi and a roro 2003 1.6 vti, which would u choose? money not being an issue...

If those were my only two options, I'd go roro, easier to resell & I'd have a nice change left over to invest elsewhere :)

enigma

Postby enigma » January 22nd, 2007, 11:23 am

Zim,They sellin the Euro R here?

Zim

Postby Zim » January 24th, 2007, 9:31 am

No, u can get dem roro. I guess Sabga dem eh dat big :)

Val

Postby Val » January 24th, 2007, 9:46 am

I find the 2006 Civic is a bit too expensive. For that kinda money I rather buy a Mazda 3. But it is an impressive car.

enigma

Postby enigma » January 24th, 2007, 10:45 am

Zim wrote:No, u can get dem roro. I guess Sabga dem eh dat big :)

LMFAO!! AH weak!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 24th, 2007, 8:50 pm

well is down to the 1.6 civic and the mazda 3. both are around the same price. the civic exi without sunroof is $165k, and the mazda3 with sunroof is $165k (without is $155k)

the civic has 4 wheel disc brakes, mazda 3 doesnt.
civic is a sohc engine, mazda 3 is dohc.
i find the interior of the civic is much more impressive and spacious than the mazda 3.

i guess is down to the test drive yes.

but i'd like some more opinions on both cars...

guiness

civic

Postby guiness » January 25th, 2007, 10:19 am

yeah man, you going through the same thing i went through September last year. my personal opinion, backed by actual experiences as well as ‘real facts’, is that the civic has much better performance and safety and the unique look counteracts Mazda’s ‘sporty’ look. However the Mazda has a little more features for the price e.g. controls on the steering wheel etc. It definitely comes down to the test drive and don’t be afraid to ‘mash down’. That’s how I ended up with the civic and it has been able to maintain its performance thus far as opposed to the mazda3 which I was informed by several owners becomes lazy. Anyway good luck with the buy

Val

Postby Val » January 25th, 2007, 12:37 pm

I really don't see the big deal about the car not having 4 wheel disc brakes. It's not a sports car. Drum brakes work very well too.

Swisha

Re: civic

Postby Swisha » January 25th, 2007, 4:29 pm

guiness wrote:yeah man, you going through the same thing i went through September last year. my personal opinion, backed by actual experiences as well as ‘real facts’, is that the civic has much better performance and safety and the unique look counteracts Mazda’s ‘sporty’ look. However the Mazda has a little more features for the price e.g. controls on the steering wheel etc. It definitely comes down to the test drive and don’t be afraid to ‘mash down’. That’s how I ended up with the civic and it has been able to maintain its performance thus far as opposed to the mazda3 which I was informed by several owners becomes lazy. Anyway good luck with the buy

u bought the 1.6 exi or 1.8 vti?

guiness

Re: civic

Postby guiness » January 25th, 2007, 6:42 pm

u bought the 1.6 exi or 1.8 vti?

the 1.6

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 25th, 2007, 7:15 pm

cool. well it looks like i'm goin with the civic, goin to test drive tomm.

Postby SR » January 25th, 2007, 7:34 pm

good choice

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » January 25th, 2007, 8:52 pm

I agree

Return to “HONDA”